Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chonburi

เราพักบ้านบังกะโลเดินขึ้นเนินเขา

Posted Jan 23, 2015
สามารถโทรเลื่อนวันเข้าพักได้เราเกิดปัญหาเครื่องดีเลช้าเป็นชัวโมงต้องพักที่ฮานอยแทน
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location with stunning views

Posted Jan 15, 2015
This hotel has amazing panoramic views of Halong Bay from the top floor restaurant. Perfect to gaze over whilst having breakfast! We did have some major issues during our stay however. We were initially given a room in the villa which is not connected to the main hotel. Do not accept one of these rooms, instead ask for a room in the main hotel. The villa room was freezing cold and the shower had no hot water! We asked to swap rooms and were given another villa room which also had no hot water and in addition the room door could not be locked. Terrible! Once again we asked to be moved and finally were given a room in the main hotel which was much better. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, especially the tour operator who was amazing! Would recommend this hotel purely for the views. Just don't stay in the villa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton, UK

Clean Hotel, very helpful staff

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful when I couldn't find my cruise company location and took the time to call them in my behalf and get me directions.
Cons: As far as my experience I found it a great hotel, so nothing!!
Location: The location is on a strip of other large hotels. There are some small local places to eat that are good too, just go where the locals are.
I only stayed one night before heading to a cruise in the bay however found the hotel easy to find, very clean and had great helpful staff. I stayed in one of the Villa's outside the main hotel and they were very quiet (rare in Vietnam!), and the room was a great standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The best hotel, amazing views

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We stayed in the villas, absolutely spot on. Clean, tidy and had our own terrace. It was the best stay, if I would've payed double still worth it, highly recommended. Breakfast buffet endless and really tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by dtrngfrom japan

素敵なヴィラ

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
入口の坂はむちゃくちゃキツかったけど、それ以外言うことなし! 一つ大きなホテル棟と小さくてたくさんのヴィラ棟があり、スーペリアルームを頼んだら自動的にヴィラ棟になってました。ヴィラ棟には部屋が4つ入っており、違うタイミングで予約した友人とも同じヴィラだったのでより楽しく過ごせました。屋外プールもついており、最高!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Staffs are friendly and willing to serve but i'm not to be on time in breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Bergenserfrom Norway

En skuffelse

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
vi var en familie på 4 med to rom. Dette var ikke noe godt hotell. Vi fikk noen rom bak hotellet som var grusomme. skitne, stinket røyk og låse til det ene rommet var ødelagt.Vi ba om å bli flyttet over til selve hotellet. Det var litt bedre,men der også stinket det røyk selv om de skulle være røykfrie.Frokosten var også en skuffelse. Da vi spurte om å få ha det ene rommet i en time lenger på utsjekkingsdagen kl.12.00 til 13.00 måtte vi betale 50% av romleien. Vi kommer IKKE til å bo der igjen. Nabohotellet Novotel er absolutt et MYE bedre alternativ.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Nguyen Hoai Thuong, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs.Bergenser, Greeting from Saigon Halong hotel, Firstly thank you for choosing our hotel and your feedback. Your feedback encourage our hotel to improve our service. Secondly, I'm very sorry about all your inconvenience during your stay in our hotel. Please forgive and sympathize our mistakes. We will fixe it immediately. And would you tell me the day you check in in our hotel, please? Your faithfully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lazyjackfrom Thailand

nice rooms

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
we were two families and had the Executive-Suites, 1 King-Bett, Meerblick at the 11th floor. 82qm rooms with top view and perfect bath. The room Deluxe-Doppelzimmer, Meerblick for the kids was perfect too. We enjoy the stay very much. The reception was a bit sticky, but with room of these quality (11th floor) we don't mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lazyjackfrom Thailand

tolle Aussicht, saubere Zimmer zu gutem Preis

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
wir waren 2 Familien mit 6 Personen. Hatten 2 Executive-Suite mit 1 King-Bett, und Meerblick im 11ten Stock. 82qm - Bad vom feinsten. Die Executive-Suite hat ein Verbindungstür zum Delux Zimmer der Kinder daneben. Beide Zimmer ein Traum !! Rezeption etwas zäh und stupide, aber das sind wir von Ländern in diesen Breitengraden gewohnt. Kann man verschmerzen wenn man solch angenehme Zimmer vorfindet. Frische Blumen und frisches Obst als Zugabe des Zimmermädchens haben ein ordentliches Trinkgeld verdient. 100% zufrieden.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Laurenfrom Australia

Horrific

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked private villa which is not a private villa and guest smoke in the entrance way leaving the stench seeping into other rooms. Pool ok. Breakfast good buffet, tennis court but told us it was booked out for our stay, we waited by the pool and saw no one on the courts all day so went back to reception to be told then they don't have the racquets! The gym in the photos is not exactly what's in the picture, it's from the 1970s and when trying it out anyway, non of it worked, we attempted to get my partners haircut in the salon that they have as he couldn't find any clean or decent looking ones in halong bay city, but again were told that the hairdresser wasn't working and it was closed, we were also accused of using water from the mini bar and demanded payment which took a while for them to realise it was bottles we purchased outside of the hotel, and as for the tour operator, she's an absolute con artist, fed us a beautiful brochure for a luxury boat cruise for a triple figure price and we though from a hotel with this rating, we'd get what we pay for. NO! A shabby old boat with a completely different name, the tour guide didn't even have our details and he attempted to put us in a lower deck cabin, which I protested I payed for a upper deck, non of the activities in the itinerary were followed through except gliding around the bay in the boat and we got to kayak for 40mins(yes that's all) luckily we met people of similar age and we kept ourselfs amused but I am furious with the hotel. We are travelling Asia and booked this hotel to spoil ourselfs as we wanted an upgrade to the midrange hotels we've been staying at and we were completely let down.