Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Short brake in Portsmouth

Posted May 26, 2015
Apart from one young lady on reception ( Vicky) some of the staff seemed lost . We spoke to Vicky before our arrival and she did everything she could do to help us enjoy out brake. The hotel was placed well we used the swimming pool the kids loved it. We will be back thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

OK but not great

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is great and was better value as wee booked it in advance
Cons: The beds and pillows were not good, making for a disturbed nights sleep. The staff could smile more and be more welcoming.
Location: Great location, nearby beach and attractions. The historic dock yard is a must visit as is the Spinnaker Tower. Great food and bars at Gunnery Wharf.
This is an ok hotel, the staff were a little disinterested in things generally although they were polite, except the lovely woman who served us when we checked out, she was great. The room was pleasant enough but the beds and pillows were not very comfortable. The place was clean though and warm. the TV service was a bit hit and miss, a good selection of channels and films, but the quality of the signal left a bit to be desired, it kept breaking up, even during the film we had paid for. To be fair to the hotel, the cost of the film was refunded when I mentioned this. The breakfast was great though. The Wi-Fi isn't free either, come on Holiday Inn, this is the 21st century, if coffee bard and cafes can do it for free, so should you. I probably wouldn't go back on my next visit to Portsmouth, there are nicer and better value hotels to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Very nice hotel near to the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We celebrated my Fiancé's birthday which was unforgettable. Very kind and helpful staff, good hotel in an excellen place. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bromley, Kent

Great for taking baby to stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The staff were probably the most helpful and friendly I've ever encountered.
Cons: The bathroom felt a little worn.
Location: Nice walk to all the attractions and shopping. Would definitely recommend.
The hotel was recommended by a friend. We found it very convenient location wise. We had an 11 month old with us and we used the swimming pool for both days of our visit. The staff recommended where to eat and were very helpful with everything. Being able to leave the car was great without having to worry about parking charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Food was lovely, friendly staff and rooms were adequate. Clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Helpful knowledgeable staff in handy spot

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, parking.
Location: Portsmouth historic dockyard - new Mary Rose museum is great.
Very convenient hotel with all you need: Easy walk to historic dockyard and restaurants. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Has parking, gym and pool and enormous breakfast buffet. Room fine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Passable

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Passable place. Located near the seaside and in a pleasant area with parks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Nice hotel close to Heathrow

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Modern amenities
Cons: A printer in your Business Stand
The Hotel was an easy bus trip from Heathrow T5 and was also a convenient detour to Heathrow T@.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom London

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Perfect location for shopping at gunwharf quays and going to a gig at wedgewood rooms. Reasonably priced too.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Josephfrom London

awful

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
The executive room I paid extra for was dated and the carpet was smelly. I could hear old pipes all night and it was supper difficult to concentrate enough to sleep. The checking was painful, their credit card machines were not working and the guy at receiption took 5 minutes to realise he needed to put new paper in the machine. The checkout was even more painful and slow. When asked about my stay "how would rate your stay from 1 to 10?" I said: well I will need to think about it (haha she said) - if that wasn't enough to make her think "time to call the manager", perhaps the dark circles around my eyes should have. We missed breakfast we paid for because I was not informed of breakfast times when checking in. What a brilliant stay.... If I could discount stars I Would.