Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simply great

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Loved the hotel, and its location. The park near by (2 minutes) is one of the most beautiful places in Hamburg. The service was fantastic, the staff was kind, warm, well-coming and helpful with information. I highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Comfortable and quiet

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet Clean Comfortable Weird windows The hotel looks like a Borg cube
Cons: The wifi is slow
Location: Waterfront Dom carnival Reeperbahn St Pauli
Our room was spacious and comfortable. It was also very quiet, which is our biggest concern while travelling. It had air conditioning and a nice view of the city. Only complaint was that the "free" wifi was offset by the fact that they also offered paid wifi with 4x the speed. They advertise free wifi but it's barely useable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nw london

hotel arcote onyx was well placed for my needs

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: breakfast area could be wthin main hotel, rather than next door, but even this did not spoil my stay
Location: right nrext to theaters and cinmas, 10 minutes wall to harbour area,plenty of good eating places around hotel
staff very helpful, cleanrooms, well maintained. breakfast good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb modern hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern well equipped, close to all amenities.
Location: St Pauli, friendly, lots of restaurants and bars and shops, close to the superb railway system and easy access to all Hamburgs attractions.
The hotel is very modern, spotlessly clean with helpful and knowledgable staff. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Very close to the St.Pauli station on the Reeperbahn it is one stop from the main river cruise and city bus tour terminal and two stops from the famous warehouse district which contains the superb Miniture Wunderland, the largest model railway in the world, something that has to be seen to be believed. We will definiately use this excellent hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel with Incredible Service

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything, absolutely everything you can think of.
Location: At one end of the Reeperbahn, 100 yards from St Pauli U-Bahn. 5 minute walk from the river and Hard Rock Cafe. Ultra convenient.
Just been to Hamburg with four friends for a long weekend. We couldn't believe how fantastic the hotel was. The service at reception was impeccable and the bar staff too, Anke, Philip, and another lady with glasses who works during the day ( sorry I forgot your name ). The standard of the rooms was fantastic, from design to execution was simply superb. The attention to detail throughout the hotel was typically German but still delivered well. Even the WC's downstairs in the basement attracted visitors who were even taking photos of the design!! My friends and I have stayed in thousands of hotel rooms over the years and we all agreed that this was one of the very best. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough... We will definitely be returning next year as Hamburg is fantastic and we will definitely be booking this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Congratulations to everyone who work so hard to do such a good job.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Onyx, Hotel Management
Dear hotelguest, thank you very much for staying at the ARCOTEL Onyx and for taking the time to write this feedback. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were especially pleased with our service and that you also liked our rooms and design. We are really pleased with your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back next year. Best regards from Hamburg St. Pauli, JANA SCHMITT, Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MJ from London

Wonderful and helpful staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Design and quality and the helpfulness of staff
My friends and I stayed at the Arcotel for two nights in June 2014 and pretty much all of our group commented that the hotel is fabulous. Additionally the staff are tremendously helpful and go out of their way to assist. I'd recommend a stay here in a flash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paul from manchester

Great base to explore Hamburg from

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The hotel was in a great spot for exploring Hamburg. It is located a 50 metre walk away from St Pauli underground station.
Cons: The accommodation was first class and the staff were really pleasant and helpful. The breakfast on offer was excellent.
Location: The hotel is located at the start of the Reeperbhan. This area is a bit tired and rundown and has certainly better times.
My wife and I had a recent 4 night stay at the Arcotel. We had a fabulous time in the hotel and the City. From our base it was easy to explore the Warehouse District, Rathaus, and we even jumped on a train to visit Lubeck and it's beach area. Our trip to to walk along the river Elbe at Blankenese was also a really nice day out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from hartford, ct

Excellent moderately priced hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
We only stayed one night and found everything about the hotel to be excellent. If the description did not tell you that the hotel was in the red light district you would not know from within the hotel or nearby. You are also close to the superb subway system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marge from London

Fantastic location, great decor, lovely room.

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location at the corner of Reeperbahn and 2 mins walk from St Pauli U-bahn station couldn't be faulted. The rooms, lobby, etc were gorgeous.
Cons: The coffee cups in the room were tiny, the room service menu ridiculously small and meat filled and the cooling system was impossible to work out.
Location: Ideal for the Docks venue on the Reeperbahn/public transport/local sights.
The hotel was overall a great experience at a very good price. The only major issue was struggling to cool the room as the thermostat/air con was very arcane and the fan kept cutting out whilst the room was still rather warm. As it was my brithday, they noticed, upon checkout, reception even game me a small complimentary cake. The barman was friendly and proffered a very large double vodka with extra added, the price for a drink was very steep, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kathryn from Houston

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, convenient, helpful staff. Great value. Would definitely stay here again.