Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach House at Half Moon Bay

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Loved it. Perfect. Staff courteous and unobtrusive. Room lovely and comfy. Hope to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Nice hotel in a convenient, out of the city area

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Nice hotel but they really should warn people about the fog horn that goes off every 10 seconds 24 hours a day! It was horrible! Also, the oceanfront penthouse suite was not exactly a "penthouse suite". It was no different than a Days Inn hotel room, really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtown, Pa.

Nice hotel with beach, heated pool.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location, room and heated pool and walk path.
Location: Nice restaurant next door,
We stayed in the penthouse suite and was very nice, with high ceilings and floor to peak windows. Nice view and cool breezes. It was cool out so the heated pool was perfect. Nice Hot tub/Spa. Also a nice restaurant and bar close by. A nice walkway goes through the property along the beach. The only thing to gripe about was a party funtion right below our room one night that got a little loud. I would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Detroit MI

The Honeymoon

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better ventalation soo you can cook meals in your kitchen nook.
Location: The beach is the best, and if you go to the downtown area, you will find all types of shopping and more.
I have to tell every one how beautyful this hotel really is. The views are to die for and the service is great. Your room can be right off the ocean and as you look out your deck window, this is a wedding couples dream. Transpertation is very expencive if you don't have a car, but the transit system is the best, the bus can take you all the way to San Fransico. Me and my husband had a great 5 day stay and will return for another stay sometime in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.F. Bay area

nice quiet get away close to San Francisco

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Loved waking up to an ocean, harbor view. HIgh School friends stayed here for a little reunion. Having massage services on site was a bonus! In the summer, be prepared for a foggy start to the day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Suite #102

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Very close to a number of eating locales from Italian, seafood to grill pubs. THE BEACH WAS AWESOME!!!! Very quiet. Very personal service.
Cons: The pull out couch wasn't the most comfortable.
Location: Sunbathing, running, swimmimg, boogie boarding, having a cold beer by the fire, sitting on the patio watching the sun set with no one else around. Wal
We love this hotel. The moment we checked in the staff set us at ease with their friendly, calm vibe. Our room was #102, a street side room with a queen and pullout couch. The room is such that it creates a feeling of a bedroom and living room complete with fireplace and stove top/sink. Our patio room allowed us to hand over the wet boards and wet suits without them ever coming into the room. The hotel has a nice outdoor patio with hot tub and heated pool adjacent to the firepit. At least one night the y had a bar at the fire. The hotel has a paved rec trail that leads to th ebeach about two blocks away. We checked out other beaches in the area but found them busy or having dangerous rip tides. Our beach was quiet and child friendly. We rented wet suits and boogie boards at Cowboy Surf shop just a couple miles down the road. For $10 a day it was a no brainer. The foghor other commented on couldn'y be heard in our room.When outside or on the beach, it was simply distant background noise alonfg with the sound of teh crashing waves. We spent a day in San Fran and couldn't wait to get back to the Beach house. This place is small enough to be a romantic couple getaway or family friendly paradise. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, the smaller size of the hotel allows it to be an individual experience. I am a picky person and I loved everything about our stay. I would definately reccomend it to couples or familes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark CA

Very comfortable and homely

Posted Jun 28, 2014
I went there with my three kids to enjoy for a night stay and was very empressed by the fact that the room had all the emnities like stove, microwave dishes, plates, cutleries even a tea kettle!!! A seperate seating area with a huge comfy sofa and single chair etc Basically it had everything i could have asked for if you go out to relax with your family and kids i would highly recommend this place. I had some idea about this place but my stay there was amazing and my kids loved being there and we had the best time in our life!!! Oh yes not forgetting Sams chowder was just next to it so we could walk there for dinner after playing at the beach and getting refreshed if you wanf to sit in the cute jacuzzi outside or swim in the pool...i love jacuzzi being outside because i hate indoor ones as they have strong chlorine smell and this was facing the beautiful beach to top it all. Beach lovers do not miss this opportunity i gurantee this place will not dissappoint you!!!!! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Family

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Decided on Half Moon Bay for a quick weekend getaway with my wife and 19 month old son. The hotel was very easy to find, located right on the highway. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk that processed our check in efficiently and was able to give us great recommendations for nearby restaurants that were in walking distance. We stayed in a standard ocean view room. The decor and furnishings in the room have a bit of age but have been maintained very well and were clean. The bathroom itself could use renovations but otherwise we were pleased. The hotel also had a heated pool which we used before dinner, the water was very warm, probably because of the sun (extremely hot day). They even give you an inflatable beach ball at the front desk if you ask!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cidalia from New Jersey

Beautiful and very clean. Would go back again

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: The view and cleanliness
Cons: I just felt even though the front desk staff was friendly, I would like it if they were a little more informative.
Location: We travelled a lot so really close I'd say Sam's Chowder house but I know there's a lot of things near there.
My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and even though the weather was kind of gloomy in Half Moon Bay, the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were super clean and I would definitely go back and stay there again. They're right on the main highway so it's easy to just get on and go site seeing. It's also walking distance to a few restaurants, which is great if you're not up to going out.