Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by W from New York, NY

Quiet mountain getaway & (sort of) Mt. Fuji view

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall, it was a nice stay. We only stayed overnight, and a few things to note: it's all very self-service, and you must call ahead to reserve dinner. Breakfast is just show up. Perhaps it was when we arrived, as it was raining and dark, and we decided to take the Izu Hakone free bus pass route (1300 JPY cheaper), which dropped off at Kojiri bus terminal, about a 15-20 minute walk up a hill. The Odakyu Hakone Free Pass drops off at Minami Onsen Sou, which is pretty much across the street. Totally doable if you're traveling light, and if you time it right, you can always walk 5 minutes to Togendai and catch the T bus to Minami Onsen Sou for 170 JPY using cash or Suica. Anyway, would be nice if the lodge provided a shuttle to and from the bus terminals. Otherwise, it was very clean, and though baths were public (gender segregated), when we used the bath there was nobody else using them. If you are there during the day, and you open the window, you get a great view of the mountains. But-- not truly outdoor onsen, if you were expecting that. By self-service, I mean you are responsible for setting up the futons, which isn't all that difficult, but don't expect the full-service ryokan experience here. Breakfast had good variety and was tasty. If you get hungry and didn't reserve dinner, they have a few local places that will pick you up and drive you to the restaurant for free (or deliver food, for a fee).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J from Rocky Mountains

quiet hotel with a great views of Fuji

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
A comfortable hotel with a great room views of Fuji. The staff arranged a van pickup to a local restaurant for dinner. The breakfast provided was one of the best we had while touring Japan. The community rest rooms need some attention and we were thankful we had a toilet in our room. The public onsen is superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by WK from Texas

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice view but overpriced. Room needs more decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs seko from singapore

great location

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very relax and good view of nature. Love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and comfortable

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: The quiet atmosphere.
Cons: The breakfast.
Location: Peaceful.
Great view, clean and nice room. The onsen was small but well kept. It's very pleasant as long as there aren't too many people in there. I would give a full 5 score if the breakfast buffet wasn't so terrible. It was by far the worst meal I had during my entire stay in Japan. I would've been happier eating out of the vending machines. I did not get the dinner but if breakfast was any indication, I'm very happy I skipped it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mbutler57 from Australia

What a view

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great staff, helpful at every point. The view of Mount Fuji from our window when we woke up in the morning nearly blew our socks off. The bath house with natural mineral water running into it left my skin feeling like I had just visited a beauty salon at the high end of the market. Any one wanting a more traditional style of stay in Japan would do well to visit the Fujimein.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Toronto, ON, Canada

Good hotel at fair price.

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: The view of the room is very good.
Cons: No hot water boiler in room, need to get hot water and kettle from the pantry on another floor.
Location: It is far but the view is good.
Good small hotel with nice view of Fuji Mountain. The food is not so good compare to other hotels. No hot water boiler in the room. We need to get hot water from the pantry located on another floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nisita

Posted Feb 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only a quick bus ride (T bus) about 4 station from the gondola and pier so it is easy to find but it is quite a travel from the train stations when you enter hakone. We took to cable car, up to the gondola then the bus, the trip from the station at hakone-Yamamoto took about an hour or so. The hotel is well kept if dated and the traditional Japanese style rooms are spacious and have a great view of mt Fuji. A traditional kimono is supplied that you can wear all over the hotel and it was clean and comfortable. The hot springs are a bath style but are well looked after and open almost 24 hours. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the hakone region. On the way back we took T bus (station in front of the hotel) straight back to the train station.