Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeannine from Fussa-shi, Tokyo

Lovely getaway!

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a bit of a hard time finding the hotel, a very nice man drove ahead of us to lead us there. What a lovely hotel, the reception was very accommodating and spoke perfect English. This helped is to not have to try to settle in using broken Japanese. They helped is find a place to eat nearby, the Yunessun is right down the hill, although, we chose to take advantage of the amazing onsen right in the hotel. Bring the tiny modesty towel after suiting up in the provided yukata. Really great breakfast buffet, I would love to visit again and again! Superb in every way, the kids enjoyed the futon, best night of sleep I've had in ages! You can't beat the mountain views and friendly staff, a must visit vacation spot!
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay. I'm glad I seemed to spend a pleasant vacation. Hakone is a great place. Please come to Hakone again!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by TouristX from Singapore

Wisterian Life Club Review

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is not easy to find due to remote location and lack of signages. If you are pulling many luggage with kids like me, you won't want to take a public bus there as you will need to pull the bags up hill for about 300m from Yunnessen bus stop, that is if you can find the hotel. I booked a quadruple room via hotel.com. Despite explaining 4 times to the reception that quodruple room was clearly printed in the reservation bill and it means for 4 person, the reception insist that I need to book another room for 2 guest or get charge the same rate for 4 person in 1 room with 2 single beds and 2 japanese futon. Obviously I am very unhappy about that as I had to pay double the prince. I had a very bad experience using their onsen too. I checked that it is open for man from 8-10pm. but where I went there at about 9pm, a cleaner appear and advice us to leave as he need to clean the area. Strong advice not to book this hotel based on above very bad experience.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
this time thank you for your coming to Verde no mori. I lodge six people and cannot lose it at the rate of four people in our hotel. In addition, not a rate per one room, it becomes a rate per one. I explained the use of the hot spring many times. I list it in the figure in the hall. It is written on the door of the hot spring. When it is made a reservation on the next time, please really apply for the number of people to stay. thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kevin Uyeji from California

Great accommodations

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The onsen park is awesome
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay. Also, please come to verdeno mori when it comes to Hakone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hello Fujisan

Posted Apr 28, 2013
Nice place to stay to go see mount Fuji. Hotter is not close to the lake. Public transportation is accessible and the area is very quiet. It said that it includes hot springs, but it does not. It has 2 nice Japanese bath facilities.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adrian from New York

Not what you would expect

Posted Mar 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel certainly did not lie in its description, but it did leave some things out. For example, the wifi is only available in the lobby and it was depressing to walk down the rundown, bleak hallways. The actual hotel was hard to find, there were no signs at the train station, or even at their bus stop, or even at the end of their driveway! The room was ok, but after walking in the hallway I didn't really want to risk using the tea cups, and our supposedly nonsmoking room smelt like cigarettes so that was unpleasant. Back in the day I could see this hotel as a grand destination, but they haven't kept up to date. This hotel is in need of a renovation and some air fresheners too because by the rooms it smells funky. The service is also seriously lacking, especially the front desk. The guy had no idea what was going on and barely understood English, something important to have if you want tourists. The only nice service was the old man at the entrance to the pool he knew enough English to direct me and did his job with a smile. While the hotel is dated and run down, the pool was nice and so was the spa jacuzzi area, and a nice view of the mountains but that can't save the experience from being overall poor and over priced. My family and I would probably not stay here again.