Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allan & Jayne from U.K.

Superb alternative to staying in San Francisco

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Character, location, it felt like staying with close friends.
Location: Super walks on local beaches, easy drive into SF.
We loved Zaballa house, it was one of the highlights of our 25 day trip to the USA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heidi from San Jose

Friendly Staff and Convenient Location

Posted Jun 7, 2014
This is my second stay at Zaballah House. The staff are really nice, and I like the breakfast that is served every morning for guests. It isn't the fanciest place, but the location is fantastic and it is affordably priced. The walls are thin, though, and I can often hear my neighbors.
2 out of 5
by Steph from Brigg, Lincolnshire

Good location, noisy at breakfast

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Location, right in the middle of the town. Plenty of parking. Great breakfast.
Cons: TVs in the room. Thicker walls??! Staff etiquette. Thicker curtains.
Location: Lovely shops and places to eat in the town. We took the BART from a nearby town into San Francisco. Beautiful beaches nearby.
Stayed in Half-Moon Bay as we did not want to stay in busy San Francisco. Lovely quiet town with great little shops, would highly recommend the town but perhaps another hotel for a romantic getaway. Had to be up as soon as breakfast was served as it was too loud to sleep in the room upstairs. Also the curtains were very thin so it was difficult to sleep with it being so light. One night we came back to the hotel around 11pm and, even though I had used my key to get into the hotel, I was very rudely grilled by a member of staff as to who I was and was not allowed back up to my room until she had checked her paperwork. No TV or fridge, nice big Jacuzzi bath but empty bottles of shampoo underneath it. Great comfy big bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small rooms. Awkward bathroom

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Add a shower to the bathroom. Put TV's in the room. Make the walls a little thicker so that you cant hear the people next door breathing.
Location: Shops are all around.
No TV. The bathroom only had a tub (no actual shower). Very awkward. The room was small. I will stay at a normal hotel next time. This hotel was not comfortable. For Half Moon Bay, the location was great (next to shops, etc.).
2 out of 5
by G.

Depressingly motel-like room

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was good.
Cons: The room's decor, strange layout, furniture, broken blinds, awkwardly positioned windows so anyone walking by could peer in, & view of the road.
If you book here, make sure to stay in the main house; apparently those rooms are actually nice. Unfortunately, we were given a room upstairs, which was essentially a dingy motel room (but for the price of a v. nice B&B). The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good, but I couldn't wait to leave - the room was incredibly depressing. Definitely not what we were expecting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cher from Boulder CO

Visiting family while staying in Half Moon Bay

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Large rooms, friendly staff, good location (central downtown) within easy walking distance to everything.
Cons: More accurate Expedia listing details. Intentionally chose this place because we expected to have a fridge and micro in the room.
Location: Shopping, restaurants and nearby Farmer's Market. Short drive to several state beaches.
Walked into the room to find extremely stinky cleaning solvents. Needed to ask for a fan to clear the air. Expected the room to have a microwave and fridge but it had neither. This is a B & B and they said Expedia had it listed incorrectly. They didn't even have ice available for their visitors. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a historical room about the area which was very interesting. We missed the cheese and wine get together Friday night. Breakfast was very nice: lots of fruit, quiches, pastries, juice and coffee in their dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant well located Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Location: Good location in centre of town and a great place to start a Big Sur drive from
Stayed 1 night in ground floor room. Hotel perhaps a bit quirky, but pleasant and well situated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 13, 2014
was very clean, easy access from the parking lot (free). The breakfast was awesome ( lots of fruits and all kind of other good foods) only bad thing was when the people sleeping in the other room were slamming the door. I would go back there anytime
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't fall for the photos!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The room that we received was nothing like the one pictured on Expedia. It was sparse with pictures missing from the walls. Secondly, this is not a hideaway; it is on the main thoroughfare with inadequate parking spilling onto the street. I probably wouldn't have bothered writing this review hadn't it been for the rudeness of the breakfast hostess whom I'd had ask to un-cake an organic(?) sugar container/shaker. After vigorously shaking it into her palm, she proclaimed there was no problem with it... and threw what little she had managed to dislodge from the globules within onto the floor. I wasn't very impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Its a good hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Close to food.
The room was ok. Cable doesn't have many options, just basic t.v. Room clean. Parking is scarce and some people have to park on street. Overall its ok and I'd stay again.