Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Very short stop for one night only but a never forgettable breakfast! thank you for the first night in Canada!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Warm welcome, great talks

Posted Jun 18, 2015
I booked fast because i needed a place to stay but am i happy i did. Owners were friendly and very connaisseur of the surrounding in Halifax. Suggested good stuff to do. Others guess arrived and we had pleasant talk with everyone with Kathryn having great stories. Fantastic breakfast. A+
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton, NS

Excellent Hosts!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The Owners and historical design.
Ascendence Habourside Mansion B&B is a historical house that offers a taste of home design dating back in the 1800's. The owners are welcoming and very hospitable. The breakfast is excellent served warm and prepared with flair presented on real china. My only complaint would be that although we had non smoking room, we could still smell the cigarette smoke from another room. Overall though, I enjoyed my stay there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and restful inexpensive stay

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Offered a very tranquil rest and sleep; I look forward to seeing it again in the daylight and when there is not so much snow around. Hosts are extremely friendly and ready to do whatever they can to ensure guest comfort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old mansion

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Nicely redone old-fashioned mansion.
Cons: Hard to reach the couple who owned it, for example when we were trying to check out there was no answer on the three phone numbers we had for them.
Location: Easy to get to downtown Halifax via bus.
Beautiful room and furniture, somewhat chilly probably because it was so old. Somewhat noisy, the first night we were there we could hear people still talking at 3:30 am, the second night the doorbell rang multiple times around midnight. Good food, friendly couple who owned it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Passage, NS

Nice getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
After all the snow days in February, and kids everywhere, I wanted a night alone with my wife.. And a 2 person Jacuuzi. The room was nice, the bed was comfy and the jacuuzi was relaxing. The owners were very welcoming, and made a delicious breakfast in the morning. I've already recommended this place to friends, and will probably book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. My only disappointment was the jetted tub's motor was so loud it took away from the relaxing bath. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be so much more

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The hosts.
Cons: Artist suite bathroom requires mould remediation.
Location: Great downtown nightlife" esp live music. Great seafood....obviously. Many tourist destinations only a day trip away (Peggy's Cove, Lunenburg).
Hosts were very nice, especially husband. Stayed in artist room and the room itself was fine, but the bathroom was unpleasant because of an overpowering smell of mould / mildew...nauseating. Also the shower drain did not drain fast enough so you're standing in your own filth...yuck. Loud, long nights with host' company sticking around to the wee hours. Driveway is a nightmare, but hubby will provide valet services. Can't comment on breakfast because I missed it both days. Young couple on their way to being good b+b hosts...but more work to be done.