Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint little place close to amenities

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Hotel friendliness
The B&B was lovely and the room was great. Well situated in a lovely town. Recommended for a short stay with lots of restaurants to choose from. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfield,Ca

Zaballa House

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: In town quiet pet friendly
Cons: housekeeping
Location: Downtown... restaurants bar store coffee shop nearby
We have stayed at Zaballa House before. This time was not as good as last time. First found a pair of mens underwear behind one of the sitting chairs. second our neighbors for the night were quite noisy. they were an older couple probably don't sleep much. Other than that we always enjoy our stay there. Noe C Olivo 707-372-7664
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent option in d/t HMB, but I'd start elsewhere

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Very pleasant staff.
Cons: A general upgrade to the facilities (coat of pain, etc). The B&B is a pretty tired facility.
Location: Great location, near downtown HMB.
We paid a premium to stay over Memorial Weekend. Several lights didn't work, there were several pieces of patchwork throughout the suite that looked like they had been done by an amateur and the whole room was tile. On a cold, foggy weekend, an all tile room is not terribly inviting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice walk around the town

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: The "old" era settings and history information. A place like home and comfort
Cons: Bugs maintenance could be a little more under control
Location: Shopping, eating, walk, horseback riding.
It is close to several beach/parks and restaurants and nice atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The view of the bay. It was nice and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach. Shopping. Walking. Eating out.
Excellent atmosphere. The owners are very hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and the wine and cheese was great too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, England

Wonderful historical hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
If you want to stay in a place that is away from the airport hotels, yet still within easy travelling distance, then stay here! A lovely old historical hotel built in 1851. I stayed in the "motel" style annexe but the room was spacious, the facilities were more than adequate but above all the bed was extremely comfortable. When you travel as much as I do, that is the most important thing. i did a late check-in and had not i formed the staff of my coeliac condition but they responded well and I and a very satisfying breakfast. The only improvement would be the availability of a made-to-order hot cooked breakfast, but this is not a four star hotel and the price reflects this. Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

Charming and close to town

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We had to stay in an adjacent building. The room was large and very comfortable; however, it does need some updating especially the carpets. There was also no elevator and my husband had a difficult time getting to the 2nd floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

Charming hotel but didn't match online information

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Charming old house in the center of Half Moon Bay within walking distance of many interesting shops and restaurants.
Cons: The room needs a television and a shower curtain to fit the tub. We would have liked some sort of breakfast but had to leave too early.
We had a deluxe room which did NOT include a TV, desk, or telephone, the shower curtain was too small, and the breakfast wasn't served until 8 a.m. which is too late for many business travelers.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by steve from Brentwood

Lessons in travelling-old toads need a checklist..

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
first trip away in many months which became obvious when, after the lengthy drive to the coast, upon checking in and unloading the car, we found that we had left all of our necessary meds at home. the staff was very nice, but said they had no authority to give any considerations to re-booking a stay; we're not to get anything other than perhaps some discount on our next stay as we never even unpacked , but a week later, our three calls to the owner have gone unreturned. I realize it was our foolish mistake, but think it could have been handled a little more professionally. it sure was a long drive home.............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tammy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels