Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Country Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
This must have been quite a grande hotel in its day. It is still fascinating. Unfortunetely when we were there it was very hot and there is no air conditioning. Nice people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chippenham

Disappointing!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Room was comfortable and receptionist was helpful. Breakfast was disappointing, bland and poor selection, dining room was similar to a room in transit with cleaning materials and furniture abandoned in a corner, waiting staff wearing poorly fitted uniforms walked past food fallen on the floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired - needs updating

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Not much. Staff were polite and tried hard to please.
Cons: The rating - should be a maximum of 3 star - definitely not a 4 star
Following a wonderful night's stay in an inexpensive, but very well cared for B&B, we were looking forward to the amenities of a high class hotel. From the sweeping drive approach to the hotel we were confident we had chosen well. Alas the confidence didn't last and we were greeted with a tired hotel with a worn-out feel. Staff serving food with painted false nails doesn't exactly shout 4* cuisine and a bar that serves flat tonic water with a G&T giving the excuse "I just open the bottles" from the bar tender, only adds to the "let-down" feeling. We were booked for 2 nights but decided to leave after only one and return to another quality B&B. "Could certainly do better - must try harder" would be the teacher's year end report. We will NOT be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeff Evans

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Beverly from USA

Nice hotel; beautiful setting; good value

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel; very good value. The hotel has large and beautiful grounds with a lawn that slopes down to a scenic, small lake. The room was very nice, large, clean and comfortable; the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean, up-to-date, and large. The service was exceptional. The young woman who works the night shift when I was there was extremely helpful and the general manager came to my rescue when I had trouble with my cell phone, helping me get on the Wi-Fi. The breakfast buffet was good. The location is a few miles from the motorway but the motorway is easy to reach. I definitely would stay here again if I return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by UK Traveler from West Midlands

Very happy with my stay

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Accommodation was perfect - free parking - very comfortable - good location...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vicki from Somerset

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, friendly helpful staff. Very clean and in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from canada

Faded glory but wait for round two

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Architecture. Staff and how they were treated ( from what we observed). Paddocks outside ( horses and oxen) and lovely grounds.
Cons: Extra suitcase racks, covers for chairs. Locks on all windows!
Location: Country/ village location with 3 roundabouts to head in Portsmouth or Southampton direction! 20 minutes to either city. Car necessary.
We arrived around 6 pm and our reserved room had been given away. After a peaceful half hour wait we were given a nice room with a great view and two very comfy chairs. it was very much appreciated as we were staying for 4 nights. Lots of renovation. When I showed an interest I was shown wallpaper dorm the time of Napoleon, and told about items of interest architecturally. Some chaos re our meal plan but staff were very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by wallslondon from London

Fantastic customer service

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The customer service in this hotel is fantastic. I booked last second..literally! They were very accommodating to our needs. The hotel room was lovely and clean and nice and warm during the night. I recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by vk from oxford

quiet weekend

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is under refurbishment very obviously but the staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were good, reasonable choice. The rooms are quite clean and tidy. There is a large garden and terrace area which is very pleasant. I imagine when all the refurb has been carried out the hotel could be more 5* than what I would currently rate as 3*. I was staying for just a weekend to visit my son and daughter in law, so didn't get time to sample the dinner menu or the spa unfortunately. Possible next time when hopefully the refurb will be finished and the hotel can be rated more easily.