Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milan, Italy

Just above average

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The restaurant with the buffet was very good
We were visiting many cities in Vietnam and this one was just a 2-night stop after staying in other fantastic hotels. So probably this one, without being bad, has been below our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Views and food.
Cons: Size of room.
Location: Take a boat out in the bay. Idyllic.
The view from the bedroom was breathtaking. The buffet supper was delicious with a wonderful fusion of flavours. Sitting in the swimming pool overlooking Halong Bay utterly memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Glasgow, Scotland

Novotel Halong Bay

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Really enjoyable stay, hotel was on the front overlooking the bay, great pool, staff were friendly, room was nice. One tip - make sure you request a room at the front of he hotel overlooking the bay as the view is excellent, but only 50% of the rooms have this view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Pitt Meadows, Canada

Lovely Hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
We only spent one night here, as we arrived prior to our Halong Bay cruise. We were pleasantly surprised with a room that was spacious and beautifully decorated. The mattress and pillows were magnificent! We ate dinner in the dining room and found the food to be fresh and tasty. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, and again the quality was fresh and tasty. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly, professional, and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Edwin from UK

Novotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel for a night before or after exploring Halong bay by Junk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Matt Weikel from U.S.

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful staff and service. Had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, well cared for, nice staff, poor bed

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Don't recommend going to Ha Long Bay in Winter. Quite empty and difficult to see any of the rock formations due to fog. Gluten Free is not widely recognised in Vietnam, however not to much of a problem if you stick to rice based products. Not a great deal to do on shore at Ha Long Bay. Go to the cinema at Marine Plaza- most films in English or with English subtitles. Organise a private driver or to take a tour that includes transport to Ha Long Bay as difficult to get to Ha Long Bay from Hanoi. Don't eat oysters in Ha Long Bay, even though a lot are on offer. Can be dodgy. Ask for meat well-done. Vietnamese food is really fresh and delicious. Vietnamese people are lovely. Learn so Vietnamese for the taxi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money in Ha Long Bay area

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Room size, spa/gym, breakfast
Cons: Climate control...the room was entirely too stuffy (December), so we had to open a window.
We travelled down the night before our cruise in order to avoid the morning rush. The hotel was pleasant and located along the main strip, which has a few restaurants and cafes. Not much happening in town, so the hotel facilities were welcome. Nice spa/gym and excellent breakfast buffet. Would stay here again.