Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel close to the cruise ship terminals

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Its location for the cruise ship terminal is the main reason. A very nice hotel (maybe a little pricey)
Cons: A better rate would be the best thing
Location: There is a lot of history in Southampton within walking distance of the hotel. You can see one of the cruise ship terminals from the hotel
Very cooperative... We arrived early due to our flight times and they looked after our luggage until the room was ready. Everyone was very helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Close to the docks and centre of town

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Good location, good size rooms, attentive and capable staff.
Cons: The shower - usual lack of power found in many British hotels. Breakfast - usual over-priced buffet - but plenty of places nearby to eat. Go explore!
Location: Close to everything - the docks, centre of town, and West Quay shopping mall.
Stayed for two nights on a short visit to Southampton. Very comfortable accommodation, recently renovated to a reasonable standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Loved the design of the building. Balcony sea view rooms are great. Bit pricey for what it is but ok if you want to treat yourself. Staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for a wedding

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Nice hotel with a very comfortable bed. Service in the bar was a little slow and the person behind the bar wasn't all that helpful but other than that a lovely stay for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Grand de vere Southampton

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Fantastic hotel placed in the heart of the centre in Southampton. Great facilities, the room was fantastic and the staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

G Hitchen

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Good hotel , drinks expensive, good choice at breakfast
3 out of 5
by Ken from U.K.

Hotel Deteriorating

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Food and service
Although the rooms have been upgraded,the food and the service are not as good as on previous visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from London

Great place to stay.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. Nice design, nice staff, quiet rooms with air conditioning.
Cons: Mattresses on beds a bit on the cheap side. Could be better.
Location: Lots to do in walking distance. We parked the car for 48 hours and did it all by foot and train.
I was skeptical of a city hotel as we were looking for something in the countryside, but this was great. Fun design, a nice swimming pool, enjoyable breakfast, pleasing decor all around, and a real feeling of being at the docks about to embark on a sea voyage. If you are Catholic there is a lovely church nearby which added to our serenity. Very big shopping complex nearby with lots of nice shops. Felt pampered and cozy.
2 out of 5
by Robert from Poole Dorset

VALET

Posted May 26, 2014
Cons: reception area lighting needs to be brighter.
The elderly gentleman with a suit at the luggage section,when on collecting my case said to me,"Mr pope I tried selling your case,but I couldn't get much for it" which made me instantly feel lower class.I am deeply hurt by this,even my wife couldn't believe it.I did report it at the reception after,but no apology.Especially after paying £165 for the night. The rest of the staff were very good,especially the lady incharge at breakfast (25th May) I noticed some of your staff at the reception talk like a robots when telling you the system/paying of the hotel. I found that the reception area lighting is very very dark,could be brighter,as this is the first area you see. I Hope a part refund will be inline. I Certainly will not recommend this hotel as this is supposed to be a 4 Star ?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TIGER from ISLE OF WIGHT

MY RECENT STAY AT THE GRAND HARBOUR

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: ITS CONVENIENT LOCATION
Cons: NOTHING IN MY OPINION
Location: CLOSE TO FERRIES TO THE ISLE OF WIGHT, THE CRUISE LINERS. NEAR TO THE CITY CENTRE. ALL IN ALL A PERFECT LOCATION.
THE GRAND HARBOUR IS ALWAYS MY FIRST CHOICE TO STAY WHEN TRAVELLING IN SOUTHAMPTON.