Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

A really lovely hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Cons: There was no safe in our room. The curtains covered the air conditioner in the bedroom. ( all minor issue)
Location: Less than 10 minute walk to waterfront, and busy bars / restaurants.
We went for a part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a suite, which was fabulous. The comfiest bed of the 3 week trip!! Stephanie at the front desk went above and beyond, even sending us a congratulation card to our room ~ thank you!! We would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Halifax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great hotel - but accessibility issues!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Love the Lord Nelson. Loved the renovated restaurant (The Arms) which is now wheel-chair accessible. Above all, I loved being right next to the beatiful Public Gardens. The service and the personnel were great. However, two serious issues related to wheelchair accesibility. First, the parking contractor shut off level P1 to cars, "to encourage people to park on lower levels". Unfortunately, this stranded us (with my wheelchair bound father) on level P2 with no elevator and no way out. This occurred once during the day, and once again the night after I had pointed out the exact same situation to the parking attendant. Why do people not think of the handicapped?! Also, our room with a wheelchair accessible washroom (which I had phoned about in advance on 2 separate occasions - just to make sure - was not available for 3 hours after check in time. We were offered other, much more luxurious rooms, but, the nature of the handicap is that we needed that room with that bathroom! Again - accessibility consciousness please! In all other respects the hotel and staff were charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience

Posted Aug 21, 2014
overall, very good experience, perfect location, room was clean, staff was nice. Good price!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PEI.

Also good but...

Posted Aug 14, 2014
This travel was important for my boy friend and me.Room was awesome! Comfortable, clean and beautiful. We loved it. I wanted be happy these days, but when we check in the hotel they deposit $200. But next day when we were check out, they said they didn't charged deposit, but I had receipt and got pay back. If I couldn't speak English, I lost my $200. Also they charged $23 to who lined before us customer, but we needed pay $25. We stayed one over night. If the customer has member card or something, that's make sense. But looks different. My boy friend is Canadian, so he could here that. A little I was despondented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Good value. Close to restaurants and shopping. Public gardens worth seeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OTTAWA ONTARIO

all was ok mr ALFONSO/FROM FRONT DESK WAS THE BEST

Posted Aug 7, 2014
AGAIN ALL WAS OK BUT MR.ALFONSO FROM FRONT DESK WAS THE BEST AND WE NEVER HAD BETTER WELCOME LIKE HE DID FOR US
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

'Underdeparted' is not a thing

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Upon our arrival at the Lord Nelson, we were informed that unfortunately, fewer patrons than they expected had left that day and therefore, they could not honour our reservation booked through Expedia two weeks previous. The term for this is apparently 'underdeparted'. How can this situation even happen? You either know who is staying at your hotel or you don't. They said that they regretted this inconvenience (as if it were completely beyond their control) and found a room for us at their cost at another hotel. While it was very kind of them to find the room and cover the cost, we were very disappointed at being turned away - especially after our 5 hour drive. It felt like a slap in the face and it was insulting. Clearly, they made a choice to favour another patron over us. The next time we travel to Halifax, we will simply book elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Great location and facility.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The hotel has had extensive renovations since my last stay there. We upgraded our room at check-in - the room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The location is wonderful for walking to the waterfront, gardens and shopping. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Deborah, Hotel Management
Always rewarding to see another satisfied customer. Many of our guests upgrade upon arrival since feel the added value is well worth the nominal fee. Thank you Nancy for positive review and hope you enjoyed a pleasant return home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Charm and Character ended at lobby.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Cons: Room decor. And a pre-check-in heads up to travellers to have a nicer room if they are available. I mean, an elegant room, with character.
Location: Great location, Public Gardens across the street, and Spring Gdn. Road is a funky shopping area.
I was expecting a room with equal charm to the gorgeous lobby, and was disappointed to find rather tattered updated (updated long ago) room. I will not return without asking ahead of time for a nicer room, if they are available, I don't know. The restaurant off the Lobby has also lost its original charm, which I remember as a 'Hemingway' dark and magical place where one might bump into James Joyce. What happened?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Deborah, Hotel Management
I can certainly appreciate your feedback Marsha and wish to apologize for product disappointment and what seems to be an average experience. We did a complete renovation of our restaurant in February. We opened with a fresh new look and exciting new menu. Our vision was to make the restaurant more inviting without losing our classical English feel. I hope you will give us another try and maybe even fall in love with our new restaurant as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great hotel in a great city

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing, really. I stayed in a king suite so we had lots of room, but I understand that some of the other rooms are quite small.
Location: Close to Public Gardens, shopping and Hospital
Everything about the stay was excellent. I usually have stayed at a different hotel in Halifax, but this will now become my "go-to" hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Deborah, Hotel Management
Excellent; hope you we will become your new "home away from home" when in Halifax Helen. Thank you for your recent stay & 5 star rating.