Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Weekend away

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Friendly staff. Comfortable room with very comfy bed. Perfect for what we wanted
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Northamptonshire

A delightful country pub with a warm welcome

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and not pretentious
Cons: Not an easy fix, but the bath could have been chosen better for showering
Location: Very, very rural, but beautiful roads nearby for walking, cycling or driving. And Goodwood, less than half an hour away
We needed somewhere to stay prior to the Goodwood Festival of Speed, and chose this Inn based on other reviews. It suited our preferences perfectly! The room (the Goodwood Suite, appropriately) was large, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished, with everything one might need for a one or two night stay. Car parking is on the road outside, but due to its rural location, hardly anything drives past! Our only criticism of the room is that the bath has a very rounded bottom to it, which makes it tricky to stay upright when showering. The selection of teas and coffees were better than the norm, and the bed was comfortable (if a little creaky when you moved). The pub was a lovely place for dinner and breakfast. A choice of 6 real ales (only one of which I'd heard of before) and two ciders was a real treat. The menu was ambitious - maybe a little too ambitious, because most people we saw opted for the traditional steak and chips! Feeling adventurous, I chose duck with wild rice - the duck was beautiful, but I wasn't a fan of the rice. Still, the deserts made up for it! Breakfast was another treat, using better than usual ingredients - bacon and sausages sourced from the local butcher and the deepest yellow eggs, multigrain bread for the toast, and Dorset Cereals' muesli. The owner and staff were extremely friendly, making us feel like locals. All in all, it's well worth heading off the beaten track if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bryan from Nottingham

Lovely Pub in the Countryside

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Excellent location with good food, beer and a very pleasant surrounding
Had a very pleasant evening in the Hawkley Inn. The room was spacious clean and well equipped. I enjoyed the a few of the many great beers on offer and had an excellent good value meal. The breakfast was also excellent, I would thoroughly recommend the Hawkley Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G from London

Excellent luxury B&B with a great pub underneath!

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good value, good pub
Cons: Not putting out the bottles for recycling at 7.30 am :)
Location: Lovely rural location in the South Downs with many walks and bike rides from the doorstep.
Had a great stay, the pub was excellent with several real ales on rotation, the room was lovely and better than expected for a "inn" stay. The small touches such as the mineral water, whisky decanter and pillow chocolates made us feel that it was a luxury hotel rather than a B&B / pub. Room was clean, bathroom great with toiletries and powerful shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MrsW from West sussex

Lovely easter break

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights in the family room- Goodwood. It suited us well as our one year old had his travel cot in one room and we were in the other. The bathroom was modern, clean and a powerful hot shower. The staff helped us heat food for our son and were generally friendly, welcoming and made an effort to make everything easy for us as a family. The pub noise at night in the room was muted and no problem at all. A lively area for walks and nice food. Overall a gret Easter family break!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend away.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: It was very comfortable, quiet & ideal for us.
Cons: Simple map needed from complete A3 junction to West Liss onwards. This could be also attractive for the business traveller possibly?
Location: N/a to us
We needed some where reasonably close to Midhurst as we were attending a wedding reception. This was a Saturday evening and many other places nearer were either fully booked or far more expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Berkshire

Quiet country location, wonderful view

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Location: We visited Marwell Zoo and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust at Arundel
We were made really welcome by the new owner and all the staff. Room was quiet and well furnished, we did not partake of the whisky - but had the option of filter coffee. The pub was lively, with a good choice of draught beers. There was a good choice of food which was well prepared and tasty. We would particularly recommend the breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony from Stroud

Proper pub with great rooms

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was given a friendly welcome at the bar and shown to a lovely room. I didn't eat in the evening but I saw it being served and it looked great. It was a limited but delicious looking menu. The breakfast was lovely. I was on business but would happily make it a base for Winchester for instance. For those of you like real ale, this pub serves a quality pint as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Real country retreat

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hawkley was a great getaway. We were there for a friend's wedding in a local village and all the website promised materialised in bucketsful! Quiet location (though a bit noisy from the bar on Friday till after midnight), friendly and accommodating host, really comfy bed, excellent chefs and food and a good range of real ales in the bar. Be prepared for country lanes and enjoy them if you walk around the local area. Easy reach of the coast (Portsmouth etc) and Winchester - a beautiful city with excellent tours in the cathedral. Our only suggestion - option of decaf coffee in the bar and bedrooms, please! Thanks for a lovely stay - will certainly recommend you to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed and Jane from Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada

Excellent Value in a Friendly Environment

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: Friendly People Reasonable prices Excellent selection of ales
Cons: Parking not difficult and secure but on road
Location: On back roads but a very short distance to airports and the whole of the south of the London area
Initially located hotel as being close to Petersfield with a reasonable price. We booked in and immediately fell into conversation with locals and owners at the pub (Very rare in this area). The room was well appointed with a very nice en suite. Moved on after a few days and evenings with our son and partner and grandchildren in the restaurant. (very good food) After traveling in UK for three weeks returned for a week. Our first experience was repeated.