Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Perfect location and facility.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, and great location.
Location: Close to boardwalk, museums, shopping and restaurants.
We stayed 3 nights while enjoying the area. All of our party were happy with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Great place but surprisingly awful bed

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location and a very friendly staff
Cons: Perhaps it time to replace beds.
Location: The boardwalk is just a couple of blocks away. We've walked to Pier 21, the Citadel, Maine Maritime Museum, other museums, and breweries.
We've stayed in this hotel before and love its location and the staff. Courtyard is a good brand, and we know we can count on a certain level of comfort--especially a comfortable bed. This time, however, our bed sagged, really sagged. Sagged so badly that it was uncomfortable. And, on top of that, the sheets were thin and limp. Certainly now what we expect from Courtyard. I mentioned the bed to the clerk when we checked out, and she assured me that she'd have maintenance take a look. Humm. Not sure that will do much. Thing is, we equate Marriott brands with certain things--the top of which is a good firm bed with good quality linens. While our bed was good in May when we visited this particular hotel, it was lousy this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great experience! Hotel staff was very helpful, and friendly. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allastier from Ontario

Perfect location. Excellent 8 floor patio.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, very clean, friendly accomaditing staff, convienient to the water front, restaurants, Halifax Farmers Market, Pier 21, Musiem.
Location: Excellent location to waterfront, Halifax Farmers Market, Pier 21, Museum, down town shopping and down town restaurants.
Hotel staff went over and above in their service to us. Always willing to help and accommodating. Staff so helpful in giving directions to Halifax Doors Open. All the staff where very professional. The two ladies that moved from Ontario to Halifax, working the front desk, and the African Canadian valet always made us feel special. We will definitely recommend the Courtyard by Marriott as the best hotel to stay at In Halifax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Casino

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Only stayed 1 night for a show at the Casino, but the staff were friendly and the room was very clean, would stay again, within walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay in Halifax

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: It was perfect for our needs, the bistro in the hotel is a great addition.
Location: Halifax Seaport Market, Local Tasting Tour, Bicycle Thief Restaurant, Sugah homemade ice cream are all must-dos and within a short walk from the hotel
Great hotel, welcoming staff, centrally located and within walking distance to all the wonderful things to do in Halifax. We had a harbor view room allowing us to enjoy the beautiful lights at night as well as the bustling beach walk during the day. We will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Firtar from NB

Hockey Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Good location in downtown Halifax.
Cons: The water in the pool seemed a little cloudy, so I don't know if perhaps the filters, or chemicals need to be adjusted. Gym equipment is limited.
Location: Great location right downtown. It felt very safe and clean around the hotel.
It seems that this hotel is a favorite for parents with young kids and hockey teams. So it was a little noisy at times and you really couldn't use the pool / hot-tub. When I did go to look at the pool the water seemed a little cloudy, so I don't know if that's from the kids or something wrong with the filters etc. The gym has limited equipment, but fortunately there are some free weights up to 50 lbs. Overall it was a nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Dave, Hotel Management
Good day Firtar, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate all feedback good and constructive. We mostly are a corporate driven hotel however during special events such as hockey tournaments you will see teams in most all downtown hotels unfortunately. This is during weekends and in April and sometimes May. We are sorry this impacted your stay. We do have all teams sign a waiver upon arrival and try to control noise as much as possible. The maintenance team looking into the murky pool water currently. All chemicals are accurate but it does seem a bit cloudy. Again, thank you for this feedback Dave
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London, ON

Great view of Halifax Harbour & the Boardwalk

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: Pool was cloudy, not that I went swimming but I'm in the pool industry & always check at the hotels I stay in.
Location: Everything is a short walk (pleasant walk) away
Easy walking distance to all that Halifax has to offer. Large, spacious room, huge bathroom. Friendly & helpful staff, good place to stay in my opinion!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel experience

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable...got a great sleep. We very much appreciated the fact that it was so close to everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything....maybe a little more choice in the restaurant on site.
Location: Walk on the waterfront, the market, pier 21, downtown, art gallery, the market at the old brewery, etc., etc
Staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was great, clean, spacious. Really appreciated the laundry facilities!
1 out of 5
by Were retires from TORONTO

HOTEL WAS FINE,ALSO FOOD.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, restaurant.
Cons: Security, cleaning staff,( room safe)
Location: Everything is close by
We stayed 3 nights. Everything about the hotel was fine, until my wife found the some jewely was missing from a drawer where she had hid it in some clothing. We reported it at leaving but they called and said the room search had found nothing. BAD feelings about this hotel to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Dave, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Sincerely, we do regret the loss of your items during your stay in our hotel. We are responsible for the hotel and guest safety; however some cases are better to allow the competent authorities to investigate the occurred. As we stated we will fully cooperate with any investigation brought forth. As well If we have any news concerning the items we will let you know. Sincerely ,