Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

No A/C. No one was around. Very strange

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The view.
Cons: Ac, decor
Location: Off main road- no where to walk.
Never met anyone that worked there. Maybe one other couple staying there. Felt vacant and creepy. We're told it was full and no upgrades were available. Clearly not true. No ac so forced to keep windows open on the ground level. Positive-the view is nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total disappointment

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Everything.
Location: 30 minutes out of town. There are not a lot of amenities or services nearby.
This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. It is not a real hotel, more like a Bed & Breakfast - without the breakfast. There was no reception, we used a door code to check ourselves in. No airconditioning or amenities in the room. No beach access, no pools. No cooking facilities and no nearby restaurants. Take careful note of the refund policy which states no refunds for cancellations /changes that are under 30 days in advance. This is a private home that has been divided up to create a number of small units. My only recommendation is to avoid it entirely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sel from Melbourne

Mansion with a beautiful view

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious and clean.
Cons: The walls are thin. I could hear the person next door snoring.
Location: It is out of Hilo but we liked it that way.
It is a beautiful house with about 5 rooms. The room size is good. Really clean inside. We did had a little difficulty finding it. The oceanfront views are beautiful but there is no access to the beach from the house. Parking was in front of the house. Because it is a a house, we shared the balcony with the people next door. It was a little strange. I felt like we could not use the balcony (which is not that big) while they were there. Also, the walls are really thin. We could hear the person next door snoring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Michael from Edmonton AB

Very nice property

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thank you Jade! Although we did not require much it was nice to know you were a phone call away. Very clean and had the best sleeps of my stay on the Island!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

exquisite great views roomy

Posted May 24, 2014
Location: kona
wonderful place close to hilo, great for families, great place to sit and watch the sunrise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Chicago

Quirky and Nice

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The quiet location within a short drive to Hilo for restaurants and the spacious suite. The couch was also really comfortable!
Cons: This was a great mansion, but I felt it could use a "woman's touch." It was a little bachelor-like and small attention to details were lacking.
Location: North of Hilo and near the Botanical Garden and Akaka Falls. Lots of great side roads in the area for sightseeing.
We weren't sure what to expect when we booked a suite at the Legacy, but we were happy with our accommodations. The mansion is located north of Hilo in a nice area with plenty to explore. Everything was clean and the our suite was gigantic with a nice view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected.

Posted May 5, 2014
The pictures online make this place look great. Upon arrival we were quickly disappointed. The staff didn't know we were coming. The location is outside of town. There is no a/c and the bedding was dirty. We would not recommend this to others. The guide book we read recommended staying near Hilo to be close to the volcanoes, however it is an easy two hour drive from the Kona side of the island. We would recommend staying in or near Kona and driving to the other destinations. We do like to stay in known resort areas so perhaps this is all just our preference. We actually didn't stay a night in this place. We paid extra to go back and stay in Kona instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nian from Greenville, South Carolina

A Hidden Gem

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Nice and comfortable. Roomy and quite. the owner and his father Mr. Lee are very friendly.
Cons: no restaurants or grocery store nearby. The owner doesn't allow guests to use their kitchen downstair which make things difficult.
Location: World Garden (very nice) and another botanic garden are right across the street. The famous Akaka Falls is only 1.5 miles away.
The hotels is located in North Hilo. As some reviewers mentioned, this is not a real hotel but a rental house with separated rooms. But it is still enjoyable. We rented a pant house which is roomy and priced reasonably. The house is fancy and kept very clean. The backyard is comfortable although doesn't have a beach. We really enjoyed our stay. Since it's not a real hotel that has staff 24 hours, you need to let them know if you are going to arrive late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dave from Oregon

BEAUTIFUL OCEANFRONT HOUSE

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
First of all this is not a bed & breakfast, or hotel. It is a beautiful oceanfront house in the middle of nowhere. There are other homes around it, but no services(food,gas,conveniences) of any kind. It is about 40 minutes from Hilo, depending on area construction. Although check-in is a bit odd, the older man filling in for his son was very polite and kind. We however never saw him again, but heard some other people come in late at night, who were not quiet at all.Our room was a nice bedroom and full bath with a shared lanai. Satalite TV and Cell Phonre reception was bad, but the house was spotless,as was the room,which had a coffemaker and small refrigerator. We stayed for only one night, so for us, it was really nice, although it was way further from Hilo then we thought when we booked it. There was no air conditioning, but we were comfortable leaving the lanai door open and using the ceiling fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mimi from Portland, OR

Beautiful place!!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Spaciousness & the grounds.
Cons: Towels, towels, towels!!
Location: Near Akaka falls and the botanical garden.
We didn't have any difficulty finding the place. It was near Akaka falls. The mansion sits on a beautiful grounds with nice ocean view. (can't get to the beach to swim) We were the only guests when we checked in so we used the living room area to watch TV. Nice open living, dining, kitchen area for the guests to use. Our room was nice & spacious. Only complain I have is how thin and rough the towels were.