Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Quiet and peaceful location. Ideal wedding venue.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet setting and quality of accommodation
Cons: Provision of leisure facilities (pool, gym, sauna)
Fantastic expedia low cost deal had me worried that the hotel would be in the middle of reconstruction or the venue for a noisy pop festival. I could not have been more wrong. The hotel deserves its star rating and is in a very quiet and peaceful setting. The main house is only a few minutes walk from the more modern and slightly lower rate accommodation block that our room was in, but there is plenty of parking, so you can drive between the 2 locations if the weather is bad. We didn't eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the quality of the food. However, it was evident that, depending on numbers staying, at least a cooked breakfast was available in the accommodation block we were in. Self service hot drink facilities were available free in the communal seating areas 24/7. The hotel appears well set up as a conference venue and has beautiful grounds if used for a wedding. The lack of leisure facilities was a small negative point and would have been an issue if I had been using this hotel for anything more than an overnight stopover. However, at less than the cost of a tank of diesel for my economy car for a double room I have absolutely no reason to complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Good place if planning gatherings like functions and weddings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janet from Guernsey. Channel Islands

Lovely hotel in the country.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly. Room was good clean and reasonable size. Breakfast was good. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner.
Location: We had dinner at 2 local pubs. Visited Winchester, Reading and Southampton.
We wanted a break. The hotel is set in its own grounds surrounded by trees. We saw a hare, squirrels and heard a fox. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size. Hot water was plentiful. We were only up one floor but steps were high so less mobile person might like to request ground floor. We were in the Grange where expedia clients go but it was great with parking just outside the door. Breakfast was very good only had to wait few minutes for eggs when they ran out. Obviously popular with work study groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

De Vere Venues Warbrook House and Grange .

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Beautiful Surroundings.
Cons: House needs redecorating/cleaning in some parts ie...carpets in hallways..some walls.
Location: Was on business so not sure.
Pleasant stay. Quiet surrounds. Friendly staff. Beautiful Surrounds. Nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice but very hot

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: setting and dinner
Cons: air conditioning in room
Location: lovely setting
nice room and lovely setting but room was ground floor with only patio doors, it got very hot and as it was on the ground floor we couldnt have the patio doors open through the night for obvious reasons, the room needs air conditioning. Other than that it was very nice, the meal in the restaurant was particularly good and reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve R from Shropshire

Beutiful location and impressive building.

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff we lovely, room very comfortable although pillows too soft for me personally. Food was superb and great coffee on-tap. Appreciated being able to walk round the beautifully maintained grounds in the warm evening sunshine. Stunning venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Northants

Serves a purpose

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was reallocated a room upon arrival, and found myself in a disabled room. It was comfortably enough, but wi-fi didn't work. Ordered at the bar, rather than in the restaurant, and the food, whilst good when it came, took quite a while to appear. Probably will use again as it was cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by disapointed customer from Swindon

Disapointed

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upon arrival, the hotel looked lovely and we were really pleased with our choice. We checked in and were handed our keys only to find we weren't staying in the main part of the hotel, but had to drive down to "The Grange" what I thought resembled a holiday camp. The receptionist had also told us that the restaurant and bar were closed that evening as there was a wedding on. I feel that we should have been notified of this before arrival, seeing as it was a romantic getaway for my husband and I. The "Grange" part of the hotel where we were staying was old and shabby. There were no staff around to guide us to our room. Once we finally found the room it was actually very clean. Breakfast the following morning was a disaster!! The buffet was half empty and there were not enough staff around to replenish the tea, coffee, juices and food. We had to keep asking. Overall a very disapointing experience.
2 out of 5
by Robert from East Sussex

Beautiful location, disappointing hotel

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The location and building
My room was very small, some of the d├ęcor in public areas needed a coat of paint and the service at breakfast was poor.