Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs Upgrading

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing except for the staff
Cons: Needs a total upgrade
Location: Alton is a bit of a dump and I would not want to spend much time there.
A very bad experience. In our first room the shower would not stay attached. We were given a new room but whilst taking a shower the water stopped flowing whilst I was covered in soap! The bed mattresses were sagging and the d├ęcor was old and dated. Apparently this hotel is up for Sale, we hope the new owner spends some money on it. It is very dated and needs a full upgrade. The staff were very concerned with our experience and were brilliant. They arranged a full refund via the agency Expedia. So many thanks to the staff for their concern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Value for money, with friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
My partner and I stayed for a night at Alton House Hotel, found it very comfortable,with friendly, helpful staff. Dined in the restaurant, which had a traditional pub grub menu. My stake was excellent, as was my partner's pork loin. As it was a very hot night, I rang down to reception to ask for an electric fan, the night porter said that unfortunately they were all taken, but he would have a look. About 30 minutes later he appeared at our door, fan in hand! This hotel may not be the most luxerious or chic, but for the price we paid, ite still a nice place to spend the night. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet doors

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Clean comfortable room,but no T making facilities in the room,otherwise pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable. Ageing gracefully

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Room excellent, top marks for cleanliness. Meals good. Once beautiful grounds now disappointing. Overall good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stroud

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decent beer on the bar.
Location: Located in the town centre very close to the railway station.
This hotel offered all that was required, ideally positioned comfortable room, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, good location in Alton.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice hotel, I only used some not all. of the facilities but all worked fine, I wasn't staying for the breakfast so can't comment on food quality. Otherwise all seemed very nice and well presented.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hotel in Alton

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Location, nice garden.
Cons: The beds are too soft, the place looks tired and needs re-decorating.
Attended a wedding at Froyle Park and needed somewhere locally to stay overnight. This was convenient for us, with free parking. Wi-fi a bit hit and miss. Buffet breakfast OK - small plates only available so you had to stack everything up rather than spread it around on a normal plate.
2 out of 5
by Prof from North London

We checked in but decided not to stay the night !!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: SHUT DOWN AND REFURBISH THE WHOLE PROPERTY... SIMPLE !!
I made mistake booking into a 3rd rate hotel... Entirely my fault ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alex b from bristol

good night sleep

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrived at 9:45pm, checked in quickly. very friendly check in assistant. room very nice, comfy bed. coffee not the best in the room but the tea was good. great nights sleep and set off early. no fuss. great!