Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Just a casual overnighter

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Very cozy, large rooms, very clean, great breakfast. What's not to like?
Cons: Maybe a little spa on the upper deck, so visitors could enjoy a soak while watching the tourists come and go. That would be fun. Just a thought.
Location: See above. You could spend a full weekend at Zaballah House without ever needing to get in your car.
I booked this room in conjunction with a music event that I was going to attend the afternoon of Nov. 8. To my surprise, Zaballah House is located in the center of the quaint downtown village of Half Moon Bay, literally on Main St. Numerous restaurants, unique shops, wine tasting, brew pubs, etc. are within no more than a 10 minute walk. Mavericks, the world-famous surfers' beach is only a 10 minute drive north up the main highway, as is another restaurant/shopping complex. Next time I stay in Half Moon Bay I will return to Zaballah House. Expecially if you like to enjoy some adult beverages with food and entertainment, you appreciate being able to leave your car in the parking lot and just walk around. Zaballah is located on ground zero of what's happening on Main St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Nice and cozy in the heart of halfmoon bay

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Staff was warm and welcoming! The perfect little bed and breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mariposa,Ca.

close to beach, shopping

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Cons: REDO EVERYTHING IN THIS ROOM
Location: Love HMB lots of shops on this road and close to the beach.
Stayed 1 night in room 24. Terrible room and wondering if it is saved for expedia reservations. Bed is the worst very uncomfortable. Mini Blinds have a broken slat which would enable people to see into your room as they walk by to there room. Carpet is dirty and torn. Room is very warm without using heater, ceiling fan is so high it does little to help. Coffee maker is in bathroom.. Staff was friendly on check in and wine and cheese nice. We didn't stay for breakfast after our horrible night.. Also shower had hair in it from prior guest.. Felt unclean all around with the carpet stains. I read a review on yelp about this room and was hoping we would have a better experience since this review was from 2013! Also bedding was old! Room has a fireplace which would be a nice touch if it was cold but this also was in a state of disrepair as a piece of it was taken off showing the wiring etc.. I wouldn't donate that bed to a homeless shelter!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Historical interest, but rather a B&B, not a hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The history of the place.
Cons: Make a B& B out of the old house, has a couple of nice common areas downstairs. The new adjacent bldg, might be appropriate as hotel (did not see it).
Location: Lots of restaurants and some nice shops.
We had upgraded to a deluxe room, big mistake! Very small room, furnished nicely with old pieces in old, historical building. Windows without screens, saw moth in hallway. Bathroom with large jetted tub for soaking, but totally unpractical for taking a shower, because the handheld shower was mounted so low that one wether had to kneel in it or wash one-handed, no curtain!! Bathroom set up for one, not two people with one towel holder, one toothbrush cup holder. Wardrobe for clothes very small with two decrepit hangers which had to be forced in. Very steep wooden stairs to the rooms upstairs. Breakfast served only from 8 to 10 a.m. - like I said appropriate for a B& B, not a hotel. We had to leave without eating. When we arrived early, the clerk informed us that we could only check in at 3 p.m., even so we were then and later clearly the only guests - now I know why!!! All other hotels did let us check in early when they had a room available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool n cozy

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: It was different
Cons: Out door/ patio, tables chairs for rooms
Location: Ocean,beach,dining,shopping,climate
Short overnight stay, good breakfast in the morning,in the heart of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel disguised as a B&B

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The best part of the experience was the motel location - smack in the middle of town. The place is basically a motel with the vast majority of the rooms located above nearby retail shops. The main house looks like a cozy B&B with cute period rooms - but we didn't see that. The place is a little shabby (dirty hallways, broken window screens, etc.). The room, however, was clean and functional. We'll try another place next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dennisfrom Oakland Ca

Charming overnight coastal destination

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a wonderful visit to a town that I knew as a person growing up near the area...Zaballa was delightful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Mateo

Nice hotel if you stay short period

Posted Nov 27, 2014
The room is big,clean and comfortable. Needs a fridge at lease for some cold bravages on hot days. I rather stay at the back of the hotel then at the front with the patio. You cannot open the window if you have a neighbour that smokes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julietfrom Napa

Wish I would have known

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked this B&B for my husband's birthday. I was disappointed to find that we were not staying in the old B&B, but next door in a commercial building turned hotel rooms. The woman at the front desk was charming and helpful and the wine and cheese as well as the breakfast in the dining room were great. I just wish I knew that due to renovations we would not be staying in the main house. The accommodations in the room we did get were sub par. Hard bed, little to no decorations, etc.