Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cape Breton, N.S.

Good location

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Comfortable suite, fridge and microwave in room, centrally located.
Cons: Satisfied.
Location: Opposite Citadel Hill, near shops, restaurants, historical landmarks
Stayed during a winter storm, but service, food, etc. was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom I

City Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Was a easy check in, but were given no direction were parking and proper elevator was. The King Suite was nice but didn't live up to my reasonable expectations! Bed was very comfy! Bathroom was clean very small tub altogether tiny for the King Suite? And noise complaint was given at 11pm on a Saturday night? Low music was playing, but the walls are paper thin! Overall meeh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NS

Excellent hotel close to downtown Halifax

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Excellent service. Beautiful hotel, close to downtown Halifax. Very clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel, but a bit worn around the edges.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Nice place, good location, very helpful and attentive staff. But weary in places -- terrible pillows, thin towels, sad carpet (in our room at least). Resto tries: excellent breakfasts and ok dinners. Soft goods -- bedding, towels, etc -- need investment soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miramichi

It was ok, Johnny.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: the bathroom privacy staff were friendly free apples at the desk You could choose to park outside with no need of a valet.
Cons: breakfast music channel parking
Location: "nearby" is one word where did you go to high school?
excellent when compared to other hotels. No bathroom privacy in nearby hotels. CS has the bathroom and the sink in one room. But . . . . breakfast should be scrambled eggs with sausage & bacon instead of a continental. I got no receipt from CS because I booked through Expedia and no receipt was forthcoming from Expedia. Thee was no dedicated music channel on the TVand the staff didn't to know what I was talking about. Ther was no free parking. But . . . the bed was plush and comfy. It was quiet it was clean it was warm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Central lcoation with kitchen

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Central location. Reaonably big rooms. Kitchen.
Cons: Loud. Had a door that led into the next room that wasn't sound proofed at all.
Location: Downtown Halifax is right out the door.
We got a room here due to its central location and that it included a kitchen. Everything was fine except the air conditioning didn't seem to adjust based on changing the thermostat and the room was noisy due to a door that connected the adjacent room and loud guests next door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to Downtown

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and clean and modern.
I often stay here when in Halifax and have never been disappointed by either my room or the service. The food in Canvas, the new restaurant off the lobby was very good as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shah Alam, Malaysia

Hotel near Dalhousie and downtown

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Traveling half way around the globe to visit my son at Dal, Cambridge Suites provided the warmth and comfort we need. The room and the hotel was very clean. Places are within walking distance which is awesome, Dalhousie, Halifax Public Library, Spring Garden Rd and of course Tim Horton. Parking (we rented a car) was rather high at CAD18 per night. But it is a basement parking. The complementary continental breakfast was good but same menu daily. It would be good to have scrambled eggs one day and poach eggs the next day or hash brown replacing boiled eggs the next.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock NB

Older Hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Staff were excellent - very friendly and accomodating.
Cons: At 5am an area in the ceiling immediately over my husband's side of the bed started leaking. He had to spend the remainder of the night on the couch
Location: It was in downtown Halifax but because of an appointment we were committed to and time constraints we did not have an opportunity to take in the sites
It obviously an older hotel but you can see that areas of upgrade have been completed. Our room had a very comfortable newer bed but the remainder of the decor in the older room was a bit dated - in good condition but dated. Elements of the bathroom appear to have undergone upgrades as well. Very spacious room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stratford, PEI

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Great location, clean and great room.
Location: Our first visit was for a concert at the Scotiabank Centre, which is very close.
My husband and I had been to Halifax two weeks in a row, once for pleasure and the second time for a medical appointment. Both times we stayed at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodated my special physical needs. I mentioned my wheelchair use and our room was chosen for that reason.