Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Derby

The Worst Customer Service I have Ever Experienced

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Hotel lost our second room booking. So we had to find somewhere else for our son to stay. Then when we arrived they said they had found our room after all. We then had to insist they didn't charge for the second room. We got up to our room and the third bed for our daughter hadn't been made up. Never got an apology, never saw the manager. Appalling customer service from a four star hotel which should know better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Portsmouth

weekend stay only

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Facilities and friendly concierge
Cons: CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN!
Location: We went to town for dinner and to the local bars. The following day we went to Festival Place shopping centre. Things for adults to do- not kids.
The hotel itself has some great features and facilities. It is easily located and has nice grounds with ample parking. The staff overall are helpful and friendly. The let-down of this stay was mainly the cleanliness. Room: - The nets in the room were grubby, the headboard - which fell off the wall, left a thick black dust mark, the bathroom needed another sweep and the bed throw was threadbare and looked like it had the need of a good scrubbing. The swimming pool / spa area was the showers / ladies changing rooms had not been cleaned enough so the smell from the toilets was strong - possibly from many young children having "accidents". There were plastic cups around but the water was not kept topped up, also the only bin was in the swimming area so cups were being left in the sauna / steam room and not cleared away. The maid did not wait for a response before coming in - on both days. She did not replace the cups in the room or the towels that needed changing. Breakfast - The food was lovely but the staff were a little slow. I had to ask the staff to bring the coffee as we had been waiting a while and one girl had dropped a knife and carried on walking. 3 other staff members walked past it and didn't think to retrieve it. Overall this is a nice hotel with some excellent features which for one or two nights I would be happy to book - on a good deal - but i would not pay full price for a four star hotel which was not up to the standard of cleanliness. Also not for kids.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Tonyfrom UK

Disorganised Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked a room with my daughter and we were put in a room with 1 double bed only. The rooms are very dated and the bed was a small uncomfortable double. We went for breakfast at 9am which was absolute chaos. There were no glasses for the juice or water ... no one pouring coffee or tea ... A single 4 slice toaster between what must have been 70-100 people, there was a queue of about 7 people ... no bacon ... sausages just about cooked. Croissants we being made as they went and people were grabbing when the were put in the basket .. i got one which was barely cooked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tasha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Just perfect!

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed two nights and the hotel and staff was very welcome after long days at Carves South. All in all, a very comfortable experience! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ScottDeefrom Dundee

Comfortable stay

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice rooms with comfy beds. Good quality breakfast although sometimes had to wit for individual items to be replenished. Grandsons thoroughly enjoyed the hotel pool. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mrs Smithfrom Lincs

"We don't do bread!"

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, comfortable rooms. Smiley staff - who don't really understand English. Breakfast seems to change times so often that no-one knows when it starts or ends. We waited for restocking of prunes, orange juice, bacon and eggs (which arrived 5 at a time with 7 people waiting). This happened all 3 mornings. The response to my question if there was any bread apart from ready sliced was "we don't do bread" but there had been bread rolls and fried bread on the other 2 mornings. Definitely need some staff training in the restaurant or a new manager. But everybody was pleasantly apologetic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stevefrom Burton

My review

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only one robe left in room, duvet not big enough for bed, bed sloped, room not serviced or cleaned between nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by DBfrom Tunbridge Wells

Nice hotel, good breakfast

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Apart from disgusting cheap excuses for sausages at breakfast, everything else was great. We had a suite as we were traveling with our 3 year old daughter. There were a selection of lamps, but unfortunately there was only one light switch which meant all or nothing on the lighting front (no switches on the lamps themselves). Not ideal in the evening. The main bedroom was quite small, however if we hadn't had the sofa bed out in the lounge it would have been fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lissyfrom Norwich

Great service

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice and the staff were even nicer- they always went out of their way to be of help to us.The hotel was spotless, our bedroom had all we needed (except a lack of pillows but the staff more than happily provided us with more upon our request). The spa was an added bonus and we made use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna frequently. The location of the hotel was on a large ring road which is okay if you're driving there but it was a 25 minute walk from the train station and the town centre which was do-able, but hard when carrying luggage. Overall an enjoyable stay with reasonable rates and very nice hotel staff.