Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Mahone Bay

Overnight visit.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: The rooms and hallway decor were pleasant and inviting.
Cons: I found the openness of the kitchen to the restaurant rather noisy and the cement floor unappealing. Parking is not convenient.
Location: It's nicely situated downtown in an active area. Convenient to the waterfront which is walkable even in winter.
We needed a place to stay overnight while attending a concert at Rebecca Cohen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant stay.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Loved the valet parking, as it was raining when we arrived. The restaurant Tempo is terrific, with very pleasant staff and great food.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved is security in the pedway to other sites. There was a very uninviting person approaching people after 20 p.m.
Location: Easy access to several shops and businesses. Once you park you can play a tourist to hearts delight.
This was a rushed trip to the city, and our first trip to your Hotel. It was better than hoped for. Staff was wonderful and the room was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Delta Barrington, and we thank you for such high scores! I'm delighted to hear your staff was better than you hoped for, that our staff were so wonderful & that your meal in Tempo was terrific! I have passed along your concern for more security through the pedway system to the company that own's and employ's staff to monitor this area, to ensure no one feels unsafe when traveling through the pedway system. I hope you had a safe trip home and thank you again for your great review of Delta Barrington!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kensington, PE

Beam Me In Scotty

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: I liked the location - great access to many of the historic sites and many independent shops and restaurants.
Cons: THE PARKING!
Location: Hotel is within walking distance of the Citadel and the historic buildings in Halifax. Also close to theatres, shops, galleries and restaurants.
This hotel is okay if you don't have a vehicle. There is no parking and no space for the valet parking that they have to provide in its stead. And there should be a disclaimer on their website, telling those with vehicles not to come for check-in during rush hour! The staff was great! I'm sure that they are sick of having to deal with customer complaints about the parking although they gave no indication of this. Although initially it seemed like the heat in the room was controlled by the thermostat, you actually didn't get any heat until you turned the knob beside the thermostat from off to light, medium, or high. As a result, the heat did not turn off automatically and you were forced to turn it off manually. The room was clean, but the restaurant was a little pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Delta Barrington. I'm disappointed to learn you encountered such challenges upon your arrival to our hotel. This is certainly not the warm & welcoming arrival experience we wish for you to have when choosing to stay with Delta. I hope on your next trip to Halifax we have the opportunity to improve the aspects of your stay where we did not meet your expectations. I am delighted to hear our staff we great though, and hope you enjoyed your visit to Halifax. Again thank you for your review as it is experiences like this that we learn how to improve, to offer a better Delta experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown....

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Convenient for needing to be downtown. Comfortable, older rooms and narrow hallways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Delta Barrington. I'm happy to learn our location suited you so well during your visit and that your stay was comfortable. I appreciate your feedback on our hallways & rooms, I will pass this on to our Management team, as it is with feed back like this that we learn how to offer a better Delta experience. Thank you again for your kind review and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom elsewhere

this is the best location for the visitors.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
This is my 2nd time to stay at Delta Barrington after I used to stat at Westin/Citadel. of course those are excellent hotel... but I'd love to recommend this good location to wherever you try to go in Halifax, staff are so kind & helpful(some are not) it keeps connecting inside of Scotia Square & Barrington Mall - so you can walk easily inside eve though it's heavy windy rainy outside. close to ferry terminal to Dartmouth - what a good location !! I would love to go again when I visit Halifax. thanks !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great review! I'm so happy to hear our location suited your needs so while for your trip to Halifax. The pedway is certainly a great feature to help make a windy, raining visit into a great visit! I hope you had a safe tip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Barrington on your next visit to Halifax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

one night stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: could walk to many places using pedway
Location: casino was close by
bed was very comfortable room was clean . water was provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom st. johns NL

Downtown hotel excellent location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Overhead walkways to several locations. Hotel is mid size. Had room service during stay but did not eat in restaurant. Was served late night meal was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of Delta Barrington. I'm so happy to hear our convenient location and easy access to the overhead pedway system suited your needs so well. It is fantastic to hear that the late night meal you ordered was excellent! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Delta Barrington on your next trip to Halifax so we can serve you another excellent meal!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ingleside, ontario

Great location

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: The front lobby staff were exceptional...extremely helpful.
Cons: The mattress was not comfortable.
Location: Great location for restaurants, shopping, historical sites and evening socializing.
Added an extra day of travel in halifax. So much to see and do and way too many restaurants to choose from. They were all delicious places to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm happy you were able to find so many great restaurant in Halifax with delicious food! There certainly are a lot to choose from and it sounds like you chose some great ones! I'm delighted to hear our staff at Delta Barrington were exceptional, providing you with a true Delta experience! I do apologize that the mattress in your room was uncomfortable and have passed this along to our Housekeeping Manager to ensure this is looked into and not an ongoing concern. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I hope you had a safe trip home, & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Barrington on your next trip to Halifax! We'll be sure to be prepared with a new list of fantastic restaurants for you to try!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Oct 29, 2014
the hotel was a little tired but very nice. Good location and walkable to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very happy to hear that our location suited you so well and that you were able to walk to everywhere you needed to while staying at Delta Barrington. I hope you had a safe trip home and Thank you for choosing to stay at Delta Barrington on you trip to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to most everything

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Wonderful Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The wallpaper was pealing in the hallways and the ice machine and vending machine room was empty a little information about these conditions would be appreciated.Other than that a wonderful stay.Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the lack of communication about the vending machine and ice machine and will ensure we have proper signage up in these locations. As well as directions to the nearest machines. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I am delighted to hear that everything else with your stay was wonderful and that our staff were so friendly and helpful! I hope you had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Halifax.