Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, friendly, convenient hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: can't think of anything
Location: see abive
We had a very pleasant stay at the Cambridge Suites Hotel. It was well run with friendly, informative staff. The complimentary breakfast was ample with plenty of choices. We enjoyed the late afternoon receptions with complimentary drinks and appetizers too! The hotel was close to many of the major sites of Halifax, within easy walking distance of Spring Garden Road, the Public Gardens, the Citadel and the harbour. Cambridge Suites will definitely be our first choice for a return trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Accomodation in Downtown Halifax

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: We really liked our room and thought that the staff were super.
Cons: At times we easily overheard conversations in the hallway when we were in our room. It was mainly noticeable because everything else was great.
Location: Perfect location for site seeing and getting about in downtown Halifax. Next door is the Halifax citadel and walking distance to many restaurants.
We really enjoyed our 3 night stay. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a Queen Bed, a sofa and desk/table with kitchenette complete with microwave, bar sink and minifridge. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good, with lots of seating. We also enjoyed the complimentary beverages (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) and appetizers that were provided in the lobby for an hour one evening as well as the coffee/tea that was available at all times. The staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions for site seeing. We would definitely consider staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel - uphill from the waterfront.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The Jr suite is a nice layout. Comfortable and clean. The staff was very pleasant. The Continental breakfast was nice enough but the actual breakfast menu left a lot to be desired: The waffles were cake-like (not crispy at all); couldn't get a western or Spanish omlette...really wanted eggs Benedict from the menu but ALL the English muffins had been used in the free breakfasts! Breakfast staff could be more professional too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, and quiet.
Cons: More space for serving the complimentary breakfast.
Location: Near Citadel, Natural History Museum, and Public Gardens.
We enjoyed our stay here before joining a tour around Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. Very convenient for visitng the Citadel and the Public Gardens and other nearby attractions. A downhill walk to the busy area of the waterfront. Walking back up to the hotel is a challenge but doable. I liked the light breakfast but did not enjoy the very high price of the items in the snack room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delta BC

Really comfy hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 14, 2014
We enjoyed mostly everything about the Cambridge, with one exception. We had laundry to do, and the guest laundry facilities were terrible-broken machines, dirty and the basement where they were was stifling hot. Other than that, it was all good, and we would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1pm checkout and next day parking is a plus

Posted Aug 5, 2014
At the top of hill from harbor so prepare to walk and walk and walk because there is nowhere to park down there on weekends. Very close to spring garden rd. Which is a plus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton

Pleasant stay, middle of downtown

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Stayed here for two nights--lovely atmosphere, clean, uncomplicated. Nightly rates were a bit steep for me, as a student, but worth it overall for a vacation, and the hotel restaurant is surprisingly inexpensive. No more than a 15-minute walk to the harbourfront, and to most downtown bars, restaurants, museums and shops, and kitty-corner from the Halifax Citadel. Pleasant surprise: the hotel has a great eco-conscious policy on laundry and cleaning, and allow you to choose what you want cleaned to avoid frequent unnecessary washing of linens, towels, etc, and the shampoos and soaps in the guestrooms are organic. My one complaint is about the hot tub that is available for guests--most of the jets were out of order, and the water could have been cleaner (small gripes, really, for a communal hot tub). Would stay there again if only for the location and the cleanliness of the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Ontario

Convenient location and great service

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: We liked the cleanliness of the room and the professionalism of the staff. The underground parking was a real plus in poor weather.
Cons: The garage elevator serves all floors going up but only goes down from the lobby. Strange! There has to be a reason for this but I can't find one.
Location: Just SW of the Citadel and close to everything there is to see in Halifax, both historical and commercial. Excellent location, quiet at night.
Every staff member from the front desk, to maintenance, and to dining room staff was very friendly and helpful. We had trouble with a jammed bedroom door lock as we were preparing to check out with a deadline to meet and a plane to catch. Maintenance was there in five minutes and the problem solved in even less time. The desserts in the restaurant are to die for! A "Napoleon" is a superbly decadent way to end an evening wherever you have been. The complimentary breakfast was unimaginative, but there are excellent choices available if you wish to order a la carte. We did not do this, but if the evening menu is anything to go by, the results could be spectacular.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from princeton, nj

spacious rooms

Posted Jul 30, 2014
spacious rooms - nice rooftop with views of citadel….good fitness room - halls were noisy a few nights with some rude & loud guests - nice breakfast continental buffet with more than just toast & coffee….good daily newspapers - excellent location for halifax sights -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NS

Nice clean hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly and room very clean.
Location: Excellent location
Enjoyed our stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Staff were very friendly.