Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The view of the bay. It was nice and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach. Shopping. Walking. Eating out.
Excellent atmosphere. The owners are very hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and the wine and cheese was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle, England

Wonderful historical hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
If you want to stay in a place that is away from the airport hotels, yet still within easy travelling distance, then stay here! A lovely old historical hotel built in 1851. I stayed in the "motel" style annexe but the room was spacious, the facilities were more than adequate but above all the bed was extremely comfortable. When you travel as much as I do, that is the most important thing. i did a late check-in and had not i formed the staff of my coeliac condition but they responded well and I and a very satisfying breakfast. The only improvement would be the availability of a made-to-order hot cooked breakfast, but this is not a four star hotel and the price reflects this. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, CA

Charming and close to town

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We had to stay in an adjacent building. The room was large and very comfortable; however, it does need some updating especially the carpets. There was also no elevator and my husband had a difficult time getting to the 2nd floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, California

Charming hotel but didn't match online information

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Charming old house in the center of Half Moon Bay within walking distance of many interesting shops and restaurants.
Cons: The room needs a television and a shower curtain to fit the tub. We would have liked some sort of breakfast but had to leave too early.
We had a deluxe room which did NOT include a TV, desk, or telephone, the shower curtain was too small, and the breakfast wasn't served until 8 a.m. which is too late for many business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Just a casual overnighter

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Very cozy, large rooms, very clean, great breakfast. What's not to like?
Cons: Maybe a little spa on the upper deck, so visitors could enjoy a soak while watching the tourists come and go. That would be fun. Just a thought.
Location: See above. You could spend a full weekend at Zaballah House without ever needing to get in your car.
I booked this room in conjunction with a music event that I was going to attend the afternoon of Nov. 8. To my surprise, Zaballah House is located in the center of the quaint downtown village of Half Moon Bay, literally on Main St. Numerous restaurants, unique shops, wine tasting, brew pubs, etc. are within no more than a 10 minute walk. Mavericks, the world-famous surfers' beach is only a 10 minute drive north up the main highway, as is another restaurant/shopping complex. Next time I stay in Half Moon Bay I will return to Zaballah House. Expecially if you like to enjoy some adult beverages with food and entertainment, you appreciate being able to leave your car in the parking lot and just walk around. Zaballah is located on ground zero of what's happening on Main St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Nice and cozy in the heart of halfmoon bay

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Staff was warm and welcoming! The perfect little bed and breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mariposa,Ca.

close to beach, shopping

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Cons: REDO EVERYTHING IN THIS ROOM
Location: Love HMB lots of shops on this road and close to the beach.
Stayed 1 night in room 24. Terrible room and wondering if it is saved for expedia reservations. Bed is the worst very uncomfortable. Mini Blinds have a broken slat which would enable people to see into your room as they walk by to there room. Carpet is dirty and torn. Room is very warm without using heater, ceiling fan is so high it does little to help. Coffee maker is in bathroom.. Staff was friendly on check in and wine and cheese nice. We didn't stay for breakfast after our horrible night.. Also shower had hair in it from prior guest.. Felt unclean all around with the carpet stains. I read a review on yelp about this room and was hoping we would have a better experience since this review was from 2013! Also bedding was old! Room has a fireplace which would be a nice touch if it was cold but this also was in a state of disrepair as a piece of it was taken off showing the wiring etc.. I wouldn't donate that bed to a homeless shelter!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mattfrom Folsom

Had fun, great little gem!

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great trip, great location, could use a better mattress! We had a lot of fun and would definitely go back. Breakfast each day was awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carolfrom Fresno

Best Bay Area get-away

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
We always enjoy staying at the Zaballa house. it's like home, away from home. very comfortable, and especially the interesting people you meet from near and far at the breakfast table. The best B&B breakfast, a treat and added value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels.com