Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast.

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a good overnight stop. Pity about the TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken from North Yorks

What a great place and owners

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
What great owners and very nice place to stay. The owners went all the way to find us a room when we had no place to stay and also took our dogs at no extra charge. Very quiet with a great garden at the back . Best value you will find . Dont pay extra when you can stay at a great place with very nice folk . Ken & Diane North Yorks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for us

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The bar with its extensive range of real ales.
Cons: The whole place could do with a makeover.
Although not a fault of the staff, when we booked into the Inn my partner and myself were informed that there was no record of us or our arrival date. Fortunately or unfortunately, depending on your view, a room was available for us. Reflecting upon our experience it might have been better if all the rooms had been booked, then we would have looked for more comfortable accommodation. There was little comfort in our room and the breakfast was merely adequate, it was only because we had already arranged to meet friends in Halstead that we stayed there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike from Colchester

Service

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only thing I can comment on was when I arrived the hotel was shut! I had to knock them up to let me in and I was outside in the rain for 10/15 mintues. After they finally got up everything else was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Le boupere

The Dog Inn

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value basic accommodation in a friendly pub Clean room everything worked as it should
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Anthony19500 from West yorkshire

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was very tired, the carpet was thread bare. The toilet and shower area were very small could not describe it as a room. The grout was black in places when the cleaner areas of grout was white. I refrained from taking a shower because of its state. I used a mug one day and it was not cleaned right through the three nights I had the miss fortune to stay. Will not go back there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable stay for the price - Manager very welcoming and accomodating - Fantastic breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
The stay was very pleasant and peaceful. Friendly and helpful staff. The only thing that was missing was a wardrobe or facilities for hanging our clothing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great b&b loved our stay!

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a fab one might stay at the dog inn. The manager was great. We asked if we could check in early to our room as we were attending a wedding at the castle which wasn't a problem. The room was big with a tv and coffee and teafacilities. We had breakfast in the morning which was lovely and he offered as much tea and coffee as you wanted. Really welcoming staff and a great little village with picturesque views all round. I would recommend it if your looking for a nights stay.