Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location, accommodations below average

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Room was very clean and staff were pleasant. Room and some areas of hotel appear run down (i.e. ceiling in main lobby was peeling and fan/air conditioner in room was loud). Appreciated the hotel offering valet car service and holding our luggage after we checked out so we could spend time downtown. Overall, stay was okay for one night, for convenience of being downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: location
Location: In the heart of downtown Halifax. Close to all sorts of attractions, restaurants and businesses.
Picked this hotel based on location and a good rate based on other hotels in the vicinity. Check in was quick, staff were friendly and helpful and my room was ready early and was very nice. Amenities were good. WIFI in the room, places on the desk to plug devices. Overall, good experience for a quick business trip. Very close to all downtown businesses and attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Delta Barrington. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your kind review and great scores. We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great downtown location

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Great location. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.
Cons: A USB power source on either a lamp or the alarm clock would be nice in this day and age to charge devices. One of the lamps had a burned out bulb.
Location: Hop skip and a jump to shopping and many restaurants, one block from the very busy and entertaining Halifax waterfront, also nightlife close by.
Check in very smooth and fast. Comfortable room with everything we needed. Excellent rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Delta Barrington. I am delighted to hear you received a smooth and fast check in upon your arrival, and that our Hotel had everything you needed for your stay. Thank you for advising us about the lack of a USB power source. This is certainly something we can look into and we very much appreciate your feed back. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Halifax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Needs Some TLC

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Hotel is worn and needs some upgrading (i.e. carpet, 1970's mini-toilet, Canadian Tire $49.99 noisy bar fridge etc.). The staff are all very helpful and accommodating but can only do so much with what they are given. Location is also great. You get what you pay for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're very happy to hear our staff were so helpful and accommodating. We appreciate your feedback regarding our rooms. We understand your concern and we are happy to share with you that our property is listed for renovations, though we do not have a completion date at this point. upon completion our rooms and spaces will provide some of the most modern designed and tech-enabled areas available. We hope to welcome you back to a newly renovated room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, Ontario

Close to all amenities

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness
Cons: Coffee stations open later than 9am on weekdays Complementary shuttle to/from airport
Location: It is a 5-minute walk to EVERYTHING --- Argyle street is a must! The Five Fisherman on Argyle is our favourite restaurant.
We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. We stayed 4 nights, and the staff were welcoming and friendly. I loved the fact staff were dressed in kilts - gave it a true Nova Scotian feel. The Starbucks coffee stations on each floor in the mornings was a really nice touch! (would have liked them to be open later than 9am though). We loved how close this hotel was to all the tourist attractions in the area. One thing we would have liked, was possibly a complementary shuttle to/from the airport. Other than that, great hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at Delta Barrington. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, especially the Kilts! We take pride in providing such a warm and friendly welcome to our guest and are happy you experienced a true Nova Scotia experience, with us. We very much appreciate your feed back on our Coffee stations and will be sure to review this. As during the summer months our guests are not rushing off to meetings in the morning and I'm sure would appreciate coffee after 9am. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, and thank you again for your great review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort McMurray

Excellent!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: It was very comfortable, nice looking bedroom, and central location to everything.
Cons: Nothning.
Location: Shopping centers and downtown location.
Excellent service and very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great review of your recent stay at Delta Barrington. We are so happy to hear you were welcomed with excellent service and that you were so comfortable in our rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in the downtown core.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Cons: I missed having a coffee maker in my room.
I was in town for a conference and needed one night. This hotel was fine, and the price was reasonable. Good location, quiet, clean, bar / restaurant downstairs. Restaurant was fast and nutritious choices for breakfast. Some take-out food available (ie yogurt parfaits, etc) which is good for those on the run.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by MElissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Delta Barrington. I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your stay, and especially Tempo's nutritious breakfast options. We hope to welcome you back to the Delta Barrington on your next trip to Halifax.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney ns

Very outdated would never return

Posted Jun 21, 2015
There wasn't functioning wifi , it was public therefore it was being used by too many & wouldn't work. Rooms were small & outdated. Nothing good or nice about this place besides the location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Delta Barrington. I am sorry to hear you experienced issues with our WIFI, this is certainly not normal, regardless of the amount of people logged onto our WIFI. I have passed this along to our IT team to investigate as best they can without the make and model of the device being used. We always hope guests will report any concerns such as this to our team, as we usually have them fixed very quickly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can ensure this is not an ongoing concern. We are happy to share with you that our property is listed for renovations, though we do not have a completion date at this time, we have begun preparing for these. Upon completion our rooms and spaces will provide some of the most modern designed and tech-enabled areas available. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay, and we hope to welcome you back to a renovated property soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice staff, stay here!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Very personal service. Quiet. Pool and gym are really nice for a downtown hotel. Pick this one!
Location: Have the fish tacos at Tempo downstairs, they are amazing! Stillwell beer bar nearby and lots to do including the casino being attached by pedways.
Looking for a downtown hotel with quick, personalized service? This is your place. Quiet, good location, and an eagerness to please customers. Valet parking is helpful due to its location and I would recommend it. These people are customer focused and you'll feel like family. Great restaurant downstairs with a bar as well. I have stayed in many downtown hotels, this one is the best location, service and value for the money. Had a significant check in error that was QUICKLY solved and forgotten due to the personalized service they provide! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Delta Barrington. I am delighted to hear our staff were so helpful and made you feel like family. It is our hope, that our guests feel like they are at their home away from home when staying with Delta Barrington and I'm so happy to hear our service showed this. Thank you again for your great review, we hope to welcome you back soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Jun 9, 2015
This hotel is extremely dated. The lobby has been renovated to be nice and modern but the rooms are old and dated. The beds are horrendous and the air is stagnant. You have a fan in the room with a dial saying it has 4 speeds but only had 2. Not a lot of plug ins as most cords run under the wall. The staff definately don't go out of there way to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Melisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding our room condition. We understand your concern and we are happy to share with you that our property is listed for renovations, and we have in the early stages of preparing for these. Upon completion our rooms and spaces will provide some of the most modern designed and tech-enabled areas available. I am sorry to hear our staff did not go out of their way to help during your stay. This is not the level of service we are known for or capable of providing when you choose to stay with Delta. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a true Delta experience.