Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Ask about your bed

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Unfortunately the room we were allocated only had a fold out wall bed. This was not mentioned when we booked and checked in. We told staff the next morning and were given a 50% refund after some pushing. Lovely grounds however I would recommend checking the room facilities prior to booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Manager was excellent dealing with a minor problem

Posted Mar 16, 2015
staff were friendly, room service was prompt menu offered great choices and very fairly priced
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny rooms, tiny bathroom. dredfull room service

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Grand location
Cons: Room service menu and pricing
Room was tiny, bathroom even smaller, hardly enough room to stand in the shower, room service menu very limited, I chose a burger, came with chips ( not many and cold) had to wait 45 mins, no cuttelry, salt, or sauces Burger was nice but no value in the price for what it was Room was far too hot with no way to change temperature Iron in room was not a steam iron, impossible to iron a shirt with Appriciate hotel is an old manor house however expect better rooms and services from Devere Also it was a magical mystery tour to get to room with suit, overnight bag and laptop bag
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Impersonal Corporate Hotel with some Good Points

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Peaceful location
Cons: Breakfast food - kept too long - over cooked
Location: Good pubs, The Vyne - lovely Tudor National Trust House (11 miles), Sandham Memorial Chapel (16miles) with Stanley Spencer murals, Basingstoke Theatre
We stayed in a Superior Room in The Grange building, 3 mins walk from the Mansion. The Grange isn't really manned and there is music playing in an empty lounge, presumably to give an occupied feel. In actual fact the room and bathroom were good, with an additional curtained off desk area, but disappointingly no view over the grounds. It was so quiet and restful - no extraneous noise. It is basically a conference building and even the Mansion has a corporate feel. This makes it very impersonal. However the staff were good. The grounds are huge and lovely. Parking is good. There are excellent up market pubs nearby. Slight downside was the rather dried and frazzled breakfast. Fruit good but the hot food had been kept heated for too long. Overall we did actually like it but the jury is out about returning. It's has good and bad points.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

Usual De Vere experience

Posted Feb 4, 2015
You can guarantee a comfortale stay at a DeVere hotel. Clean, good standard of room. Only comment is regarding the grange accommodation, its a good walk from the main building. It was pouring Sith rain and wasn't made clear I could drive closer than the main car park. Other than that, great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom UK

one night stay for business

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Bedroom decorated nicely
Cons: Bathroom condition, knowledge of employees and dining facility in all parts of the Hotel at night time.
Location: N/A
I stayed in the Grange part of the venue for one night. The room was on the small side and the bathroom very compact. One light not working in the bathroom and looked generally like it needed a very good update. Facilities in the room were ok. I had room service for my evening meal rather than having to walk or drive back to the main building on a very cold night. Was ok but nothing special food wise. When asked the waiter about location for breakfast he didn't know if there was any in the part of the Venue I was staying in. I therefore didn't stay on site for breakfast the following day rather than traipse around looking for the breakfast room. OK stay overall but not sure I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Markfrom Hudderfield

Review of Wokefield Park.

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
Overall we were very happy with our stay, and would recommend the venue to any of our business associates or friends. The only things that were disappointing, were that the double bed consisted of two single mattresses pushed together, as opposed to a double mattress, and that there was no hot chocolate in the room, or available at reception. Other than that, a very enjoyable stay, and somewhere we will happily use again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leeds

Personal Visit

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: WiFi
Location: Near family and is accessible for all the local amenities
Clean and comfortable - staff friendly and breakfast very good value
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Redecoration!!
We stayed in the annex not the main house which was some distance away. The room was very tired looking and in need of redecoration. The carpets would certainly have benefited from a clean. We won't be staying here again.