Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Good vaule, central location

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Price and location. The rooms are clean and comfortable, albiet a little small.
Cons: The outside of the hotel is not that desirable but not sure how they could improve this much without a lot of expense.
Location: It is about a 10-5 minute walk to the main train station, the Town Hall and the Alster (the lakes in the centre of Hamburg) so was handy for shopping.
We were looking for a good value hotel as we were staying three nights. The location of this hotel suited us as we had a function to attend in the Mercure Hotel just across the canal (it was available but is a fair bit more expensive). Breakfast is available for €13 though we did not have this as we had made other arrangements so can't comment on its quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great Hotel just outside the city centre

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel well priced just outside the city centre. 15 minute walk from the central station. Extremely clean and appeared to be newly refurbished!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Lovely rooms

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were very comfy and staff were very friendly.........
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Phalex from Toronto

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you are not too fussy in general, this hotel is an excellent price/quality ratio-close to city centre- about a ten minute walk- and very modern amenities in the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by louises s from sydney

truly great value

Posted Aug 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
this hotel could have charged me double and i wouldnt have cared. for the price this hotel far exceeded expectation
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2013 by soweber, Hotel Management
Dear Sirs, Thank you for choosen our hotel and the positiv feedback given on our services. We are very lucky that you felt comfortable with our services. With best regards The whole team of the Grand City Hotel Hamburg Mitte
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&M from Scotland

Clean & Comfortable

Posted Apr 25, 2013
Pros: Very clean modern room, if a tad small. The shower was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: There was only 1 chair in the bedroom, so the end of the bed is very worn with people sitting on it. 2 Single duvets on a double bed. No fridge.
Location: A little off the beaten track. One stop from central station, but absolutely NO restaurants/cafes/bars in the area.
We choose this hotel because it looked modern and near the port area with lots of interesting things down there. The exterior of the hotel is a little disappointing, but then it's technically an office block with the hotel on the top floors. The room was modern, just a little small, and the bathroom was the smallest we've seen, though very nice. There is however nowhere to put toiletries other than use a shelf in the wardrobe. The staff were very friendly and helpful which was a real plus. They even left a small bottle of bubbly and a birthday greeting in the room for me on my birthday, which was a lovely surprise after a long day sightseeing. The walk from Hammerbrook Station to the hotel along the canal is ok to do during the day, but after dark feels a little unsafe due to the winos. We recommend that staying here you are prepared to do a fair bit of walking to get to the sights so wear sensible shoes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Kinda out of the way, but cozy rooms

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
There is a bus stop right outside which makes getting into the center of the city easy. The rooms are very modern (nice rain shower) and comfortable. They also have pretty nice views. There is not much around the neighborhood, but the price was so low it is worth taking a cab home or waiting for a bus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by meghan

NOISEY!!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The service was amazing. The staff was helpful and friendly. THE WORST PROBLEM was the hotel is NOT sound proof at all. One night of our stay, there was a party a block over that was playing music VERY LOUD, so loud it was like we were listening to it in our 12th floor room. We could also here all the traffic down below too. Other than that the hotel room was small but worked and the bathroom were AWESOME!!! the floors are heated and mirror is fog resistant. overall the room was okay.