Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent location within the centre of the city.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The staff efficiency.
Location: The city square nearby is thriving with activity and is nearby.
The staff ,particularly at the reception, were excellent, well trained and exceedingly helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Hotel, conveniently located without AC.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: There is an excellent bakery for breakfast just 100 meters from the hotel and a free internet cafe just 50 meters!!
Cons: AIR CONDITIONER and free internet
Location: Hotel, conveniently located. Near the historic center of the city. You can easily walk to the main historical sites.
In summer it is impossible to sleep without air conditioner. not have internet access in the rooms, for the price they charge is a weakness of the hotel. But the worst part of this hotel is not air conditioner. It's a nightmare in summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Anneke Heuer, Hotel Management
Dear German, we thank you so much for staying at the Renaissance Hamburg Hotel and your time to share your feedback with all travellers and us. Unfortunately your stay experience was not as positive as we also wished for you due to the unusually high temperatures here in Hamburg that you could also feel in the room. Additionally our internet and breakfast offer could not meet your expectations. As our property was perfectly located for your discoveries in Hamburg, we hope that you will stay with us again and have the opportunity to try our alternative breakfast à la carte offers in the Broscheks Restaurant and the Bricks Bar. It is ideal for guests, who only want to have for expample a croissant and coffee, some muesli with fruits or eggs and toast, and it is a perfect start into a new exciting day in Hamburg. We thank you again for sharing your impressions and look forward to a future visit. Until then I wish you all the best. Kindest regards, Nina Eggers (Director of Operations)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Decent hotel, but...

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Decent hotel, but we felt nickled and dimed to death. Why would a prestigious hotel like the Renaissance charge for wifi? And 20 euros for breakfast? That, and the air conditioning never got below borderline warm. The rest of my 2-week vacation was spent at no-name hotels with complimentary breakfast and wifi, and much less expensive than this place. On the other hand, the lobby staff were excellent, so no fault there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Anneke Heuer, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am truely sorry to hear that you felt that our pricing for breakfast and internet was not reasonable and therefor affected your overall impression of your stay. On top of that we are experiencing an almost tropical hot summer here in Hamburg ,which led to aircondition issues .and I am sorry you felt so uncomfortable. I can assure you that I will pass on your compliments regarding our excellent lobby staff., they are already much appreciated! I hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future! Yours sincerely, Nina Eggers Director of Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great location near central train station

Posted Jul 10, 2014
The room delivered as promised in the hotel description. Perfect location, short walk to the train station, plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. Wonderful breakfast buffet available that was worth the extra money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the middle of twon

Posted Jun 18, 2014
I stayed one day - very efficient, nice breakfast, room quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by André from Nr. London

A great Hamburg Hotel.

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great great great. Staff were really helpful offering help as to how to get around and handing out maps and the room was fantastic. The area is a fashionable district and a very short subway ride from the central railway station. I will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Oursmalladventure from Devon UK

Disabled review, great hotel and location

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hamburg was simply stunning, another complete suprise. We felt swanky in the hotel Rennaisance who put us in the Junior Deluxe suite with complimentary parking, wifi and huge fruit platter. Thank you to Inger for your letter wishing us well on our journey, we really appreciated the luxury that the hotel provided! We were straight out on the balcony and my PA 'starfished' across her own kingside bed, everyone was happy! The room was huge giving me plenty of space for the hoist, the photo doesn't do it any justice and I couldn't fit in the dressing area and hallway into the photo! As the suite wasn't an accessible one I don't think it's necessary for me to comment on the bathroom but just know that there wasn't a wetroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Suds from London

Cosy but pricy

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I got a free upgrade to a suite However the hotel is showing its age and is expensive.no swimming spa which should be standard when you charge a lot.overall good but look around you might find a better deal in Hamburg
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com