Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good hotel, central for exploring

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Nice to have stove, & micro wave and dish are for two, in addition to the frig and coffee maker that are the normal offering. Laundry facilities
Cons: Carpets are getting a bit worn but not threadbare however are clean.
Location: Just outside Dartmouth, short trip to trip to the airport. Handy for visiting Peggy's Cove, Lunenberg and exploring thr coast.
Centrally located, for day trips around the area.. Welcoming, helpful staff both on reception and housekeeping. Breakfast is included, break room is bright, clean and well maintained. Would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
You get what u pay for, it was ok for one night I would not recommend staying longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansdowne

nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff were fantastic. They were beyond helpful and accommodating. Rooms were clean. Area was quiet and restaurants within walking distances.
Cons: nothing
Location: location was in quiet area. Two great restaurants were within walking distance. We weren't far from the ferry or shopping areas.
we booked two queen sized rooms, but when we arrived, the hotel upgraded our rooms to king beds with studios. We were more than pleased with the accommodations. Rooms were clean and staff were very helpful and accommodating. One of the fridges wasn't working in the room, and within minutes, another fridge was delivered to replace the broken one. Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise. The staff provided maps with directions to various attractions/locations to help us find our way around the city. They also were very informative and helpful in suggesting things that we might like to do and see while we were in Dartmouth. I would not hesitate to stay again in another Coastal Inn hotel. As a matter of fact we were seriously considering extending our holiday and staying an additional night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericton, NB, Canada

Amazing value for the money.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The room was far more than I expected. I expected two beds and a bathroom, instead it was a jaw dropping experience seeing a full mini apartment.
Cons: The decor is a bit dated, but really does not need improving. Some people who expect a lot more may want a more "modern" look.
Location: All of the basics are nearby, fast food, restaurants, and entertainment.
We were literally shocked when we walked into the suite. It was far more than I expected for the $82.00 I spent. It was a very nice mini-apartment. The bedroom had it's own T.V and lots of closet space. The main area was an open concept kitchen living room. The decor was a bit dated, but the room was super clean! The staff were friendly and helpful. I will stay at this hotel during all of my travels to Halifax N.S.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Very good for the price.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Bed is comfortable, small kitchen is functional. Breakfast seems too simple. Other than that is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Close to Halifax downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Kitchenette in the room.
Cons: The fridge was too noisy. Breakfast was a bit simple, could be improved.
Location: Not much within walking distance. But with a car, there are attractions within 5 km.
Fair hotel for the price. The fridge was too noisy. Other than that, the room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Toronto, On

Four day stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We recently stayed at the Coastal Inn to attend a wedding and after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor . We didn't expect too much except a clean room perhaps but we were pleasantly surprised by what we got. The room was on the third floor on the corner and included a kitchenette with dishes, a small table, two person couch and chair and flat screen tv. The bed was a king size and very comfortable and the room was very clean including the bathroom and spacious. The staff were very pleasant and most helpful, my wife was doing the floral bouquets for the bridal party and the staff allowed her to use another room to store the flowers in the refrigerator as the room fridges are small. Continental breakfast is also served downstairs each morning. All in all it was a pleasant stay, not expensive and very comfortable. A very nice homey maritime hotel for a short or medium stay that was centrally located for Dartmouth or Halifax as it is only a few minutes from the Mackay bridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louis from Qu├ębec

Nice hotel near halifax

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Close to Halifax, we have a studio for the price of a room, very good quality/price.
Location: We need to not be fossy about the area around.
Great experience. Good breakfeast good house keeper
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila & Jim from New Brunswick

Nice clean hotel, beds were comfortable.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Location was great.
The room was equippped with a kitchenette which was great to have the little extras included in the price of the room. The continental breakfast had lots of choices. The front desk staff were excellent and very knowledgable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fab from ns canada

Nice hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
It was great. I got there and it looked like there was no bed? Just a big living room with a table and tv. Then I turned the corner and saw a mini kitchen with microwave and stove and oven and toaster and dishes and utensils. Made another turn and there were out two Queen beds. Very comfy room and nice bathroom too. It was like renting a small apartment. Good deal for an overnight stay for 82 Bucks plus tax.