Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto CA

Party harty

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: the decor and location were very nice.
Cons: The whole experience, it was an expensive exhausting stay
Location: Great food within walking distance but there are also other hotels near by also within walking distance. We will consider one of these .
Checked in on 7-4-14 nice hotel until the party started in the bar down the hall. It was like they were in our room, actually the party was in the hall outside our room until the wee hours. We has a spa afternoon which was nice but over priced! Then the wedding, we saw the bride so we knew there was an event happening. We returned from dinner to hear all the reception toasts and wedding reception events. The party was across the hall from out room and it seemed like our door was a sheet, we heard it all as the night went on the party got lively and moved from the party room to the hall and the bar. Then we heard the room being broken down, tables hitting the floor, vaccumm s hummed along with the noisy staff cleaning the room all night long. When we checked out I mentioned this and staff member was surprised. I explained that we should have been placed on a floor away from the celebration and she stated that that could have been done if there was space. A day too late and after paying top dollars this was NOT the special weekend we longed for. We should have stayed in Santa Cruz at the Fairfield which was nice and quiet had a pool and great friendly staff. Not a fun place based on cost. This is an event hotel and if you are not with the event FORGET it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Great stay!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Room was amazing and clean! Great view! 1 problem, fog horn goes off non-stop even when there's no fog! Takes time to get use to but very annoying when trying to sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr. NOLA from New Orleans, LA

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Location: Easy day trips to San Francisco, Monterey, or Carmel and the ride along highway 1 is incredibly beautiful.
I anticipated an open view of the ocean, however there is a harbor across the street that somewhat obscures the ocean view. The room was great with a separate sitting area with a large screen tv, while the sleeping area was separate. I thought the room was well worth the price. The hotel was very clean and well kept, and the staff was more than willing to do what they could to make your stay very enjoyable. There are good dining options nearby and Oceano Hotel and Spa is definitely on my wife and my go back list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Beautiful!!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Friendliness of staff, cleanliness, beautiful lobby and room, centrally located
Location: Harbor, restaurants, coffee shop, candy shop, brewery
The Oceana was just beautiful! The front desk staff were very nice and efficient. The d├ęcor in both the lobby and our room were just lovely. Our room was well equipped and the view of the harbor was great! We were centrally located and had some cool places to eat and drink within walking distance. No complaints at all. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near a run down area

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Nice hotel lovely atrium , can be a bit noisy near the elevators ..awful dining area ...good food
3 out of 5
by Larry from San Mateo, CA

Hotel Room Review

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Lobby and halls beautiful. Close to all eateries.
Cons: Like it to show on the web site. Item by item. Holiday Inn mush better along these lines and much cheaper.
Location: Loaded!
Room 238- 5/21-5/24/2014 Our room which was the most expensive lacked quite a few usual room amenities which made our stay uncomfortable: No water glasses in bathroom (only 2 by the kitchenette sink). We asked for more and were brought 4 wine glasses for the bathroom which were removed the next day.( We don't drink).. No more than 2 each face cloths and wash cloths. No instructions for usage of fire place, or room thermostat or room telephone. No in-room description of Hotel's amenities; no in-room menu; No in-room description of neighboring restaurants with map (we got one at a small motel on the highway.). No replacement of reported burned out light bulb. The stall shower had no safety grips or wash cloth rack. and was very slippery; poorly lit; Not even a soap dish. Funny. We were given ear plugs! A first. I listed all above and personally gave it to a desk manager.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel with few issues

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Cons: 1. Need to install better windows to insulate from the outside nose. 2. Provide a better furniture on the balcony.
Location: 1. Eat at Mezza Luna Restaurant. Have a coffee at Mezza Luna Cafe (two different places!) 2. Eat a whole crab at PRINCETON SEAFOOD COMPANY
I stayed in a King suite - a large and comfortable room. Huge balcony. Nice setup. A very nice view at the harbor. The worst part was the noise (the hotel even provide ear plugs!) There are two problems. First and most profound was a sound of a sound beacon in the harbor every 10 seconds 24 hrs a day. Some was times very loud, some other time was not. Road noise, especially in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by weekend warrior from m

Harbor view, peaceful

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Lots of street traffic, location was great because of proximity to restaurants within walking distance. The staff was courteous and aimed to please, thanks got a great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome getaway

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Wanted to escape and relax..this was a great place to do it! Room was great and spa was incredible!
3 out of 5
by Deborah from Lakeland

Nice hotel unfortunately

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The view and accessibility.
Cons: Use upper rooms for guest & lobby level, at least, for banquet rooms as the street & sidewalk are only 20 paces to the sliding glass doors of the room
Building itself is very nice but is sits on a busy road w/people walking and talking - w/cars and motorcycles constantly going by until almost 12:00 AM. Also it is directly across from the marina which is a great view but the buoy bell rings all night. So, if your my husband who is ex-military and can sleep thru a fire alarm then the view is great! If your like me and struggle with needing white noise just know to take 3 white noise machines and then use the one they provide in the room :(