Ratings based on 1,037 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Eine sehr kurze Aufenhalt nur um in einem Abendessen teilnehmen zu können
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hannover

Hier bezahlt man nur für den Namen!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Die große Auswahl an Säften beim Frühstücksbuffet und ein sehr nettes Personal. Eine sehr gute Lage mitten im Herzen von Hamburg.
Cons: Für diese Zimmer einen angemessenen Preis nehmen. Ich hätte für dieses Zimmer nicht mehr als 70 Euro die Nacht bezahlt. (Lage war sehr gut)
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt in Hamburg und es sind 5 Gehminuten in die Innenstadt und 10 Gehminuten zum Hafen.
Der Aufenthalt in diesem Hotel war ein Weihnachtsgeschenk an meine Schwester. Ich habe das Steigenberger über Expedia gebucht und wir freuten uns schon lange auf dieses Wochenende. Wir sind zu 3 gereist und hatten hohe Erwartungen an ein solch "gutes" Haus. Uns war es sehr wichtig, ein Zimmer für 3. Personen zu haben und das Steigenberger preiste dies auch an. Ein Zimmer für maximal 3 Personen im Kingsize-Bett. Wir erwarteten ein großes Bett für 3 Personen. Als wir unser Zimmer betraten stand dort ein normales Bett, plus Zustell-bett (wie in der Jugendherberge). Ich muss dazu anmerken, dass ich selber 1,80 m groß bin und von der Länge her nicht in dieses Zustell-bett gepasst habe. Nachdem der erste Schock vorüber war, komme ich nun zu den weiteren Mängeln. - Die Vorhänge hatten überall Löcher und Flecken - Der Föhn ca. anno 1990 benötigte nach jedem Gebrauch 10-15 Minuten Erholung (bei 3 Frauen unpassend) - Das Zimmer war wie ein gewöhnliches 2-3 Sterne Hotel ausgestattet (kein Luxus, nichts besonderes) - Der Schrank war Kaputt - Die Brötchen und das Brot waren Steinhart und ungenießbar Nachdem ich mich an der Rezeption beschwert hatte, entschuldigte sich die Dame von der Rezeption und meinte, dies wäre ein Fehler von Expedia. Expedia hat nicht angegeben: 1 Bett plus Zustell-bett. Sie müssen sich das einmal vorstellen, da bucht man eine Nacht im Steigenberger plus Frühstück und zahlt über EUR 300 und erwartet ein wenig Luxus. Steigenberger nie wieder!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

We had a great stay. The staff was very welcoming

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We will stay again in this wonderful hotel. We enjoyed every moment. You made us feel special....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Very nice hotel directly on the river with excellent service (all speak English if needed) and terrific hotel indoor/outdoor restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing for 5 Star

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Expedia had a good deal for the stay plus flight.
Cons: Needs to be refurbished from reception through to the rooms. Staff should honor bookings made.
Location: Location is okay, near transport, shops and harbour.
Booked king size bed double room through expedia and advised late arrival, but we were given a room with 2 'emergency' beds that were old and looked like they were moved around a lot. Apparently the huge hotel was fully booked so we could not change. Complained again next morning with more luck and moved to a normal room. Still, the furniture is "early 90's practical" and uninspiring, service so so, and the whole ambience leaves a lot to be desired. A good 3 star option but nowhere near 5 star luxury rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington, USA

A nice hotel.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: The view, location and cleanliness.
Cons: The menu offers very little for vegetarians.
Location: Picturesque & convenient central location to walk to shopping & tour areas, as well the Ubahn/Sbahn. Lovely restaurant options steps from the door.
The location is excellent. The staff exceeds Hamburg standards, they balance friendly helpfulness with professionalism. The rooms are very clean, the beds are quite comfortable, the lighting is good, the full bath is a wonderful touch and the sound-proofing is very well done. The standard rooms are designed to appeal to the business traveler staying only one perhaps two nights. The furnishings are minimal with just the basic chair, bed and desk furnishings. Having stayed at many of the 4-5 star hotels in Hamburg city center I can say this hotel cost is not competitive to surrounding hotels, many of which cost significantly less but offer equal or sometimes improved room comforts such as personal in-room tea/coffee service, balcony's and comfortable seating areas. However I will note typically I am traveling for pleasure and stay for longer durations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend of Lacrosse

Posted May 30, 2015
The only thing missing was a swimming pool and a kettle
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentral, aber das Geld nicht wert!

Posted May 26, 2015
Für über 200 eur die Nacht hätte ich mir mehr Komfort gewünscht. Das Zimmer ist sehr groß. Es bietet jedoch keine zusätzlichen Extras was das Geld rechtfertigen würde. In der Badewanne war der Wasserhahn lose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

利便性はいい

Posted May 25, 2015
ホテルの場所は駅から近く中心地にも行きやすいです。しかし、5星ということで多少高くてもいいかと思いましたがスタッフの対応に少し不満がありました。ロビーの椅子が汚れていてズボンのクリーニングをお願いしましたが乾燥でき無いとのことで結局自分の部屋のドライヤーで乾かしました。また、部屋にコーヒーくらいあればいいかと思いました。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rheinfelden - D

Gutes Hotel zentral gelegen

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: ziemlich zentrale Lage, Wintergarten und Freisitz.
Location: Zentral, Landungsbrücken, Hafen City, Fischmarkt, gute Restaurants, Einkaufen
Hotel wie bereits erwähnt i.O. Service freundlich. Nachtessen: fauler Salat im Teller