Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly with an amazing golf course on site.
Location: golf, hike, swim, fish.
Friendly staff. Great food. Beautiful property. Positive experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In need of updating.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Rooms were clean and staff were pleasant and helpful. The entire resort is in need of a renovation. It is tired and old looking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous from Ontario, Canada

Time to upgrade the TV equipment

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Great staff, really nice people -- no 'bad attitude' types
Cons: The televisions needed to be replaced 5-10 years ago.
Location: On the highway about 6-7 kms west of Haliburton village.
Stayed here for a 3 night stint recently -- the property was clean and we were assigned a quiet room location, so things were acceptable under the circumstances but nothing to write home about -- the good news is that all the staff were, without exception, as pleasant as you'll find anywhere and just as professional as employees you find in 'big city' hotels. Over our stay we tried both restaurants that were open (the wannabe upscale Heatherwood and the pubby Highlander) and I can report a similar observation, i.e. the service was very pleasant and efficient, even if the food was rather ordinary, especially in light of the prices being asked. Mind you, I find the pseudo-sophistication of trying to operate a high-end restaurant just two steps out of the bush an overly pretentious proposition in the first place (I would make the same criticism about the Deerhurst in Huntsville) so maybe I'm the wrong guy to ask. My single biggest gripe is that here in 2014, the TV in our room was a small CRT set from the 1990s with a picture that was barely watchable -- granted, I didn't visit Haliburton to watch TV, but I'm a bit of an insomniac, so I really missed being able to watch some TV in the middle of the night. As for catching something like a baseball or hockey game in the evening, forget it, you can't see what's happening. Would I come back myself? No. Would I suggest you stay here if you don't want to stay in a motel? Yes, but you're sure going to pay for the privilege.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly fine for a short stay!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The hotel met our expectations, clean large room and nice grounds. The food in the restaurant was fine nothing extraordinary. One comment, the front desk staff could have provided more information upon check in such as a hill for tobagoneing and ice skating or perhaps this info could have been posted online.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frances from Toronto, ON

Hotel to stay while dogsledding

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, quiet.
Cons: Needs serious updating in terms of fixtures and decor
Location: There's not a lot of restaurants. There is a grocery store, Subway, Rexall and Shoppers Drug Mart. Some gas stations are NOT 24 hours and close at 7
We booked this hotel to stay for two nights to go dogsledding. There really isn't much options to choose from in the area and this hotel looked decent enough. The location was good in terms of being close to the Winterdance Dogsled Tours. The check in staff were extremely friendly. The rooms are located in a separate building from the reception area. The room was very large and clean. You couldn't hear the other occupants, which is a plus. However, the room is extremely outdated. The hairdryer was so old that it was something I have never seen before. The toilet didn't flush properly and the faucet, showers, and heat were old. Also, the fan in the bathroom was so loud that if you went to the bathroom at night, you would disrupt anyone sleeping in the room with you. Overall, if you are just looking for a decent, clean place to stay, this is an okay choice. It is a bit pricey for what it is and it needs serious updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from The Netherlands

Nice and quiet hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Quiet, luxurious
Cons: Bring more a modern touch into the hotel and the facilities
Location: During the summer nice trips to all the lakes and have some dinner in Haliburton. Dont miss the Kawartha dairy for the best icecream
Nice and quiet hotel. Really nice for golfers and hikers. Not the most modern facilities but still all the luxury to make you feel relaxed and on a high level of comfort. Good breakfast and helpfull staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Needs some updating

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable beds and excellent free wi-fi and beautiful grounds
Cons: clogged sinks and old (unwatchable) CRT TV's
Location: great location
Most comfortable beds ever, Sink would not drain and sludge backed up with something gross. When i checked out, the clerk asked me how i wanted to pay my bill. I told her it was prepaid through Expedia. She did not appear to have a record of this and asked to see my confirmation receipt. Fortunately we had this. The clerk asked if she could keep this receipt. I said we wanted to retain this, especially in view of her trying to bill us again. She then took a photo copy. This is a nice resort type hotel but one thing that stood out was the old CRT televisions. Seeing this relic shows that perhaps this place needs some updating.