Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We stayed for a night before a cruise and the hotel is ideally situated for all the major cruise lines. It's just a short walk to the large shopping centre as well. Hotel was spotless and very friendly staff. Could not fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee, Scotland

Perfect situation

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff and the comfort of the room.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: Perfect for a pre-cruise stay and it is close to the centre of Southampton.
We stayed at this hotel prior to sailing on a cruise . It is ideally situated for the cruise terminal, just 5 minutes to the gate. When we arrived, the concierge looked after those cases that we didn't need and even parked the car for us. Leisurely breakfast next morning and then off on holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel close to the cruise ship terminals

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Its location for the cruise ship terminal is the main reason. A very nice hotel (maybe a little pricey)
Cons: A better rate would be the best thing
Location: There is a lot of history in Southampton within walking distance of the hotel. You can see one of the cruise ship terminals from the hotel
Very cooperative... We arrived early due to our flight times and they looked after our luggage until the room was ready. Everyone was very helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambs

Close to the docks and centre of town

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Good location, good size rooms, attentive and capable staff.
Cons: The shower - usual lack of power found in many British hotels. Breakfast - usual over-priced buffet - but plenty of places nearby to eat. Go explore!
Location: Close to everything - the docks, centre of town, and West Quay shopping mall.
Stayed for two nights on a short visit to Southampton. Very comfortable accommodation, recently renovated to a reasonable standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Loved the design of the building. Balcony sea view rooms are great. Bit pricey for what it is but ok if you want to treat yourself. Staff friendly. Nice breakfast. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stayed for a wedding

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Nice hotel with a very comfortable bed. Service in the bar was a little slow and the person behind the bar wasn't all that helpful but other than that a lovely stay for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southampton

Grand de vere Southampton

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Fantastic hotel placed in the heart of the centre in Southampton. Great facilities, the room was fantastic and the staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

G Hitchen

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Good hotel , drinks expensive, good choice at breakfast
3 out of 5
by Ken from U.K.

Hotel Deteriorating

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Food and service
Although the rooms have been upgraded,the food and the service are not as good as on previous visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from London

Great place to stay.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. Nice design, nice staff, quiet rooms with air conditioning.
Cons: Mattresses on beds a bit on the cheap side. Could be better.
Location: Lots to do in walking distance. We parked the car for 48 hours and did it all by foot and train.
I was skeptical of a city hotel as we were looking for something in the countryside, but this was great. Fun design, a nice swimming pool, enjoyable breakfast, pleasing decor all around, and a real feeling of being at the docks about to embark on a sea voyage. If you are Catholic there is a lovely church nearby which added to our serenity. Very big shopping complex nearby with lots of nice shops. Felt pampered and cozy.