Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great service

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: serivce
Cons: wouldent have to wiat so long for our food order at dinner time
the ship was late leaving and the hotel staf helped everyone work around it and atook their time to make sure everyone got to where the people had to go to wait for thr reschedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed overnight as close to cruise port.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Good value and close to the cruise port of Southampton
Cons: Cannot think of anything.
Location: Only stayed for one night as was joining a cruise the next day. managed to have a walk around the town before bed which was enjoyable.
We stayed overnight on route to the cruise port at Southampton. The hotel was excellent and very good value. We would definately stay there again. Very good breakfast, spotlessly clean with excellent staff. Easy taxi drive to the cruise port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire

Excellent hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Reception could do with more than one person manning it at peak hours Car park - at £10 is pricey - when you can park opposite in the multistory for a fiver
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

special birthday treat

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: location atmosphere
Cons: still needs a bit of updating in some areas.
Location: excellent location for shopping and accessing the docks if you are going cruising
Hotel has been done up very well, but think they have missed an opportunity to make it great. The rooms were excellent and clean. We were missing our bathrobes and slippers and this is the second time that has happened. Do not think we should have to keep asking for them, as we did book the executive so we would get them. We did have a swim, but i noticed the changing rooms have not been updated; the shower door would not lock and generally they look a bit tired. The breakfast was very good, they had trouble with the toaster, so the waiters offered to go into the kitchen for us to make toast for us. I noticed an improvement in the reception staff who were on that day, as on previous visits before it was taken over they were not up the standard i would expect; as i used to be a hotel receptionist. Overall still love the hotel and hope they continue to make improvements, as want to continue to visit
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bath

Disappointing

Posted Jan 24, 2015
I regularly stay in Southampton for business and so I have tried many hotels of the city. Grand Harbour is the most expensive hotel in the centre of Southampton. As such, it is disappointing; I was expecting much more, while it is just average. For example, I had a shower on the first night and after 3 days and 2 more showers, the empty shower gel and shampoo bottles from the first day were still there. Besides, they didn't give me new shower products, but fortunately I had mine with me. Pro - Perfect location - Parking - Big rooms - Very comfortable bed - Nice gym Cons - Shabby bathroom and shower - The room was cold. The window was probably not double-glazed and there was a huge draught. - The food is not very good Overall the room was nice, but not as good as the rooms of other (cheaper) hotels around the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Great staff, warm, comfy, clean and good food
Cons: More tv channels would have been an asset
Location: Well located close to the old town, the ocean liners and the excellent shopping centre
From the excellent welcome to the clean and comfy room this was a great experience. Great location and a real haven after a long day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dundee

Not as good as I remember

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: No fridge in the room.
Location: Good location for city centre, old town and cruise ships.
I used to live near Southampton & used this hotel many times for business. It was not a good as I remembered it to be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool hours not v good

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Breakfast times odd for Xmas & had to pay for 2 days parking even though carpark was free on Xmas day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hythe

A well placed, nicely refurbished hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location and standard of rooms
Cons: Lighting was all wall mounted so difficult to get a good light level for working etc.
We stayed for one night to attend a party night elsewhere so didn't experience the restaurant. The room was large, clean, modern and well equipped. We had room service breakfast that arrived promptly and exactly as ordered. Staff on check in and check out were efficient and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jamesfrom Montauban

OK

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 day week-end, concert at Guildhall Hotel in good location for leisure walk through old city to central business district. Had king bed, very comfortable. Restaurant was not up to par for this hotel's rating. Also room service was prompt, but again food was a disappointment. The male manager of the dining room/bar was quite frosty and haughty, seemed oblivious to customers (had to search for my own waiter after 15 minute wait and no acknowledgement). The afternoon tea however was quite good and priced accordingly; we took tea at 5:30 PM and called it dinner.