Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 13, 2014
was very clean, easy access from the parking lot (free). The breakfast was awesome ( lots of fruits and all kind of other good foods) only bad thing was when the people sleeping in the other room were slamming the door. I would go back there anytime
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't fall for the photos!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The room that we received was nothing like the one pictured on Expedia. It was sparse with pictures missing from the walls. Secondly, this is not a hideaway; it is on the main thoroughfare with inadequate parking spilling onto the street. I probably wouldn't have bothered writing this review hadn't it been for the rudeness of the breakfast hostess whom I'd had ask to un-cake an organic(?) sugar container/shaker. After vigorously shaking it into her palm, she proclaimed there was no problem with it... and threw what little she had managed to dislodge from the globules within onto the floor. I wasn't very impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Its a good hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Close to food.
The room was ok. Cable doesn't have many options, just basic t.v. Room clean. Parking is scarce and some people have to park on street. Overall its ok and I'd stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Brooklyn, NY

Nice place close to beach, a little funky

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Nice breakfasts.
Cons: Desk in room 7, don't send people to room 20.
Location: Pasta joint across the street is pretty nice, good food.
Quiet, clean, but odd feng shui, as its a nice old home -- in midst of a shopping center! But inside it's great old house. Stay in the main building only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peg from San Diego

One of the most enjoyable stays.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
The staff was friendly and they made you feel relaxed and at home. Breakfast was very wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Sacramento Ca,

Quiet

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Food and location,quiet too.
Cons: Possibly a bit cheaper rate.
Location: Rode bikes along the shoreline,hiked the beaches
Quiet tho it was in downtown on main st. Food at breakfast was excellent and all home made. The staff was friendly and went the extra mile to make you feel at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Fremont, CA

We had a wonderful time!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Needs no improvement.
Location: Very conveniently located for shopping, dining and all activities including golf, hiking, beach combing, etc.
The owner, Sheila, is a vivacious, friendly host and her staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Premises are very clean and comfortable. Meals and snacks are good and plentiful. We will definitely stay there again and give this facility two big thumbs up!
2 out of 5
by Bill from Santa Cruz, CA

It is OK if your expectations are not very high.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Room needs a complete update!
Location: Located at the north end of downtown. Many restaurants and gift shops nearby, walking distance. Close to Hwy 1 and Hwy 92. Easy access to both.
We only stayed one night, having to leave early before breakfast was served. Door lock was nearly impossible to use. Needed replacement. Carpet was torn in many places. Fireplace would not turn on. Bed was marginal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I prefer a motel than this.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Rooms inside the zaballa "victorian" house might be good. We got room outside of it and it is next building.. hmmm room smells yeeekkk , look and comfort are lil better than a $30 motel. I wouldn't suggest this if you are taking a room or of that house. ..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cute. My room was upgrade - No Shower; No TV;

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great rustic old hotel in the center of town. If you are looking for a getway without modern conveniences, this is it. Yes, the faucet handles fall off. Yes, you hear everyone up and down the hall. But it is clean and has a gas fireplace that adds atmosphere. Don't expect any other HVAC.