Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Fredfrom New Plymouth

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is basic and in places a bit jaded but as long as you are ready for that it has everything you want - HD TV, coffee/tea, off road parking, and for my $89 I got double bed, single bed, couch, kitchen with microwave, shower/toilet/handbasin. The reception was helpful and the location is ok. It was clean and tidy. You get what you pay for and this gives you waht you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tauranga, New Zealand

Alcamo

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Spa bath
Cons: Difficulty getting ins me out of bath
Location: Gd location central close to stadium
Clean tidy room, pay for what you get. Happy with what the room provided. No sky tv which was a little disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Cheap
Location: Good for rugby
This place has seen its day, needs a total refit. Rooms are old, shower is wired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wendyfrom Bellevue

Wonderful spa bath.

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The only real complaint was that the restaurant was supposed to be open Mon-Sat, we stayed Sat nite and went to have dinner and it was closed. Change the signage perhaps?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

a bit funny...but in a good way

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Check in was smooth and very informative of the room's...unique features...like antique space age lighting. There's a pool! Looked clean but didn't use it. There was a bar! But it seemed deserted, the one beer I bought there was expired and they seemed confused to see another human. Overall, sweet bath tub win us over. Seriously, get the jet tub.
2 out of 5
by Scottfrom Napier

Disappointing

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: Handy location
Cons: As above
Location: Handy
It was uncomfortable. The room was drafty and cold. We needed the heater on full all the time and overnight on mid heat. There was no sink to fill the jug and it wouldn't fit under the tap in the bathroom basin, so good thing we had a bath to fill the jug from bath taps. Both drinking glasses were dirty with something pink and sticky inside the bottom of them. The bathroom wall between the tiles were dirty and mouldy. A third of one curtain had snapped off it's hooks and was just hanging there, looked tacky. It was all very outdated and disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Weekend spot - good value

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good value for money, the spa bath is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by TCfrom Taranaki

Great location for rugby.

Posted Apr 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The people at reception was very friendly and helpful. Hotel walking distance to rugby stadion. Bedroom very spacious but the bathroom was horrible with a Jacuzzi (you are not allowed to use it) for a shower tub. Older people can't use it at all and younger people must be careful to get in and out. The whole section we stayed in need a lot of work. Compared to other places I stayed in the last year, it's also overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gavin Mfrom NZ

Good hotel for the price

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quick & easy check in. Manager very friendly. Rooms are standard quality for this level of hotel. I stayed before the easter weekend through to Saturday but the kitchen was never open for food. Its at the end of the Hamilton motel strip so about 8 minutes walk up the road to the start of the Hamilton CBD shopping & food strip & petrol station for snacks. Plenty of parking if you bring your car. Was certainly good value for the special price I paid :)
1 out of 5
by Charlesfrom Springfield, MO, USA

Avoid this one

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: See comments
Location: Right on hotel row
We booked this room after researching Expedia listed hotels. The pictures on Expedia as well as those shown in the Jason's guide appear to have been taken some years ago with little or no maintenance done since. The pictures in the guides of the hot tubs look way better than the one actually in our room which doubled as the shower. The hotel appeared to have about 10% occupancy on the night we were there which made it very uncomfortable. The room itself was clean but very, very dated and due to the lack of people there, uncleanliness of the lobby area and general grounds, we did not feel particularly safe there. The lobby clerk gave us our key and then locked the lobby up which seemed strange. There appear to be many more better options there on "hotel row".