Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Good Hotel but old

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Our room needed upgrading, it's definitely been outdated. Staff was about ok. They were a bit rude to my fiancé. Location however is grand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dunc from UK

Great hotel in a residential/unverisity setting

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Wi-fi connectivity
Location: Wonderful walk into the city centre, mingle with the crowds, eat cheap or expensive (mostly expensive). Visit the main train station, brilliant
Fantastic hotel, staff and ambiance. Great art throughout the hotel with a chance to buy some of the reproductions. Rooms are first class in all aspects and very quiet even a t busy times, the 5 star is well deserved and would go back again, not cheap but a fantastic place to "push out the boat" even better if the business is paying!! Hope to get get back one day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by businesstraveller50 from New York

Old world, but a little old - needs a refurbishing

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant, but a little tired. It is more of a convention hotel than a luxurious getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A 5-star hotel with perhaps a 4* look to it. But excellent value for the price and in comparison to other high-end hotels in Hamburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jensen from Flensburg

Fantastic Hotel in a fantastic City

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Janet from London

Attentive and accommodating staff

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Sadly my first non-smoking room reeked of smoke but my room was changed immediately without fuss. Asked for a room with a bath so was disappointed to get a room with a shower but in every other detail this hotel is great. Great new restaurant around the corner, Henriks. Highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2014 by LSCHL, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, thank you very much for your feedback . It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you didn't get your preferred room at once but are happy that a quick solution was found. Hopefully we can welcome you at the Grand Elysée again soon, and that you have the perfect stay next time in a room with a bathtub. Please be assured that we always try to find the best room to mathch our guests wishes. With kind regards, The Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

One of my favorite hotels in Hamburg.

Posted Nov 3, 2013
I have always enjoyed this hotel and its location. The main negative I have - and this time it was a real issue due to pressing business matters - is that the in room wifi is extremely slow. I have stayed in hotels in Havana, Cuba, where one has faster page down-loads. The other issue which irks is no in room coffee service. Hate having to hunt down and pay a fortune for a couple of cups of coffee when I get up.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2014 by LSCHL, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. Nice to hear that you enjoy the stays at the Grand Elysée Hamburg. Regarding your feedback to the in room wifi we are very sorry that you had to face some difficulties. We have noticed the problem in a few rooms and our technicians are already working on it. Additionally our guests have the possibility to purchase high speed internet for 4.50€ a day or you can always contact our staff in case you encounter any difficulties. Thank you again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you again as a guest of the Grand Elysée Hamburg. With kind regards, The Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by colin from widnes cheshire

Very good hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Stayed there for 5 weeks on business . Extremely well run, clean hotel, excellent breakfast, swimming pool and sauna very good !! You would not be able to fault it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Central Florida

Well-located hotel with excellent facilitities.

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: Add a clock radio?
Perhaps the best European hotel in which I have stayed in some twenty years of traveling fairly regularly overseas. Modern, quiet and convenient to the Metro (and thus to the Hauptbahnhof, as well). Located in a pleasant (and stimulating) neighborhood adjacent to the University of Hamburg. Breakfast is excellent, and the buffet quite diversified. The staff is fluent in English and, more importantly, knowledgeable about the city shops and services in general, not just the tourist attractions and fancy restaurants. On the other hand, I would not think of this as a luxury hotel. One is buying quality, not flamboyance.