Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, CA

Charming and close to town

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We had to stay in an adjacent building. The room was large and very comfortable; however, it does need some updating especially the carpets. There was also no elevator and my husband had a difficult time getting to the 2nd floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, California

Charming hotel but didn't match online information

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Charming old house in the center of Half Moon Bay within walking distance of many interesting shops and restaurants.
Cons: The room needs a television and a shower curtain to fit the tub. We would have liked some sort of breakfast but had to leave too early.
We had a deluxe room which did NOT include a TV, desk, or telephone, the shower curtain was too small, and the breakfast wasn't served until 8 a.m. which is too late for many business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Just a casual overnighter

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Very cozy, large rooms, very clean, great breakfast. What's not to like?
Cons: Maybe a little spa on the upper deck, so visitors could enjoy a soak while watching the tourists come and go. That would be fun. Just a thought.
Location: See above. You could spend a full weekend at Zaballah House without ever needing to get in your car.
I booked this room in conjunction with a music event that I was going to attend the afternoon of Nov. 8. To my surprise, Zaballah House is located in the center of the quaint downtown village of Half Moon Bay, literally on Main St. Numerous restaurants, unique shops, wine tasting, brew pubs, etc. are within no more than a 10 minute walk. Mavericks, the world-famous surfers' beach is only a 10 minute drive north up the main highway, as is another restaurant/shopping complex. Next time I stay in Half Moon Bay I will return to Zaballah House. Expecially if you like to enjoy some adult beverages with food and entertainment, you appreciate being able to leave your car in the parking lot and just walk around. Zaballah is located on ground zero of what's happening on Main St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Nice and cozy in the heart of halfmoon bay

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Staff was warm and welcoming! The perfect little bed and breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mariposa,Ca.

close to beach, shopping

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Cons: REDO EVERYTHING IN THIS ROOM
Location: Love HMB lots of shops on this road and close to the beach.
Stayed 1 night in room 24. Terrible room and wondering if it is saved for expedia reservations. Bed is the worst very uncomfortable. Mini Blinds have a broken slat which would enable people to see into your room as they walk by to there room. Carpet is dirty and torn. Room is very warm without using heater, ceiling fan is so high it does little to help. Coffee maker is in bathroom.. Staff was friendly on check in and wine and cheese nice. We didn't stay for breakfast after our horrible night.. Also shower had hair in it from prior guest.. Felt unclean all around with the carpet stains. I read a review on yelp about this room and was hoping we would have a better experience since this review was from 2013! Also bedding was old! Room has a fireplace which would be a nice touch if it was cold but this also was in a state of disrepair as a piece of it was taken off showing the wiring etc.. I wouldn't donate that bed to a homeless shelter!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Historical interest, but rather a B&B, not a hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The history of the place.
Cons: Make a B& B out of the old house, has a couple of nice common areas downstairs. The new adjacent bldg, might be appropriate as hotel (did not see it).
Location: Lots of restaurants and some nice shops.
We had upgraded to a deluxe room, big mistake! Very small room, furnished nicely with old pieces in old, historical building. Windows without screens, saw moth in hallway. Bathroom with large jetted tub for soaking, but totally unpractical for taking a shower, because the handheld shower was mounted so low that one wether had to kneel in it or wash one-handed, no curtain!! Bathroom set up for one, not two people with one towel holder, one toothbrush cup holder. Wardrobe for clothes very small with two decrepit hangers which had to be forced in. Very steep wooden stairs to the rooms upstairs. Breakfast served only from 8 to 10 a.m. - like I said appropriate for a B& B, not a hotel. We had to leave without eating. When we arrived early, the clerk informed us that we could only check in at 3 p.m., even so we were then and later clearly the only guests - now I know why!!! All other hotels did let us check in early when they had a room available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great value

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
great location.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Coffee maker only does NOT = "kitchenette"

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room was spacious, clean, comfortable w/ gas fireplace (nice) but bed was NOT comfortable (hard and creaky). Listing said it had "kitchenette". It only had a coffee maker. No microwave, refrig, or any other amenities. Most rooms upstairs and no elevator (one guest recovering from severe illness) and this was not listed in info about the hotel. For the "special" price listed it was ok, but it was not as advertised. Cute place, though!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cherylfrom San Jose

Skip

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Toilet does not work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Lake Forest, CA

Externded weekend getaway

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay. The bed was in need of replacement. Staff was polite. Breakfast was pretty good. I would come here again.