Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swindon,England

Location excellent Great atmoshphere

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Hotel guidance provided in English also
Location: Miniature museum Nice restaurant in Rathouse Boat trips on the lake
This hotel is in a beautiful location at the edge of the lake. Transport to City Centre a few minutes round the corner. As well as mini bar and snacks the hotel also provided kettle and tea/coffee -a first for any of our stays in Europe Staff couldn't have been more friendly/ helpful. Our safe malfunctioned and was fixed striaght away. Would definitely recommend this .notel to any visitor to Hamburg My husband was particularly enamoured by the lift
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A noble place a bit far from downtown

Posted Jun 14, 2014
A great place, if you don't need to be right in the middle of downtown -- walkable or bikable to the city center, but a bit far. We loved staying there; the breakfast was great, and the staff are fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monjit from Bangalore

Nice hotel near the lake.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent.
1910 make lift adds to the character of the hotel. Proximity to public transport system (train stations) is an issue, else a great place. Go for it!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Len

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended.

Posted Feb 26, 2012
Pros: Original Wooden lift
Cons: n/a
Location: right next to the lake
Really nice hotel with original, authentic features. Very friendly and helpful staff. greta location opposite the lake. I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Not four star for me

Posted Sep 19, 2011
Bedroom was very small with tiny shower room built into the room. No kettle provided in the room and I had to go and ask for one. Quilt cover provided was too small for the bed and had to go and ask for another. Service received on these occasions not as good as it should have been. Breakfast was limited in scope but what there was was good quality. Quite a long walk to the city but I knew this when I booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julie from Aberdeenshire

Quaint little hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2011
What a beautiful little hotel, very quaint. We had an old fashioned stove in our room, must origionally have been part of an appartment kitchen and our flooring was mosaic, shame the bed covered some of it. The lift was out of an old fashioned movie and features were lovely, eg. stained glass, iron work, tiled flooring, ceilings. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast offers great selection. Only disappointments were lack of access to any gym facilities, which were included in expedia description (but running along the Alster is very popular, at all hours) and information on trips and tours, again stated in hotel decription, we were referred to central station for everything when we could have just walked up the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Location, location, location

Posted May 17, 2010
We can't really fault the hotel itself. We took one of the "deluxe" rooms so cannot comment on the "standard" accommodation (all of which had sold out by the time we booked). Our room was quite impressive - very large room with seating area, high ceiling, large bathroom and a large balcony overlooking the lake (albeit over main road and through the trees). Good if not "over the top" breakfast buffet. Only two minor issues - at times the hotel seemed a little short-staffed, and the safe in our room malfunctioned during our stay (though it was replaced promptly). Our main issue (and there's nothing that can be done about this) was with the location of the hotel. It's by the lake and in a decent area, but it is a good mile and more from the centre of town (and on the "wrong" side of town from the point of view of most of the obvious tourist attractions). It is too far to walk into town consistently, but the nearest underground is also about a 10 minute walk (in the wrong direction) though there is a bus route somewhat nearer. The travelling to and fro does take a bit of a chunk out of the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted May 5, 2010
Hotel Alsterblick was perfectly situated in a beautiful neighborhood, just across the street from the lake. Staff was pleasant and helpful, and we especially appreciated the gentleman on duty the morning we left, who prepared a lovely breakfast for us -- at 4:30 AM! That was above and beyond expectation, and very much enjoyed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We dont recommend the hotel to non-German speaking guests

Posted Oct 24, 2009
We were not impressed with the service of the hotel. I booked the hotel because it is next to the lake & was expecting a view of it but what we've got was a basement room with not much view. The staff, although were friendly & professional, couldnt speak/understand much English. Housekeeping was not impressive with. 1st morning after we arrived, the mugs we used the night before were not washed and replaced. 2nd morning we had no mugs!! and had to go & get some at the reception. We dont recommend this hotel to potential visitors who dont speak German.