Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This is a modern hotel with good parking

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: nice and clean and modern. very nice staff
Cons: The shower, very weak !
Location: TGI's is close by as are lots of shopping
This is a great modern hotel with good parking all be it at £10.20 per night. The hotel is very close to city centre, great for going out, meal etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, ready for refurbishment.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Great location if you want to be close to the docks, or city centre. Rooms are comfortable, although in need of refurbishment. If you want to watch TV, channel choice is limited, and signal is poor. (We couldn't get BBC1 or ITV) Stayed for 2 nights, and the breakfast was much better on the 2nd day- less greasy and more choice. Parking next to hotel is £10 per night. This should be more transparent at time of booking. Didn't feel like a 4 star hotel, but they are in the process of updating the facilities so it might improve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alhaiki from Alhaiki

Nice quite hotel good for short stay

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Nice enjoyable, hotel staff very helpful breakfast could be better location is excellent close to down town
1 out of 5
by Julia from London

Disappointed.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything! It was chaotic, not what I expect from this tyoe of hotel.
Location: There is lots to do, just make sure you dont rely on staying in this hotel and being entertained.
I booked 3 rooms for a treat for my nieces birthday. Despite arriving at check in time only one room was ready. We went to our room to wait and the smell of paint and varnish was unbearable. We had to wedge open the balcony door for air. I complained when they eventually brought our key cards for the other rooms and was told the hotel was fully booked and the member of staff kindly wedged the table from the balcony in the door to wedge it open.We waited 2.15 hours to get into our rooms and to get bathrobes for the pool. The web site said the pool had been re furbished it clearly hadnt. The steam room smelt as though someone had died there and the changing rooms had towels piled high on the floor. The whole area was tierd and dirty, empty paper water cups littered the area. I spoke to the duty manager the next morning I had to wait as three other guests were complaining. By the time I spoke with him my neice and other members of the party were with me so I was embarrassed that I was complaining on her special weekend. The duty manager wasnt interested in my feedback. I am annoyed I paid for the rooms in advance, looking at other reviews they realise that there clients wouldnt pay after their stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Croydon

Large and imposing hotel with good location.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: It would be useful to have the option to book bed and breakfast rather just a room.
Location: As you have probably realised already, I liked the location. The hotel is close to Southampton's main features.
Saturday night stay. We booked here because of its location to City Centre and also reputation. Could only book the room, not bed and breakfast and when confirmation arrived I saw that breakfast was £15.95 per person and hotel parking was £10. The room, was a bit small but was comfortable. The bed was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel functional,staff not well managed.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Functional
Cons: See above & car park expensive!
Location: Theatre .
Staff too stretched - not enough available in bar, restaurant or on reception. Abiding memory of queuing & waiting for service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location especially for "cruisers".

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The bar and restaurant were of a higher standard than the room.
Great staff, very friendly, polite and helpful. The Hotel is Currently being refurbished so there is a bit of drilling and banging going on. Disappointed that for this standard of hotel there wasn't any drinking water in the room! I'd question the overall value. I left my watch in the room and that has been dealt with efficiently and courteously.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from England

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Its proximity to the cruise liner embarkation
Cons: Yes better management.
Location: N/a
The restaurant service was very slow but polite. The ladies toilet near to the entrance STANK. The men's was OK. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. The total hotel gave the impression of being very tired and less efficient than when I last stayed there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Pd from Fareham

Bad service

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bad room service , rude staff , dirty sheets, no towels , dirty bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andymac from cardiff

Grand Hotel that's looking a little tired

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff superb, location superb, but in need of some TLC. The fabric of the building is still awesome as is the design, but the cleanliness is beginning to become difficult for staff to maintain, and the place could use a total refurb. I would still recommend a stay specially given its being refitted in 2014.