Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Hamburg Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Solid small business hotel 5-10 minutes walk from the train station. Nice room, good shower, good internet. Breakfast not included (at least for me) but worth what I paid, with a broad selection of hot and cold items. No elevator if you have mobility issues or heavy luggage. Helpful friendly staff. To walk to the hotel, have to go through parts of what is obviously a small red light district (common near train stations in Europe) but never felt not safe, even later in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

Lovely restored boutique hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: We loved the decor of the hotel and the tasteful updating
Cons: If possible air conditioning units or even overhead fans would be a worthwhile addition when the temperatures soar.
Location: You can walk or bike the the botanical gardens and around the lake as well as walk to the port and through the upscale shopping districts of the city
We loved the hotel although the weather was very hot and there was no air conditioning . The staff was kind enough to provide us with a fan to deal with the heat in the room. I would advise requesting a room at the back of the hotel as there was construction starting very early in the mornings making it very difficult to sleep. The breakfast was excellent, well worth the added cost. We walked to all the sites in the city and found some interesting restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Global traveler from Oslo

Excellent choice in Hamburg close to railway

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
An exceptionally good hotel with unbeatable price/value ratio. Rooms are tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. Modern, nice bathrooms. Free wifi, minibar in room and fantastic breakfast. We came from an overnight flight, and the hotel was kind enough to let us check in early. Will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Constant traveller

Good central location, tucked away in quiet street

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Location Location Location - quiet location just off the main street. Sure it is a semi-red light district with night time characters but HH is safe.
Very efficient friendly check-in. Nicely laid out room with large shower. Heater was turned up and couldn't be controlled - but found by opening the window the balance was good. Big desk, good cupboards, decent TV. Nicely refurbished. Internet for free through LAN1. I'm a regular traveller to Hamburg and this place is recommended as quite a well priced property - actually, probably a very well priced cosy place - some of the equivalent places at a similar price lack character - this place has plenty of character but is fully refurbished. Stay there, good idea :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BlackByNature from Cheshire, UK

Best small hotel ever!

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: Staff, food, comfort, cleanliness
Location: By day, it has an ethnic influence and there are some nice cafes/restaurants, it feels safe. At night it feels less safe as it gets a bit busier.
Really nice small hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. The City House hotel is located in a small side-street 5-10 minutes walk from the central station and bus station. The hotel was very welcoming, the lounge area is small, but it isn't a large hotel. The breakfast area is very nice and light. The food was excellent - a good selection of good quality, meats cheeses, salmon, breads, eggs, bacon etc. The breakfast area gets busy and the staff work hard to get you sat and eating quickly if you do have to wait. Once sat then breakfast is unrushed and realaxed. The honesty bar and mini-bar prices are very reasonable - 1.5 Euros for a beer, 2 euros for "a finger" of whisky ("Please don't use your thumb") This isn't the most modern of hotels, it is part of a chain, but feels more like a family hotel. I couldn't fault anything to do with this hotel. The area of Hamburg where it is situated isn't the greatest. During the day it is fine, it has an ethnic influence and there are some nice cafes/restaurants, it feels safe to walk around. At night time the atmosphere changes a little as some of the bars and the sex shop gain a few sex workers, it still feels fairly safe to walk around, but you may not want to stop or linger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wipeout from Monaco

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great and service friendly, definitely will be back in the future. Location is in a bit "shady" area, but nothing to worry about. About 5 min to the central train station. Would recommend the hotel any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2013
good hotel over achived exspectation.Go there 111111111111111111111111
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Graham

Great hotel in a slight strange area

Posted Jan 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I recommend this hotel highly and we'd definitely come back. The hotel was faultless, great large rooms, very comfortable, friendly staff and the library bar is perfect for a pre dinner drink. The area however is a bit rubbish with a few "dodgy" shops on the main road, but saying that, just a 5 minute walk and you've got loads of nice cafes, restaurants and bars. That Hamburg in a nutshell really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, felt exactly like a city house.

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: It felt more like a house than a hotel, very comfortable to stay in.
Cons: Breakfast prices.
Location: The walk to the hotel is a bit uncomfortable, but is located on a nice quiet street.
Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a long weekend at the beginning of December 2012. We both read a couple of reviews beforehand and were worried about the area. From the central station you have about 4 mins before you get to the hotel. Its located in the turkish district so you basically walk through a street full of kebab shops, sex shops and internet cafe before you reach the quiet street that the hotel resides on. The hotel is in my opinion gorgeous, it is only small but is very querky and classy. Being a young couple we felt a little out of place but not uncomfortable. We even sat and had a drink in the sitting room. Breakfast was great but maybe a little pricey at 11euro per person. Overall very clean, well maintained hotel. This hotel will make you smile all the way through.