Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: It would be great if there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
Very easy to find, good location close to restaurants and the river. Bedroom and bathroom very clean and well serviced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anna from UK

Nice basic hotel near to amenities

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Central. 30 minutes from airport. Lots of restaurants near by. Good, basic hotel.
Cons: Wi fi connection not great but it didn't bother us much
Hotel is by the harbour, 10-15 minute walk to Miniature W. 3 minute walk from underground station and lots of good (but same price as in Uk) restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Mike from London

Convenient location near the harbour.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: See my comments above.
Location: Near the harbour at Landungsbrucken for sightseeing and cruises.
I stayed at this hotel two years ago and it has deteriorated since then. I booked a double room with single occupancy and was given a single room until I gave the receptionist my confirmation to identify his mistake. The double room was on the 4th floor and the lifts were not working. The bed was overdue being replaced as it was like a soft sponge. The dirty towels were not replaced for my second night's stay. Overall, I was very disappointed and will choose a different hotel when I next visit Hamburg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MO from London

GREAT HOTEL.......BUT NO LIFT!!

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: It was very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the breakfast room.
Cons: It needs a lift. We were on the 2nd Floor and taking our cases up was a bit of a drag, as was bringing them down on the last morning.
Location: It is ideally located for the harbour tours and the Old Elbe Tunnel and very easy to get to the centre of town by train.
The Stella Maris is a lovely little hotel in a good position near both the S and the U Bahn. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is really worth paying the 9 Euros each for the breakfast as the service is quick and friendly and the food is good and there is lots of choice and offers of fresh hot coffee. The rooms are comfortable and look like they have been recently refurbished. There is a free safe in the room and a TV, but no English language channels. There is no fridge or telephone to reception. If you go to reception they are quick and helpful and you can buy cold drinks (including beer) from reception. There is no bar, but a very comfortable lounge. It is in the Portuguese/Spanish quarter so there are some really good Italian restaurants in the next street. Especially Nello, which was very good. It is really good value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by TMS from London

Bad Service

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bad service, unfriendly staff, basic rooms, price/quality not worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KateT from UK

Good value 3 star

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: Clean and good computer facilities
Cons: Noise in the area if the windows are open
Location: Great location for exploring Hamburg and lots of cafes/restaurants etc.
This hotel is good value for a 3 star. Very clean, good facilities for internet, free maps and within easy walking distance of the S-Bahn. The only issue we had was with the noise in the general area which was exacerabated due to the fact that the windows had to be open since it was very hot and the hotel has no airconditioning or fans available. Thus we got very little sleep due to builders working on the next door building, dustbin men, scooters, traffic etc. So if you are a light sleeper and want to have a window open at any time of year then think carefully before selecting this (or any other location in a city centre) hotel. The hotel is very close to lots of restaurants, cafes etc so decide if you want to pay for breakfast when you get there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Geoff from UK

Great hotel, not so great receptionist

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have stayed at this hotel before, and it is a lovely hotel in a great location.The only thing I would advise an improvement in is the attitude of the receptionist.Very cold and unsmiling. As the first impression of any hotel is usually when you check in, then the excellent hotel deserves a better and more friendly welcome to be given to its guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carlos

Excellent location, but don't go there if it's hot

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Location, excellent breakfast for the price (9 €)
Cons: A/C (if this can't be done, fans!)
Location: It's really in the middle of everything: take the ferries at Landungsbruecke, walk to Hafen city or to downtown, have a portuguese meal.
Nice hotel, cute maritime decoration, absolutely great location (steps from Landungsbruecke and in the middle of the Portuguese quarter), however... I was there during a hot spell in mid-june and the hotel has NO air-conditioning... and since you can only crack the windows open, it was impossible to sleep. I asked for a fan at the reception but there was none.