Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good rates.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Good bed & TV.
Cons: Breakfast wasn't great.
Good rates, free breakfast, nice bed. Room was old but clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but very dated

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Very nice staff. Hotel is ok. Clean. Good location between halifax and bedford. Very dated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Only the price was right

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Reception staff, the breakfast and the exit driveway!l
Cons: ALL physical facilities
Joseph, on the reception desk, was very pleasant and helpful. The premises Themselves were in worse condition than any I have seen for many years. Although reasonably clean it was impossible to hide the need for extremely major renovations or (preferably) total redevelopment. I find it slightly surprising that Hojo corporate quality control allows continued use of the brand. We Only put up with it because of travel-weariness, Joseph's good attitude And a good price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice restaurant

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location. Easy access.
Cons: Rooms could use an update.
Location: Great little Acadian restaurant attached.
This hotel is very fortunate to have such a great little restaurant attached.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford Nova Scotia

Rooms were a little tight, but manageable.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Outside Parking and free breakfast.
Cons: Updating washrooms, and softer beds.
Location: Everything was in walking distance.
The rooms were clean and tidy, and bed cloths were clean. The room was a little tight and outdated but good, room was a little musky, but once we turned A/C on it was gone in minutes. Staff were clean and friendly and very professional. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Full size oven in two_room suite, amazing.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Close to hwy, nice staff. Little bit old. However, see full size oven in two room suite, amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by james from ontario

Outdated ... needs work

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was not pleasant at all .. The bathtub drain was rusted and I killed 2 cockroaches that came out of the drain .. The bathroom light worked sometimes .. The heat register stayed on .. I was unable to turn it off .. I had to set the air conditioner at 19 degrees to stay comfortable .. The hotel is outdated and requires major renovations ..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new brunswick

Needs a complete reno.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cons: Major renovations are necessary.
Location: Close to restaurants and where we wanted to go. We chose it because of the name of Howard Johnson and being on a budget the price.
When we arrived and tried to open the door we had to literally put our shoulder to the door to get it open. The was clean enough but there was a lot of mold in the bathroom. There was even a silverfish in one of the coffee cups. Breakfast on our last day was not at 7 a.m. as advertised. We wanted to get on our way as soon as possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing accommodation!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Cons: The bathroom was in need of renovations. Roof shingles are missing from lower buildings. The hair dryer did not work.
This motel was not at the standard I would normally associate with the Howard Johnson chain. As we were in the room that was the farthest away from the office, I had to go outside the room and around the corner to pick up WiFi reception. Then I could use it in the room.