Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Good budget hotel near langstone harbour

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Nice sized rooms, good parking
Cons: Bathroom a bit dated and grubby
Location: Need a car to get to / from Portsmouth, few miles away
Everything good except that the room we stayed in had too many moths !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Hot & sticky night!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
The rooms and bathrooms are old and dated, there is no air conditioning so if it a hot day you are completely stuffed as the windows open maximum 10cms but feels more like 5! False Fire alarm went off at 6am! We found it expensive for what you received!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff very friendly will stay again.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Situation/staff very helpful.
Cons: Rooms.
Rooms need updating . They are a bit old fashioned, and need decorating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a serious revamp

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Bedrooms were clean and comfy
Cons: Restaurant needs a major revamp.
Location: Location is fine, near all Portsmouth attractions.
Got checked in as a different person, despite filling in form, and showing booking printout! Was given double room, when booked a twin. Was finally moved to better twin room. Some breakfast items had run out, had to ask for milk. Cooked breakfast was good, but took 40 mins to arrive.. Tables werent clean, chairs were covered in dried food! Give it a miss..!
3 out of 5
by Angie from London

quite a long way from Portsmouth city.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: The room had peeling wallpaper. The hotel could do with a revamp. quite a few doors banged as they did not have hinges on.Newspapers in the reception
Location: Hungry horse pub next door,very loud,but entertaining.
Check in was good,reception staff helpful.Very noisy throughout the night as have a function room and alot of people were drunk leaving.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought I would give this the benefit of the doubt, but I was sadly mistaken. My room was very dated, wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the dressing table was half attached to the wall and the other half was hanging down, there was also mould in the bathroom. I won't be returning.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathy from Canada

Disappointing

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The main lobby had a damp odour. The mold in the bathroom and the finicky toilet were disconcerting. On the positive- the bed appeared clean and was comfortable and the room for the most part was quiet. Obviuosly, I didn't check enough of the reviews before I booked for two nights. Since the price was not especially low, I don't think we got good value. I cannot recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beds are really good, but the hotel is starting to look a little tired and in need of referbishment. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Swanage

Facilities

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything good except the remote control was not partnered to the TV and I could not select sub titles. This is a major problem for me and anyone else who is deaf.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from sheerness

an ok hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: the hotel was in a nice quiet location, nice large breakfast room, rooms were roomy, light, clean, tidy,and a good nights sleep
Cons: cannot think of anything to improved this hotel ,its ok as it is
Location: the location is close enough to town centre to make it easy by car to visit dockyard etc
the hotel was situated out of main town on a quiet road , staff very nice and helpful, we had a very nice breakfast for the two days stayed there, rooms were a nice size, would stay here again