Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The hotel was in a good location.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: See comments above
Location: close to town with many interesting sights and shopping
The hotel was close to the port and the train station. It was clean and the rooms were nice. The only negatives were: >we could not get our room cool enough. The HVAC system seemed not to work well. >the single small bar of soap was pathetic. You would expect more from a hotel charging you $300.00 per night. >the door to the room (#102) was sticking/scraping and hard to open and close. >we asked the person at the restaurant cashier station what time they opened in the morning (Sunday morning), and he told us 6:30 am. We arrived at that time the next morning and were told that on Sundays it was 7:00 am. You would have thought that the employee we asked the night before would know that information. >I had a 20.00 pound bill for breakfast with a 2.50 charge for using a credit card. I tried to pay this off in US currency and the hotel would not accept it. You would think that a hotel situated at a port that thousands of US citizens past through every month would have some means to handle US dollars. Restaurants and shops in town did with no problem. Due to the above, I would not stay there again nor recommend this hotel. Next trip, I will stay at the Holiday Inn directly across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB SOUTHAMPTON

Nice hotel. Excellent staff!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Only complaint would be that I would not expect tracing paper for toilet roll at a 4 star hotel!! Cheap saving lets a nice hotel down!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TB

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The room lacked a mini bar but the room service is 24 hour. Bit of a queue at the breakfast buffet, table service would be more appropriate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

not value for money at all

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Bidet in the toilet
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Location in ok
Arrived at the sometime as a big group,only two receptionist to serve a group of 20 people. were waiting 30 minutes or more to be admitted. Had one of the worst fish and chips ever in the restaurants. 3 beers available at the bar and two was not available. Nothing in the room, not even a bottle of water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Pleasant with a vast room!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
It's 4* so I expect good service, high quality breakfast but the vast room was a bonus. Dinner was indifferent even with Groupon. Location worked v well for doing everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kirk from Telford

Tiny portions

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice but the breakfast in bed was a tad lacking ,,,no pot of tea ,,only two tabs of butter for four pieces of toast,,,a little bit mean I'm afraid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Short break

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
It was a very relaxing stay and comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel - really comfortable.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Overall pretty good but there didn't seem to be enough staff - had to queue to check in (one person on reception) and queue to check out and sat amongst dirty tables that hadn't been cleared at breakfast. Long wait for room service too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Shaun from Cumbria.

One nighter

Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
Stopped for 1 night. Easy to find and after a long drive a welcoming sight. Room dusty (e.g. Gideon bible was caked in dust!!) but clean. Food and drink were over priced, especially soft drinks. Breakfast service excellent as was the choice and quality available.