Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East of England

Basic facilities

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Vicinity to the town centre, e.g. Easy walking distance.
Cons: All the above mentioned issues.
Location: Town centre 10 minutes walking away.
Shame that the car park under the hotel is no longer in use and the new car park is 5 minutes walking away, out in the open and across a busy road. No minibar in the room, no room service, 1 broken lift. Limited channels on the TV. No sockets by the bed for phone and tablet chargers. In need of new toilet pan.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Hotel was central to town

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It's central location
Cons: The hotel bedroom look tired and are in need of a facelift. The toilet flush did not work so you had the sound of the tank filling up continuously.
Location: Lovely stroll through the park into town. Excellent shops and restaurants.
Parking was quite confusing, initially the hotel receptionist gave me a map of how to find the underground car park but not for the want of trying I failed. After the forth time of circling the hotel I had to admit defeat and go back to the hotel to ask to be directed again. In fairness a receptionist accompanied me outside and directed me properly. The room was basic and in need of a face lift but it was clean which was a plus. Beds were very comfortable and extra pillows provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

very good stay. exciting

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: the good behavior of the personnel
Cons: well, I think that there should be an information section for the sightseeing of the city in this hotel as well.
Location: near the West Quay shopping Center and the cultural areas of the city
it was really a good stay. the location of the hotel is really good. it is in easy access to the city center and the shopping center of West Quay. the behavior of the personnel was perfect. they were kind and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Value.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Great location -- close to transportation, shopping, restaurants & amenities. Large room with coffee/tea maker. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not ideal

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff, the car parking
Cons: The doors should close more quietly. More shelving, esp. in the bathroom. The possibility of declining a room with a connecting door.
Location: Very good with plenty of pubs nearby.
The room was a very odd layout with the TV to the left of the bed which meant a very cricked neck to watch it. Why it wasn't hung on the wall directly in front of the bed, I do not understand. We could have done with more shelves or storage. The shape of the room was very odd and we weren't at ease with it. We were also disturbed by our neighbours making a row at 00:15 and this showed how thin the walls were. The staff were very helpful and polite so no complaints there. Although we didn't eat in the hotel, the prices seemed very reasonable, as were the bar prices. There were plenty of pubs in the neighbourhood so eating and drinking were not a problem. Car parking was easy and again, the staff were very helpful in explaining the procedures. My daughter, who also had a room there, complained that there was a connecting door in her room and that led to noise from the neighbours.It is not unreasonable to point out on booking that some rooms have a connecting door to give you the chance to decline such a room. I also think the doors need "softeners" and smoother latches on them as they make a lot of noise when closing. I would probably not stay there again but try another hotel to see if it was better for a good night's sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Convenient for town centre

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Hotel is close to the town centre which makes it an ideal place if you are on business, going on a cruise or visiting family at University
Cons: There was not much sugar in the room for tea and coffee, but I am sure you could have got more from reception if you asked.
Location: Central to town. Park, shops, places to eat, bars etc all close by.
Stayed for one night. Room comfortable and clean with iron and hairdryer. Very friendly girl on the desk who gave a great welcome. Able to park close by too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bournemouth

great location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: size of the room, closeness to the town, having a nice big park right across the road
Cons: better WIFI it kept dropping out after a minute.
Location: perfect location for going to the shops, the park for walks and the theatre
stayed for one night when attending a show at the theatre, Hotel is very well placed for walking to the city centre and also only a short hop from the theatre too. the room was in a corner plot and it was very spacious. we had a double sofa in the bed as well as our douhle bed. the only down side was that we asked reception for an iron so we could iron our clothes before going out. this took ages to come , in fact we had to call again to re-request it as we were running short on time by this point, when it came the iron barely heated up at all, i could place my hand on it without burning me on its fulest setting!! however it was too late to ask for another one so we just made do with crumpled clothes. other than that the room was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Very average.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
On arrival we were made to wait to check in while a member of staff was busy behind the counter. No eye contact or a 'be with you shortly', eventually she said 'yes?'. Looked as if she didn't want to be there! Not a great welcome. Breakfast in the morning was terrible, took 20 mins to get a plate of food from the hot buffet. A couple of 10min waits for the bacon and sausages to be replenished. Clearly too many people for them to cope with! Room was fine, bed comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Reception staff undertrained, No Room service,

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Room was ok, Wifi speed in the rooms was good.
Cons: Receptioninsts, Vegetarian food, provide room service
Reception staff was undertrained. The receptionist told me that I will be billed again by the hotel on my card, despite my already having made the payment to Expedia. The receptionist even made me swipe my card twice and enter my pin. Lack of room service was another disappointment after a long and tiring day. Vegetarian food was absolutely tasteless. Veg burger tasted horrible, not worth the money paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Parking is a problem and expensive. Staff really great.