Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Romford, Essex.

Lovely stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The landlady was lovely and took care of us from beginning to end. She was no nonsense so don't expect to push her around. She knows her business!
Location: Hotel is situated one street away from Southsea common. You are closer to Eastney beach than Clarence pier. Near Albert road for pubs and restaurants.
My wife and I stayed at Abbey Lodge for one night for a wedding. The owner was courteous at all times and made us feel very welcome. She was also extremely accommodating regarding a timing issue we had. The room had twin beds and was on the top floor. The room was clean, the sheets were beautifully laundered (not at all rough like some spurious commenters have said). We shared bathroom and toilet facilities with other guests but they were all clean and in good working order. Do not miss the breakfast which is freshly cooked every morning. The owner makes an effort to get real, fresh ingredients. The sausages are from the local butchers which I can vouch for, being a student in Portsmouth! Some of the decor is slightly dated. However, if you are more interested in what the door handles look like, I would suggest you get hold of your priorities. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christinefrom Brighton

Abbey Lodge

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice guest house. Friendly atmosphere.comfortable rooms.Good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ruth

Comfy bed

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a good nights sleep in comfy bed,and our room was clean and tidy.Breakfast was good .The only problem we had was parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joanne cookfrom southampton

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very noisy at night time cars going bye every 5 mins & people shouting in the streets could,nt sleep , for the bathroom there should be a warning sign,s going to the bathroom to mind the step into the bathroom & shower , on the breakfast we had to leave before 8.00am so we had to get some ceral bars to have for our breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
by J R DEWfrom WOLVERHAMPTON.

WELL SATISFIED.

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
FRIENDLY WELLCOME, GOOD HELPFUL ADVICE REGARDING AREA,GREAT BREAKFAST,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great for a short stay.

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely perfect fit what I needed and they kindly forwarded something I left behind too!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad, and disappointed

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Not much, sorry...
Cons: Plumbing, General appearance, bigger breakfast room....
Location: Can walk to the sea front, and nearby shopping areas. Kings theatre and quite a few pubs...
OLD, TIRED, plumbing inadequate. Dogs barked incessantly, doors slammed, very sad. Would not wish upon others...breakfast supposed to be award winning, but really quite average. We weren't expecting much, but were disappointed...
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom England

Portsmouth B & B

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: room facilities
Location: All the facilities of a coastal area of Southsea and Portsmouth
Our room was on the top storey of the three storey building, so it was expected that guests would be slim and very fit. Room description, whilst en suite did not have a shower, only a bath. Moving around the bedroom and bathroom was undertaken carefully because of limited head room. The floor boards creaked very badly in our rooms and also heard creaking floorboards in adjacent occupied room. Car parking although free and unrestricted was on nearby side streets with first come first served. The breakfast was good, timing very restricted between 8.00 and 9.00 am with limited space if hotel fully occupied.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Annefrom Swindon

Comfy bed

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fine. Hotel was clean and breakfast was excellent.