Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

not recommended for summer

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Location: nothing to do nearby, but close to train station.
For the first time, in the middle of my stay I really want to switch to a different hotel. There is no AC and it is too hot for me to sleep, if I open the window it does not help, and it becomes even more noisy (since it faces a highway). Finally at 2:30am in the morning, I called the front desk, and the guy there is very nice and lend me a fan. I asked him if there is another room I can switch to which is at least more quiet, he said there is really no difference since other rooms facing the train tracks! and the bathroom is really small, there is no room for a tub but a shower. The TV and fridge are outdated. I have not seen those old style TV and fridge in the states even in a motel in USA. The only good thing is it is close to a train station Berline Tor (5 min walk). Also it used to be the Berline Hotel, so at the airport the taxi driver only recognize berline hotel, not Wyndham. Overall the staff is nice, the room is clean, but the facility is outdated, and do not stay here in Summer!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Hamburg

Close to subway

Posted Jun 2, 2014
It was a quiet area with a subway station just around the corner to take us to St-Pauli.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your rating. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel area. We hope once again welcome you to be our guests. Best regards Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DONT GO!

Posted May 22, 2014
Staff was very un-friendly, older women was saying something about me in German. They ripped me off, told me it was $160 US for an additional night ended up being 160 Euros ($232 US). I will NEVER go back, just about to file a complaint with the US branch. (BEWARE)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we did not ripped you off. The rate you paid for the additional night was our daily rate on the 15th of may 2014. Our rates are determined by supply and demand and on this date to whole city of Hamburg was sold out and the demand was extremly high. As you stayed in Germany all rates we are offering are quoted in our local currancy which is the Euro.We regret that this is the reason that you were not satisfied with our performance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Comfy beds. The room was nicely re-done.
Cons: There wasn't anyway we could figure out how to turn off the towel heater and it made the room too warm.
The twin beds were small, but very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly. The hotel isn't in the best location but very close to the S Bahn and U Bahn which was great. You can also walk into town if you want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your assessment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our comfortable twin beds as well as our close location to the city centre. Best regards Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The hotel is next to Berliner Tor, which is connected to all the main stations. the area is also beautiful, with plenty of things to do. And the hotel is very comfortable with great staff. Totally recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the service of the house. We look forward to your return visit.Best regards Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Norma from Kelowna B.C. Canada

Close to train station

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Good location, friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Big grocery store, like a Superwalmart near by. 20 min. Walk to central station.
We stayed in this hotel for 5 days. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good, with lots of variety to please anyone. There are renovations going on but they never bothered us. You can hear trains going by, but the windows had pull down shutters for noise dampening. The shower set up might bother some people, but it was fine for us. It was a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our hotel. Thank you for your positive rating for our breakfast buffet, and our location. We hope to see you soon again, best regards your Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ElviriaL from Spain

Great location for airport and city

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very convenient - it is 2 mins away from a major U and S Bahn station, so an easy 25 mins from the airport, or 5 into the town centre. It was walking distance too, but you get free transport with the Hamburg Card! Comfortable room, nice bed, good blinds on the windows. Breakfast is 13 Euro per person, which is a bit steep, but lots of complimentary fresh fruit on reception and good pastries at the nearby stations sorted us out!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2014 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your rating. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our room and our hotel. We hope once again welcome you to be our guests. Best regards Wyndham Garden Hamburg City Centre Berliner Tor
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Arda from London

Average quality of rooms; great location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, Service and location.
Cons: Temperature control, Room condition, TV and remote!
Location: Very close to Berliner tor station ( 2 mins walk) and good connection to central station and other parts of the city. Safe area and very quite.
i stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is very close to station and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. i was given a room in the first floor and it had smoking rooms. i was not aware of this and being a non-smoker, i had to get my room changed because the smoke smell was unbearable. The rooms in the first floor are in terrible condition, dirty carpets, very cramped small rooms, the pillows were bad and the room temperature was too warm. The TV and the remote were very old and i could hardly figure out the buttons in the remote. After the staff changed my room to a non-smoking floor, the rooms were newly decorated and to my pleasant surprise, the rooms were in top condition. Rooms in the 3rd floor look like the photos in the website! Very good breakfast and the staff are very helpful and provide an excellent service. Overall, the experience for the first two nights was terrible but it got better the last night after they gave me a good room in the 3rd floor. i will stay again because its value for money (if i am given a room in the 3rd floor!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com