Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel disguised as a B&B

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The best part of the experience was the motel location - smack in the middle of town. The place is basically a motel with the vast majority of the rooms located above nearby retail shops. The main house looks like a cozy B&B with cute period rooms - but we didn't see that. The place is a little shabby (dirty hallways, broken window screens, etc.). The room, however, was clean and functional. We'll try another place next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Mateo

Nice hotel if you stay short period

Posted Nov 27, 2014
The room is big,clean and comfortable. Needs a fridge at lease for some cold bravages on hot days. I rather stay at the back of the hotel then at the front with the patio. You cannot open the window if you have a neighbour that smokes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel..

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Very good experience...Sheila at the front desk very professional and friendly....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was very nice people friendly & helpful

Posted Oct 23, 2014
We weren't their long enough but it was a very nice place breakfast wad nice & fresh would recommend.....
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Expedia Not Truthful; Hotel Right in Town

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel was centrally located and I could walk throughout the town. It was a short ride to the beach.
Cons: The condition of the hotel as mentioned above.
Location: Halloween time--pumpkins all around. Location great in center of town. Beaches a short ride away.
This is also a review of Expedia. There ad for Zaballa House was false and very misleading. The add showed a crossed out original price for the room and then replaced with a lower rate. When I got to the hotel the best room didn't reach what Expedia claimed. I would never use Expedia again. As for the hotel, the room I finally moved to was clean but the overall condition of the hotel was in need of painting, replacement of torn furniture, soiled carpeting, and shabby. The breakfast was just okay--fruit, bread, and reheated quiche. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The hotel is pet friendly but only one or two rooms are designated for them--stained carpeting, furniture old and not pleasant. I really do not know what the other rooms were like, but the ones designated for dogs were horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

This hotel has the best breakfast and location!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The staff and breakfast were most wonderful!
Cons: Definitely, there is a lot room for improvement - curtains, hairdryer, iron/ironing board and refrigerator need to be in each room.
Location: Great location - the hotel is close to the beach and is located on the main street.
The staff is wonderful and friendly. The breakfast is surprisingly delicious. Our room was very clean and big, bed was very comfortable. The room has a lot of potential. But what was very disappointing, that it does not have much in it - no curtains, no fridge, no hairdryer or ironing board. These things were available upon request and fridge could be used at a different building, but having them in the room would have made it more much more comfortable and functional. In addition, the tray with coffee maker/ coffee was in the bathroom.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Paper thin walls. Ruined trip

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Husband and I didn't sleep for two nights due to paper thin walls. We heard our neighbors conversations, their sneezing, coughing and peeing. We asked the 2nd night to be placed in another room around 2:30am but than woke up to guests dining for breakfast loudly. Dave the manager/owner was not sympathetic or interested and did not want to compensate us at all, he said he refunded a night via a phone call to Expedia but lied and we have yet to receive a refund. It was all an act to get us out of the office. We spent $288.66 and felt cheated. Not ones to complain but word from the wise don't stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2014
As our first bed and breakfast this was quite an enjoyable one with good ambiance. The Zaballa house has historic style but modern upgrades: the rooms were a decent size, electric fireplace, individual attached bathroom, tall windows with nice views and Victorian furniture! One of my biggest complaints was that our bed was quite creaky which is not ideal for a romantic weekend away! However the breakfast was quite good even though it was light. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, quiche and toast. All in all we would go back for another weekend; the Zaballa house had a relaxed Victorian Coastal feel which made it seem like home!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sandy, UT

Nice location in a scenic beach town.

Posted Sep 27, 2014
On a positive note, the staff were very nice, great location in the middle of the shopping area, and provided a very nice breakfast (quiche, bagels, berries). The room was clean but kind of barren (no table or desk), and the mattress was rock-hard. Overall, the place needs some renovation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com