Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great harbor location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Stayed here for two nights in August. Rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable. It is true what a lot of other reviews say about the fog horn but this would be the same for any hotels in the half moon bay area. There's no getting away from it really. We couldn't hear it when we had our balcony door closed though and the hotel do provide complimentary ear plugs anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boat horn noise for 24 hrs.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
You can hear a boat horn noise for 24 hrs. Hotel view was not good in harbor side. The price is too much expensive based on the total condition of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Love this Place

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: It's location, staff, the room itself with a fireplace and patio deck, on-site restaurant, as well as other great restaurants nearby.
Cons: N/A
Location: Several great beaches, a lighthouse, the Distillery restaurant. The hotel is connected to a small mall with many small, quaint shops.
We return to the Oceano at least three times a year. It's located right near several wonderful beaches, including Montaro. The atmosphere is very relaxing here and the rooms are great! The staff is so friendly and room service was always quick and served with a smile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Anything we needed was just a call away.We also had a couples massage at the Oceano spa and it was amazing. The only thing is I do wish they had a pool or hot tub available at the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you plan a trip to half moon bay!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark U. from Danville, CA

Great overnight

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very satisfied with everything at the property. If I could have changed anything, it would have been that they were unable to accommodate a checkout past 11:30.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location and amenities

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed this hotel for a recent weekend girls trip. Very clean and well maintained. Several good restaurants within easy walking distance or a short cab ride. Small but well kept bar in the hotel. Only complaint was that it was rather pricey, but you pay for convenience and location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to boats

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. Nicely furnished throughout and the boat area was a great view. Street noisy, won't stay there again. Asked for top-floor rooms when I made the reservation, but were put on the 2nd floor instead. Very noisy guests above us...will demand top-floor next time. Good restaurant and breakfast menu, nice attached shopping, but most stores were closed. Maybe try again on a week day and not July 4th weekend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto CA

Party harty

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: the decor and location were very nice.
Cons: The whole experience, it was an expensive exhausting stay
Location: Great food within walking distance but there are also other hotels near by also within walking distance. We will consider one of these .
Checked in on 7-4-14 nice hotel until the party started in the bar down the hall. It was like they were in our room, actually the party was in the hall outside our room until the wee hours. We has a spa afternoon which was nice but over priced! Then the wedding, we saw the bride so we knew there was an event happening. We returned from dinner to hear all the reception toasts and wedding reception events. The party was across the hall from out room and it seemed like our door was a sheet, we heard it all as the night went on the party got lively and moved from the party room to the hall and the bar. Then we heard the room being broken down, tables hitting the floor, vaccumm s hummed along with the noisy staff cleaning the room all night long. When we checked out I mentioned this and staff member was surprised. I explained that we should have been placed on a floor away from the celebration and she stated that that could have been done if there was space. A day too late and after paying top dollars this was NOT the special weekend we longed for. We should have stayed in Santa Cruz at the Fairfield which was nice and quiet had a pool and great friendly staff. Not a fun place based on cost. This is an event hotel and if you are not with the event FORGET it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Ca

Great stay!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Room was amazing and clean! Great view! 1 problem, fog horn goes off non-stop even when there's no fog! Takes time to get use to but very annoying when trying to sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dr. NOLA from New Orleans, LA

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Location: Easy day trips to San Francisco, Monterey, or Carmel and the ride along highway 1 is incredibly beautiful.
I anticipated an open view of the ocean, however there is a harbor across the street that somewhat obscures the ocean view. The room was great with a separate sitting area with a large screen tv, while the sleeping area was separate. I thought the room was well worth the price. The hotel was very clean and well kept, and the staff was more than willing to do what they could to make your stay very enjoyable. There are good dining options nearby and Oceano Hotel and Spa is definitely on my wife and my go back list.