Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old mansion

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Nicely redone old-fashioned mansion.
Cons: Hard to reach the couple who owned it, for example when we were trying to check out there was no answer on the three phone numbers we had for them.
Location: Easy to get to downtown Halifax via bus.
Beautiful room and furniture, somewhat chilly probably because it was so old. Somewhat noisy, the first night we were there we could hear people still talking at 3:30 am, the second night the doorbell rang multiple times around midnight. Good food, friendly couple who owned it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eastern Passage, NS

Nice getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
After all the snow days in February, and kids everywhere, I wanted a night alone with my wife.. And a 2 person Jacuuzi. The room was nice, the bed was comfy and the jacuuzi was relaxing. The owners were very welcoming, and made a delicious breakfast in the morning. I've already recommended this place to friends, and will probably book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The staff was friendly and the room was comfortable and clean. My only disappointment was the jetted tub's motor was so loud it took away from the relaxing bath. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be so much more

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The hosts.
Cons: Artist suite bathroom requires mould remediation.
Location: Great downtown nightlife" esp live music. Great seafood....obviously. Many tourist destinations only a day trip away (Peggy's Cove, Lunenburg).
Hosts were very nice, especially husband. Stayed in artist room and the room itself was fine, but the bathroom was unpleasant because of an overpowering smell of mould / mildew...nauseating. Also the shower drain did not drain fast enough so you're standing in your own filth...yuck. Loud, long nights with host' company sticking around to the wee hours. Driveway is a nightmare, but hubby will provide valet services. Can't comment on breakfast because I missed it both days. Young couple on their way to being good b+b hosts...but more work to be done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomasfrom GREENWICH, CT.

VERY NICE STAY

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
THE HOST AND HOSTESS WERE GREAT,VERY FRIENDLY,ACCOMODATING AND HELPFUL. I GIVE THE OVERALL B&B AN ''A''.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulfrom Calgary

Good

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was old but clean. There is no bathroom exhaust fan in the Merchant room. Car park is a little small and difficult to get in and out. The stair is a little tight to move luggage up or down. Hosts are very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Spruce Grove

Interesting B&B

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Charming old building.
Cons: More variety for breakfast. French toast for 3 days is too much.
Location: Short easy drive for visiting harbour water front.
Requires good driving skills to park vehicle up steep driveway. Building is old, charming and clean. Good wi-fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gailfrom Moncton

Great B&B

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay there was very good the owners were super friendly, good breakfast, comfortable king size bed, would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bob Powersfrom Ava, NY

Impossible to find more impossible to park

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was a very nice old mansion and I stress OLD. It was quite hard to locate even with our updated new Garmin. Once found, we had a positively horrific time trying to park even our tint Ford Fiesta. Folks were parked up and down the steep hillside driveway which you can not turn either direction from in anything less than a very careful 3 point turn. I actually lost a portion of my fender skirting trying to get out of there. Once inside, we were met by the young owners, both whom were ill with colds. They seemed nice, but went away never to be seen again. We needed to depart before we had intended and I attempted to call to advise Dan, the owner at the provided phone #, but after 3 unsuccessful tries, we just left a note and departed. At our check-in his credit card machine was not working so I left our information and said to call if there was any further questions. No calls or emails yet, so I guess we are ok.. If you are infirm or hate to park or just have a camper or even SUV I think you may want to search for another lodging. If you are a history buff or lover of old architecture then this may be for you.