Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ben from sydney

Great surprise in a beautiful area

Posted Jun 19, 2014
I was a bit reluctant when I read some of the reviews. Yes, there is only a supermarket a 3min shuttle rode away. But the the great hot spring more than made up for any inconvenience (and, unlike a previous reviewers experience, they ARE open every day - they simply alternate - so men have the sauna as well one day, women the next). The breakfast was fine - a nice start to the day chatting with other travellers. Transport was easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bangkok

No toilet in the room. No elevator and room is far

Posted May 11, 2014
Bad experiences with this hotel . No towel and need to buy everything even towel, tooth brush , free BF but only breads no meat. Will not recommend to stay here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Hertfordshire

Fascinating Residential Block / Halls of Residence

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: On-site Onsen, site design (very large with space for many visitors, hot water facilities, showers also grounds with bonsai), proximity to Lake Ashi
Cons: Staff interaction with western visitors - I received a relatively stern initial welcome, however, the staff were very pleasant by the end of my stay.
Location: Proximity to Hakone National Park (hill walking, botanic gardens, shrines, mountains, wildlife), possible to travel to Lake Ashi and view Mt Fuji
There were mainly other Japanese visitors staying at the B&B which was an interesting experience. Japanese taxes are payable in addition to the advertised room rate. The lay-out was akin to a hotel space or University block with a huge amount of rooms. Breakfast was unfortunately pretty much western (bread rolls and coffee) as opposed to there being a Japanese breakfast option. The location itself was accessible via a free shuttle bus from the hotel further down the hillside in the main town. This was only frustrating in a small way - when originally trying to locate the hotel. Room itself was small but comfortable with good air conditioning / heating and a tv. The best thing about the hotel was its proximity to the National Park environment. Also, there was a fantastic onsen on-site which was pretty large.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Doug from Canada

For the price, we can't complain.

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
It definitely wasn't what we expected and it was much further out of the way than we thought. My friend and I backpacked via public transit so we walked from the funicular train, it was around 20 minutes downhill from the top station. When we got there, the staff didn't speak English, but we managed to confirm our bookings. The rooms were single bedrooms, clean, but not that comfortable. Only about 200 sqft? it had a small bed, mini-mini fridge, a small TV, desk at the window and a lot of cupboards. Unfortunately we got stuck there during a typhoon so we didn't get a chance to go up the mountain. The walk to the station would have probably been a hike though. Instead we went to Yunnessun, which there was a convenient free shuttle direct from the B&B to there and back. You can also catch a bus back to Odawara from Yunnessun. Other than that, the B&B is big and a bit old (built in the 70's or 80's?), there are shared bathrooms but showers are only on the bottom floor of each wing, and men's shower is only in one wing. Otherwise there is a public bath, but it gets really busy since it's only open during certain hours and this place has over 200 rooms. (though it may have been a lot of people because we went on a long weekend). Other than that, with included breakfast, it suited our needs and was cheap. It's not the best place to stay, but it works.
2 out of 5
by Olie from London

Disappointing and run down

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Noise, dinner options, facilities promised that are not delivered
Location: remote
We arrived late one night having followed the directions given to us, but this was for the main hotel that the b&b is affiliated with, not the b&b itself. You have to get a shuttle bus further up the hill, but that runs from 9am to 8.15pm. The description promises wifi, but there is no Internet in sight, let alone wifi. We had booked a non-smoking room, but the only room left was a smoking one. The hotel was noisy, there were people talking and running around in the corridor all night, and no staff to complain to. The description also mentioned evening catering facilities, but the only thing available was a hot food vending machine. The whole place feels a little run down. Breakfast was okay, and the service from the staff wasn't bad, but overall this is a basic hostel and expensive at that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by family from Tokyo, Japan

great hotel for a family

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: confortable room for a few price
Cons: the breakfeast
Location: located near a wonderfull spa and pool
Very nice stay. We enjoy and the breakfeast in the morning was very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Solo traveller from UK

Price. Location, Comfy bed

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great value. Paid little and didn't expect much but the single room with shared bathroom was spotless and had comfy bed and pillow, fridge, large flat screen tv, large window with mountain view ( but not all rooms have this view so try asking when booking ). The shared toilet was also clean and never saw anybody else using it while i was there for three nights. I arrived by train at Odawara and went outside and got the no 5 bus ( no 3 also goes there ) to Kowakidani Yunessan Onsen. Fare 810 y. Walk across the road to the Onsen and get the free shuttle bus to the B&B. Goes every 20 mins. The owners didn't speak much English but did try their best. They should employ young multilingual person for front desk duty. Some tips. If coming from Tokyo get the return 2 or 3 day Hakone pass. Good value as bus fares add up. You can buy it in Odawara but doesn't take you onto Tokyo. In Odawara station even if you don't get the pass get the Hakone 4 page leaflet which has great illustrations of routes and where to see Mt Fuji at it's best. I recommend the cable car ( ropeway in Japan ) over the mountain at Sounsan and a cruise on the lake Ashinoko. Avoid Gotenba and it's shopping mall. Also when you first get off the bus at Yunessen Onsen walk back 100 metres to the convenience store and do your shopping for milk etc. Saves you coming back down from the B&B. It's in a remote location and no wifi or internet access so bring a good book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Cozy mountain pension

Posted May 2, 2013
Nice place, Comfortable and very nice area, beautiful towns and mountains and trees and trains and every thing was very nice.
2 out of 5
by David from Manta, Ecuador

This is a backpackers - not a hotel.

Posted Apr 5, 2013
Pros: The heater worked well.
Cons: No internet
Location: Very pretty but seemed isolated
We have stayed in Pension hotels in Hakone Japan before and had very excellent stays. This is basically a "backpackers". Each wing of the hotel shares bathrooms and showers - not what I was expecting. No internet. Supplied breakfast consisted of a variety of pastry and rolls (not acceptible for my gluten-intolerant partner), overly sweet juice, and good coffee. Desk personnel were a bit unfriendly. Made us wait until 3pm to check-in although rooms were clearly available. Not very informed about the area, bus catching, restaurants, etc. Beware, the shuttle bus does not start running until 9 am if you are trying to catch transportation to get out of here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommend

Posted Nov 9, 2012
No Internet. Staff are bit too cool. It's on a mountain slope so you have to climb to get there. They have a shuttle bus but should have tell guests in advance though