Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gatineau, Québec

Very clean! Good value.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: As I said, it was very clean and our room was very quiet. We were not facing the street.
Cons: It would be reat if the restaurant offered meals for lunch and dinner.
Location: It is very close to the train station. We found a great little pub nearby, but we did not find much else to do in that area.
The hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful. The neighborhood was not very good. We didn't feel safe to walk at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mafrom hong kong

highly not recommendable

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel location is convenient but is too close to red light district. especially it was so hectic during night time where crowd people and cars are so annoying which made us unable to sleep well. since hotel does not have air-conditioner, we have to keep all windows opened for matter of coolness. most importantly, the hotel rate isn't cheap at all. the front desk staff are not friendly and helpful too. choosing this hotel is totally out of queston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robertfrom Vancouver

Design over service

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Got lured by the photos but the reality is different. Yes, the hotel has funky style but even that's wearing off ("city quarter" names of floors lettering is falling off, our door kept locking itself for no reason). Reception staff had no idea what a smile is and when I asked for in-room coffee packets that housekeeping did not top up, they politely looked but advised they had none (I understood that the coffee machine in the lobby is a trap by design and intent). The hotel is in a very multi-cultural environment, next to a mosque. That is not a problem, unless it happens to be Ramadan and it's 30 Celsius. No air-conditioning means open windows and listening to the late-night diners on the ground level and subsequent cleaning up until late. The street is generally busy too, so if you are a light sleeper, skip this hotel...there are plenty in the area and away from Steindamm. Finally, I only paid the four euro for the "welcome" water bottle just because they didn't forget to wake me up on my last day,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Petri Johanssonfrom Finland

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was good except that our room was way too hot. No air conditioning. Street is quite busy and noisy. Staff was very helpful, but garage was bit hard to find, and it was tight squeeze in even with small car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susanfrom Chicago

Great location, great value...no A/C?!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Design, helpful staff.
Cons: No A/C. Tiny bathroom shower.
Location: In St. Georg, lots of restaurants. Shopping nearby near the Hbf.
The hotel was nice, clean and accommodating. Great value for the cost. My only "but" is this: our room had no A/C. We were on the first floor (2nd floor for you North Americans), facing the street, and it was very loud! However, once you shut the windows it was quiet. This issue wasn't a big deal for us because it was cool weather during our visit so we could shut the windows. I just am saying this as a warning for warm weather month visitors. Apparently no A/C is common in Europe, so I might be a big baby. So if you don't care, this hotel was great and I would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Susan, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Hotel DAS. We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards, DAS Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tmylondonfrom london

Modern hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The room is very nicely design and everything is functioning well.
Cons: I was disappointed with the bed and pillows, quality can be improve. The shower curtain is an issue, and no fridge?
Location: Lots of Kebab shops nearly by but just a 10 minutes walk, you will find some good restaurants and cafés.
Located about 7 minutes walk from the Central Station, surrounded by lots of Turkish restaurants, kebab shops and sex shops. Hotel stuffs need customer service training, during my 3 nights stay only one time a male staff actually greet me when I walk in to the hotel lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom newquay, england

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Great location. Good value, friendly staff
Cons: The TV had a couple of English TV channels including BBC news 24 however a couple more channels would be great,
Location: Great for the city center and the train station
This hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the central station. The staff are very pleasant and the rooms are nice and in good condition. The showers were hot and powerful and the rooms warm. Would stay there again when we visit hamburg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brianfrom newquay, england

Great location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Great location. Good value, friendly staff
Cons: The TV had a couple of English TV channels including BBC news 24 however a couple more channels would be great,
Location: Great for the city center and the train station
This hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the central station. The staff are very pleasant and the rooms are nice and in good condition. The showers were hot and powerful and the rooms warm. Would stay there again when we visit hamburg