Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Quiet, central hotel, very expensive extras

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rates of extras
Location: Lots of restaurants on the waterfront, great children's playground.
The hotel itself is in a great location and is very quiet. On the downside, the parking and breakfast were way too expensive, especially as there are close places to park for much cheaper. There's a Starbucks downstairs but it closes very early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mariott hatborfront Halifax, Nova Scotia

Home city

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Hotel stay was great . Hotel rooms needs a fan in the bathroom for showering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, AL

VERY GOOD HALIFAX HOTEL

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Very good hotel in a wonderful and convenient location for tourism or business. Like the parking garage and its access to hotel--one elevator takes you straight to your floor. Parking a bit pricey, though. Staff exceedingly friendly and professional. Room very clean, and smells fresh. Comfortable bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, Ontario

excellent location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Your Staff is fantastic - customer service excellence
Cons: nothing - everything was just perfect - no surprises
Location: step out the door directly onto the board walk to wonderful restaurants, Cows Ice Cream, shops. popup eateries, museums, whale watching, historic dist
We arrived in Halifax in time to celebrate Canada Day - the hotel is right on the board-walk and is perfect for getting around to everything by foot. We had a bit of an issue with the sheets that did not seem to fit the bed the first night but after bringing to the attention of the front desk the next 3 nights were bliss. The Hotel Staff (all of them - day and night) were so nice to talk to - we had the misfortune of being in Halifax with Hurricane Arthur making his way toward Nova Scotia. we would check in with the staff often to ask about the weather and the conditions that we should expect during what they were referring to as a 'tropical storm'. They were very reassuring during this rather anxious time. The Concierge (Kristi - forgive me if that is not correct) was an absolute gift - after our flight was cancelled and the Marriott was full she contacted another hotel for us near the airport and booked us in there for the next night. She also reassured us that things would be fine - lots of wind (107 MPH) would not last long a day or so. She also got us some information about how to contact our airline and make other arrangements for our flight when we were unable to get a computer since so many people were in the same situation. The Staff at this Hotel are all 5 Star - ready to help you with any wish or answer any question and take the time to have a bit of a laugh with you as well. looking forward to our next visit to Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ont

Nice hotel in downtown Halifax waterfront

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: the beds
Cons: the service
Location: Lots of restaurants and museums
The hotel is close to everything, no need to take a car. Downtown Halifax waterfront has a number of great restaurants and some nightlife. Most of the later bars and clubs are quite a hike away. The casino is next door to the Mariott Harbourfront. It is a small casino, not very exciting. The Hotel was a little bit chintzy on the toiletries and toilet paper. There were two of us, and we only had towels and toiletries for one. If you managed to catch the maid then you could ask and you would get another towel or shampoo. You had to do this every day thought, so it got tedious. The beds were super comfortable. The doors were not soundproof, so when the party of three came back at 4:00am in the morning, not only did they wake me up, they kept me awake until 5:30 am when they finally stopped talking loudly and drunkenly so that I could not hear them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel on the water.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Great hotel in Halifax. Close to everything and very nice updates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff and house cleaning.
Cons: Room 404 had a view of the ac-unit.
Location: Location was great.
I enjoyed everything about the hotel except the view from my room 404.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Lovely stay but for one rude desk clerk

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Cons: On the afternoon of the 6th, the desk clerk was quite rude and unhelpful, which put a sour end to an otherwise lovely stay.
Room was lovely and comfortable, we were grateful for early check in. Desk staff at check in on the 4th were lovely and so were all the bellhops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel close to the harbour!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Loved the location - it's so close to everything!
Cons: I believe that parking should be part of the package.
Location: Museums, farmer's market, and small shops and great restaurants make this location a gem!
We really enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. We love that the hotel is on the boardwalk and the hotel is centralized, so we could walk everywhere. The rooms were clean, and the staff were pleasant. We loved the food in the hotel dining room and only had one issue with the service, which the hotel fixed promptly. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro, Nova Scotia

Excellent downtown location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Very close to everything. Beautiful view of the harbor. If you like "people watching", great location for that!
Very nice! My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and were treated like royalty. Staff were excellent, food was delicious and room was large, clean and very comfortable.