Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lincolnshire

last minute booking

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Cons: Reduce food prices by at least 25%
Nice quiet and relaxing hotel. Rooms were very comfortable but price of the food was very high. We would stay there again but would eat out which is a shame as the food was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

"Old School" class!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
This hotel was a delight to stay in from the moment we arrived. The staff, food, rooms, service, ambiance, all excellent! Currently our favourite UK hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Satisfyingly remote but within easy access of town

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Attentive staff who conducted their efficiency without intruding into guest activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Victor S

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Suffolk

Nice but basic

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Most memorable thing is how comfortable the beds are :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fionafewfrom Wales

Typical big corporate

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine. Typical big corporate-type venue, with impersonal rooms, although the facilities were what I'd expect at this price point. The hotel's own website was confusing though - I chose here so that we could use the spa, only to then find there isn't one at this hotel! Shame that they put us in a room overlooking a marquee, which had a disco going till late. OK, so they didn't know if we were going to it, but they didn't ask! Wish there was air-con or a fan in the room, because it was so stuffy we had to open the window (which also now needs updating!) and then heard the music even more! Will not bother going back. Will stick to smaller places in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susanfrom Guernsey

Would recommend

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Heating in public areas but hot. Poor room service choice after 10 pm but beautiful building with friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poynton

Back again

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Lovely stay again. Service, comfort all wonderful nothing too much trouble. I noted that the tables outside had bee further away from the bedrooms as I had complained last time about noisy and smoking inconsiderate guests. A nice touch and shows they listen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom surrey

Nice hotel in lovely grounds

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Characterful building, comfy bed, beautiful grounds - we enjoyed early evening drinks outside watching rabbits, grouse and more playing nearby
Cons: Communication about lack of food options. The cocktails weren't particularly good - disappointing when the bar is named 'the cocktail bar'
Location: Nice food in the fur and feathers pub nearby
The hotel was very nice but there was nowhere to eat the evening we stayed as they were hosting a murder mystery evening. Definitely worth checking in advance if you do want to eat there as we weren't told until we asked to book a table a couple of hours before dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poynton

Second week I've stayed and staying another week

Posted Aug 31, 2014
As previous week superb had an upstairs room away from outside seating where there were inconsiderate noisy guests till 2am the last week till i complained to reception sorted immediately! Not the hotels fault of course.