Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie

Cute hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
We had a nice stay for our mini-moon, my only complaint is that my room was near the street and was very noisy. The garbage trucks woke us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantasitic stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great with lots of variety. They gave us great suggestions for places to eat. Room was spectacular - we stayed in a suite. Location was good for walking to everything we wanted to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by world travelor

Nice place with a convenient location

Posted May 25, 2014
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Our arrival was late night (almost midnight), and departure was early morning, but the friendly staff kindly helped us check-in/out. The room was clean,quiet, and comfortable. The hotel is located within 5 minutes from downtown Halifax, a 24 hour-open super market, the water front, and the farmer's market. Considering of the location and what you get, it's definitely worth staying at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lee from Niagara, Ontario

Traditional charm

Posted May 25, 2014
We wanted a location which would enable us to walk to as many points of interest as possible, and this was the main reason for choosing The Halliburton. Staying there proved to be a delightful experience! On our first night, we asked the front desk staff for recommendations regarding dinner. They were very helpful, and we enjoyed a fine meal close to the hotel. Despite minor issues such as a small bathroom, typical of older, fine hotels, we would certainly recommend The Halliburton. We would, however, caution anyone with mobility challenges as there are lots of stairs. The free parking was much appreciated as was an excellent complementary Continental Breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 23, 2014
Cons: Get rid of carpets! A breathing ground for odors .
Not what we expected.Was looking for something a little extra.Big chains deliver equal to better service .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kai from Alberta

Fantastic

Posted May 13, 2014
Location: Perfect location to pubs, restaurants, the harbour and everything including The Citadel
The hotel is great. Forget big hotels all you need is a key - yes friends it uses a key because its like 150 years old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bernie from Alberta

Fine old hotel, fabulous restauraunt,

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Restauraunt, clean rooms, pleasant staff and free breakfast!
Cons: Old style outside doors open to the inside, I tend to expect outside doors to open to the outside. Fits decor but unusual.
Location: Close to pier 21. brewery and shopping areas. There are many small restauraunts, at least eight where you don't even have to cross the street.
Old buildings are scrupulously clean, antiques and reproductions make for an interesting, quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Scenes restauraunt serves the best scallops I have ever eaten, the menu is wide and the food excellent. The service was friendly and efficient, in the restauraunt and in the room. The location invites one to stroll the area where there are many hidden gems. altogether a most pleasent experiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brittany from USA

Homey ... in a Great Location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff Free WIFI, parking, and breakfast Spacious room Good location
Cons: It would be a bonus if there was a pool or spa services available, but the layout of the buildings and location would make it extremely difficult
Location: The waterfront and boardwalk are two blocks down the street. There's a restaurant in the hotel, but also approximately 7 other choices on the block
The hotel was a wonderful surprise. The facility is actually separated into 3 older buildings. There is free parking in the back if there is room. My room was in the middle building and very spacious. The TV didn't have many channels and the reception was fuzzy on most of the channels - It was also in an awkward location to watch from the bed. The room has older furniture, but that is what gives it its homey feel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Everyone we spoke to was very polite when we asked for something it was provided within minutes of our request. One employee even took it upon herself to print off maps and a bus schedule for us - she even showed us suggested places to eat. The breakfast is also free and it consisted of fruit, yogurt, cereal, beans, muffins/ toasts, and juice. There was also free WIFI provided in our room and a computer in the library that was available for use. The walls were a little thin because of the age of the building, but it wasn't a problem as there didn't seem to be many people staying in our building. The hotel is just two blocks from the waterfront and within walking distance to many of the restaurants and attractions in the area. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to stay in a typical hotel, but wants the experience of staying in a place that can be a home away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brittany from USA

Homey ... in a Great Location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff Free WIFI, parking, and breakfast Spacious room Good location
Cons: It would be a bonus if there was a pool or spa services available, but the layout of the buildings and location would make it extremely difficult
Location: The waterfront and boardwalk are two blocks down the street. There's a restaurant in the hotel, but also approximately 7 other choices on the block
The hotel was a wonderful surprise. The facility is actually separated into 3 older buildings. There is free parking in the back if there is room. My room was in the middle building and very spacious. The TV didn't have many channels and the reception was fuzzy on most of the channels - It was also in an awkward location to watch from the bed. The room has older furniture, but that is what gives it its homey feel. The staff was very nice and helpful. Everyone we spoke to was very polite when we asked for something it was provided within minutes of our request. One employee even took it upon herself to print off maps and a bus schedule for us - she even showed us suggested places to eat. The breakfast is also free and it consisted of fruit, yogurt, cereal, beans, muffins/ toasts, and juice. There was also free WIFI provided in our room and a computer in the library that was available for use. The walls were a little thin because of the age of the building, but it wasn't a problem as there didn't seem to be many people staying in our building. The hotel is just two blocks from the waterfront and within walking distance to many of the restaurants and attractions in the area. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't want to stay in a typical hotel, but wants the experience of staying in a place that can be a home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto area

very close for me to architects

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: I like places that do not try to impress ... so to speak. It was very relaxing ... had a glass of wine in the library after dinner like home.
Cons: See above.
All very good, great restaurant for dinner, very nice breakfast, very nice bed. Pillows too thick and TV in a bad location in room 202 and screen too small. Everything else very good and I shall return! I was sufficiently happy that I advised the firms I was visiting to put their people there as it was perfect for me.