Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Janie from Sacramento, California

Heat Issues

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Nice people, beautifully displayed European breakfast buffet in a light and cheery atmosphere.
Cons: Add central air conditioning.
Location: This was down the street from the train station and bus stations but not near the wharf.
It was unseasonably warm in Hamburg and this hotel, although very beautiful, clean and modern has NO Air conditioning. We had to ask for a fan and that helped a bit but we will not return because of the air issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Altona

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Reception staff are a bit amateurish
Location: Round the corner from Altona station
A good location and good for those on a budget. Clean and comfortable room although noisy to the street. Breakfast in next door hotel which is not ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Good hotel, has everything you need. Very good location, close to train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from Fareham uk

Nice little hotel. Close to station.

Posted Nov 8, 2013
A very pleasant hotel. Clean and tidy. Helpful staff. Room facing station but heard no noise. Tea and coffee in room. Mini bar. Well recommended for sightseeing. Altona also a very nice town.
1 out of 5
by Jimmy from London, UK

Poor

Posted Dec 20, 2012
This review is based on a booking and pre-payment for a double, non-smoking room but - on arrival - being put in a single, smoking room. The smoking room, unsurprisingly, had the most disgusting stench, with yellowing walls practically dripping in nicotine. Even at check-in the receptionist had confirmed that it was a non-smoking room and, having given me directions to the room, would have known perfectly well it was, in fact, a smoking room. For this act of dishonesty alone, the hotel hardly deserves more than the minimum rating. Then, after a vociferous complaint from me and a denial from the receptionist that the hotel was under any obligation to provide a non-smoking room if requested (this was for a five-night stay), a non-smoking room miraculously was found. This was clean enough, though extremely small (c 3m x 2m) for a double room with a tiny wardrobe but no drawers to store clothes and with a very badly tuned TV. Overall, shockingly poor value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to station of multi-cultural Altona

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pat from Brisbane QLD, Australia

room far to small for comfort

Posted Dec 1, 2012
Pros: close to the railway
Cons: size of the room
Location: good location for travellers without cars
This hotel had one of the smallest rooms we have ever experienced location good but no where within the hotel to relax breakfast very good for the money
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Smoking room when non-smoking was requested

Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I would have great things to say about the hotel if they hadn't given me a smoking room when I had requested a non-smoking room. It doesn't matter if it is the biggest or nicest. Non-smoking is ALWAYS the number one priority for a non-smoker. I didn't request a change as I had 5 heavy bags haul around, so I can't comment on any possible flexibility on changing it. For people with disabilities, this is not the hotel for you. Steps up to main counter and many rooms that are not accessible except for by steps. For me, that was fine (except for my abnormal number of bags. It also reduced foot traffic by the room I believe. I would definitely stay there again, but I would confirm w/ the front desk before arriving that they had a non-smoking room for me (as requested).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
very comfortable