Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Victoria BC

Appealing hotel needs sprucing up

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Convenient location within walking distance of both downtown amenities and Pier 21 complex. Distinctive character of hotel agreeablly different.
Cons: General attention to detail.
Location: We found great informal dining within 3 minutes of hotel. Spring Garden Road 7 min walk as is Maritime museum.
We have stayed here several times over a twenty period & felt standards have been allowed to slip a bit. Staff youthful and pleasant but need better oversight or training to focus on needs of clients. for example, entering hotel involves negotiating heavy doors and several steps. Although several guests during our stay were seniors assistance with luggage or doors was not offered. Receptionist did not offer tourist info and information brochures not obvious near desk. Breakfast room staff did not notice when tea package choices ran out. Breakfast adequate and taken in pleasant rooms. Selection of pastries/bread rather bland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie

Cute hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
We had a nice stay for our mini-moon, my only complaint is that my room was near the street and was very noisy. The garbage trucks woke us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantasitic stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great with lots of variety. They gave us great suggestions for places to eat. Room was spectacular - we stayed in a suite. Location was good for walking to everything we wanted to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by world travelor

Nice place with a convenient location

Posted May 25, 2014
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Our arrival was late night (almost midnight), and departure was early morning, but the friendly staff kindly helped us check-in/out. The room was clean,quiet, and comfortable. The hotel is located within 5 minutes from downtown Halifax, a 24 hour-open super market, the water front, and the farmer's market. Considering of the location and what you get, it's definitely worth staying at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lee from Niagara, Ontario

Traditional charm

Posted May 25, 2014
We wanted a location which would enable us to walk to as many points of interest as possible, and this was the main reason for choosing The Halliburton. Staying there proved to be a delightful experience! On our first night, we asked the front desk staff for recommendations regarding dinner. They were very helpful, and we enjoyed a fine meal close to the hotel. Despite minor issues such as a small bathroom, typical of older, fine hotels, we would certainly recommend The Halliburton. We would, however, caution anyone with mobility challenges as there are lots of stairs. The free parking was much appreciated as was an excellent complementary Continental Breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2014
Cons: Get rid of carpets! A breathing ground for odors .
Not what we expected.Was looking for something a little extra.Big chains deliver equal to better service .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kai from Alberta

Fantastic

Posted May 13, 2014
Location: Perfect location to pubs, restaurants, the harbour and everything including The Citadel
The hotel is great. Forget big hotels all you need is a key - yes friends it uses a key because its like 150 years old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Plumbing woes

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, my stay was satisfactory, however I had an issue with the toilet in my room. It ran incessantly and leaked until I turned the water off. I told hotel staff as I was headed out for the day assuming that they would deal with it in my absence, but the issue was not resolved and made for a tricky stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jane Lacalamita from Toronto

feedback

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
more assistance needed upon arrival...many stairs.... chair in the room had no springs tv is very tiny
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernie from Alberta

Fine old hotel, fabulous restauraunt,

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Restauraunt, clean rooms, pleasant staff and free breakfast!
Cons: Old style outside doors open to the inside, I tend to expect outside doors to open to the outside. Fits decor but unusual.
Location: Close to pier 21. brewery and shopping areas. There are many small restauraunts, at least eight where you don't even have to cross the street.
Old buildings are scrupulously clean, antiques and reproductions make for an interesting, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Scenes restauraunt serves the best scallops I have ever eaten, the menu is wide and the food excellent. The service was friendly and efficient, in the restauraunt and in the room. The location invites one to stroll the area where there are many hidden gems. altogether a most pleasent experiance.