Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Gary from Dallas, Tx / Hannover, Germany

Nice Hotel with a theme-park feel.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Attractive, newer property with nice facilities and location.
Cons: Improve the Air Conditioning in the rooms so that they are able to maintain proper room temperatures.
Location: 10-15 minute taxi to the Airport.
The hotel seems to have been built within the past few years. Rooms are themed toward exotic animals and locations. The property is adjacent to the Hamburg Zoo and close to the Airport. If you visit in the summer months, be prepared to be uncomfortable. The room AC units are set at 25C/77F and can only be adjusted 3 degrees cooler. Unfortunately, the AC units appear to be undersized or poorly maintained. The rooms never cool off. I visited the property for one night with 3 colleagues and we all had the same problem in our separate rooms. No one could get the room cooler than 76F. Although we all complained at the front desk, they acted surprised to each of us, as if they never heard that issue before...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Louchar from UK

Hagenbeck home

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stay here a lot for work, staff are always helpful and friendly, rooms are large and comfortable (I prefer the 'Asia' rooms to 'Africa'). Restaurant serves very good food inc local Hamburg specialties Location isn't the best, unless you plan to go to the zoo, but metro station is only a couple minutes walk from where you can get to most of the main area withing 10-15 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian M from Birmingham uk

Different in a nice way

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
African theme a little off the wall and different but in a nice way. Menu a little limited but excellent quality, will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Veteran traveler from Chicago

unexpected charges

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were shocked about the extra expenses during our stay. For instance, breakfast at the hotel dining room was not included in the cost of the room, but was three times as expensive as at nearby restaurants. Internet access in the room, free at most hotels, was also expensive. The "Business Center" consisted of an old, excruciatingly slow computer on a table next to the reception desk in the lobby. Finally, charges for local phone calls from the room were ridiculously high. A couple of other noteworthy surprises: no door to the bathroom, and no way to adjust the thermostat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Massachusetts

Excellent Hotel - A little out of the way

Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Spotlessly clean. Beautiful decor. 3-5 minute walk to U-Bahn. Comfortable, but almost sterile. No easily accessible from the airport, you have to take 3 different trains. Also it is not centrally located... positive side is a quite, less busy location, negative side is a short 15-20 commute to the center of town. Staff was great! Restaurant food was top notch, but pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2013 by Engels, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased to read that we were able to convince you with our staff and food. Surely, our hotel is not located in the center of Hamburg, but as you have mentioned it takes 15 minutes to get there. The train station ist located right in front of the hotel. Best regards, Fabian Engels&Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A very well presented hotel, but no toothbrush?

Posted May 12, 2013
This is an excellent hotel, very well pleasant, and almost deserve more than a 4star rating. Having said that, I expected a 4-star hotel to provide toothbrush, etc in the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Cons: Paying for WiFi
Location: Great location only a block away from the U-Bahn.
Everything was fantastic other then $10/day for WiFi that would only work with one device.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The 2nd Trip

Posted Apr 9, 2013
2nd time visiting in 6mths,says it all,great hotel and trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel for anybody.

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Evreything about the hotel was great,will be going to stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels.com