Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London

Fabulous hotel, with the most helpful staff

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: The staff the location the room the facilities... everything
Cons: Absolutely nothing, it was perfect I just wish we could have stayed later
Location: The main draw is all of the different types of transport (cable car, ropeway, trains) and the hopes to get a glimpse of Mt Fuji!
Arriving from Tokyo was very straight froward, sadly we missed the opportunity to use the luggage forwarding service at Hakone Yamote as our train was delayed and the office closes promptly at 12.30 but to take our luggage on the Tozan train to Gora was no trouble. The hotel will collect you from Gora station or we took a taxi as there was one waiting for less than 800 yen. On arrival we had lunch (delicious!) and then wanted to head back to Gora station to go sightseeing. The hotel had no trouble in arranging for the shuttle mini bus to take us back to the station, so accommodating. After a day sightseeing we arrived back at the hotel for a wonderful early evening drinks (all complimentary). The drinks were also not limited to one. We took dinner that evening in the Japanese sushi restaurant which was amazing, the most wonderful hand rolled sushi prepared before you. Our chef was American descent so spoke perfect English and helped us select a menu which suited exactly what we wanted, so personal and not at all intimidating. Only staying one night we wanted to make the most of the facilities and I booked a massage for the following morning after breakfast. The massage was phenomenal! and in order to accommodate my massage the hotel happily extended our check out. From Hakone we were travelled to Kawagachi-ko, The hotel helped book a taxi (with English speaking driver) to collect us for this journey, there was simply nothing more they could do! AMAZING.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and Relaxing Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Room, staff, onsen/public bath, complimentary cocktails.
Cons: Earlier shuttle service/more frequent (only shuttle pick-ups after 11am for a couple hours I think).
Location: Close to cable car that takes you to the Hakone Ropeway (where you can view Mt. Fuji in the mornings from the cable car or go to Lake Ashi)
Bit of an uphill trek if you're walking up there, but it's a nice walk. Hotel itself is beautiful. Staff was really great and the room was amazing and very big. There's are complimentary cocktails in the early evening in the lounge - relax and enjoy a couple of glasses of champagne. Onsen bath was awesome. Very friendly to foreigners who are new to the whole onsen experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Manchester

Great hotel, bad location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The onsen spa and the beds.
Cons: Nothing needs improving - apart from the location!
Location: Nearest town is Gora. There are lots of museums in the area and the popular circular trip using various modes of transport goes through here.
Everything about this place was excellent - apart from the location. It's up a hill, and slightly too far away from the nearest town to walk there. There is a shuttle bus, but this doesn't start until 11am and finishes at 5.30pm. Having said that though, the hotel is great. The staff are extremely helpful and attentive. The rooms are large and well-equipped with the most comfortable beds and pillows. The decoration and design of the hotel is also well thought out. I particularly liked the happy 'hour' - 4pm to 7pm. If you want somewhere to chill out and read a book in the public spaces and eat all your meals there, then this is for you. If you want it as a base to explore, it isn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Beautiful hotel ,kind and friendly staff. Definitely would return
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LydiaS from Australia

Great Service and Beautiful Room

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
My boyfriend and I are not into the old Japanese Ryokans and we are not a big fan of onsen. The reason I chose Hyatt Regency was because of its comparatively modern contemporary design. We checked into the hotel and was kindly given an upgrade to Deluxe Suite room. The room was huge, with comfortable king size bed, comfortable sofa and a sunroom where we sat for hours listening to the sound of birds, enjoying a cup of coffee. We enjoyed free beverages during happy hours with free flowing of champagne and wine. The only down side was that there was no free wi-fi available. Upside is that we had an enjoyable dinner at the French Restaurant, without any smart phones. (no wi-fi)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow,uk

luxury break

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Really enjoyed a relaxing stay here. Staff very attentive, facilities great, rooms luxurious. Not a lot of places to eat around other than the hotel though so best be ready to pay a fair amount for dinner there which was expensive but top quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bonn from Sydney

Awesome hotel with great service and facilities

Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Onsen was great, very relaxing. Free drinks in the lounge from 4 till 7, very pretty lounge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ram from Fremont, CA, USA

Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting

Posted May 2, 2013
Pros: Beautiful room and hotel
Cons: Sometimes uneven touring advice
Location: Gorgeous setting, many places to overlook Mt Fuji
Beautiful room in a beautiful setting. We had a huge room with a nice verandah with a huge picture window looking out at Mt Fuji. The room decor is very understated and tasteful and the bathroom fittings and shower were very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. The lounge was beautiful and lively, especially during the daily happy hour between 4pm and 7pm. We had an excellent vegetarian meal at the Japanese restaurant which had been arranged for us by the Director of Food. The only minor complaint we would have is that they did not have a concierge and the sometimes got uneven advice on places to see and restaurants to eat at. Recommend that anyone planning to go to Hakone do detailed research on their own before going and confirming with the concierge staff. Overall, a highly recommended hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kadgda from Uk

Great staff-superb service

Posted Mar 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is in a great location , The hotel has large rooms and is well laid out.Service was just superb . The whole experience was wonderful. Really irks to have to pay for Internet though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Free champagne!
Fantastic hotel well worth the money. Would recommend this as the place to stay in hakone.