Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boat horn noise for 24 hrs.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
You can hear a boat horn noise for 24 hrs. Hotel view was not good in harbor side. The price is too much expensive based on the total condition of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Love this Place

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: It's location, staff, the room itself with a fireplace and patio deck, on-site restaurant, as well as other great restaurants nearby.
Cons: N/A
Location: Several great beaches, a lighthouse, the Distillery restaurant. The hotel is connected to a small mall with many small, quaint shops.
We return to the Oceano at least three times a year. It's located right near several wonderful beaches, including Montaro. The atmosphere is very relaxing here and the rooms are great! The staff is so friendly and room service was always quick and served with a smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Anything we needed was just a call away.We also had a couples massage at the Oceano spa and it was amazing. The only thing is I do wish they had a pool or hot tub available at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you plan a trip to half moon bay!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto CA

Party harty

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: the decor and location were very nice.
Cons: The whole experience, it was an expensive exhausting stay
Location: Great food within walking distance but there are also other hotels near by also within walking distance. We will consider one of these .
Checked in on 7-4-14 nice hotel until the party started in the bar down the hall. It was like they were in our room, actually the party was in the hall outside our room until the wee hours. We has a spa afternoon which was nice but over priced! Then the wedding, we saw the bride so we knew there was an event happening. We returned from dinner to hear all the reception toasts and wedding reception events. The party was across the hall from out room and it seemed like our door was a sheet, we heard it all as the night went on the party got lively and moved from the party room to the hall and the bar. Then we heard the room being broken down, tables hitting the floor, vaccumm s hummed along with the noisy staff cleaning the room all night long. When we checked out I mentioned this and staff member was surprised. I explained that we should have been placed on a floor away from the celebration and she stated that that could have been done if there was space. A day too late and after paying top dollars this was NOT the special weekend we longed for. We should have stayed in Santa Cruz at the Fairfield which was nice and quiet had a pool and great friendly staff. Not a fun place based on cost. This is an event hotel and if you are not with the event FORGET it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Great stay!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Room was amazing and clean! Great view! 1 problem, fog horn goes off non-stop even when there's no fog! Takes time to get use to but very annoying when trying to sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr. NOLA from New Orleans, LA

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Location: Easy day trips to San Francisco, Monterey, or Carmel and the ride along highway 1 is incredibly beautiful.
I anticipated an open view of the ocean, however there is a harbor across the street that somewhat obscures the ocean view. The room was great with a separate sitting area with a large screen tv, while the sleeping area was separate. I thought the room was well worth the price. The hotel was very clean and well kept, and the staff was more than willing to do what they could to make your stay very enjoyable. There are good dining options nearby and Oceano Hotel and Spa is definitely on my wife and my go back list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful!!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of staff, cleanliness, beautiful lobby and room, centrally located
Location: Harbor, restaurants, coffee shop, candy shop, brewery
The Oceana was just beautiful! The front desk staff were very nice and efficient. The d├ęcor in both the lobby and our room were just lovely. Our room was well equipped and the view of the harbor was great! We were centrally located and had some cool places to eat and drink within walking distance. No complaints at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near a run down area

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Nice hotel lovely atrium , can be a bit noisy near the elevators ..awful dining area ...good food
3 out of 5
by Larry from San Mateo, CA

Hotel Room Review

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Lobby and halls beautiful. Close to all eateries.
Cons: Like it to show on the web site. Item by item. Holiday Inn mush better along these lines and much cheaper.
Location: Loaded!
Room 238- 5/21-5/24/2014 Our room which was the most expensive lacked quite a few usual room amenities which made our stay uncomfortable: No water glasses in bathroom (only 2 by the kitchenette sink). We asked for more and were brought 4 wine glasses for the bathroom which were removed the next day.( We don't drink).. No more than 2 each face cloths and wash cloths. No instructions for usage of fire place, or room thermostat or room telephone. No in-room description of Hotel's amenities; no in-room menu; No in-room description of neighboring restaurants with map (we got one at a small motel on the highway.). No replacement of reported burned out light bulb. The stall shower had no safety grips or wash cloth rack. and was very slippery; poorly lit; Not even a soap dish. Funny. We were given ear plugs! A first. I listed all above and personally gave it to a desk manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com